Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Yarnful Days

by amras0000 - Compo Entry

Gather yarn in a craft-based world. Sickeningly cutesy.

WASD to move, mouse to look around, you'll figure out the rest.

NOTE: if the game runs too slowly or the ball of yarn doesn't seem to grow, try the post-LD version. It's identical in content, just fixes some bugs.

---
known bugs:
-there is sometimes a delay before the last message in the game. Just wait a minute and it should show up.
-there are holes in the terrain behind the snowcapped mountains.

Critique is welcome.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness76%
#17Mood4.21
#55Audio3.86
#108Graphics4.00
#129Overall3.75
#182Innovation3.68
#233Theme4.00
#298Humor2.77
#452Fun3.19

Comments

Chris Delta says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:29am

My soul feels so yarnful

mukult says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:48am

Wow!! Amazing game!! I love this game!! Its so peaceful and smooth!! Thank you!

rockybdubs says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:01am

Was it just me or was there no way to escape out of game? Relaxing, except I got kind of dizzy :)

yumaikas says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:14am

Very peaceful game, pretty to look at.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:40am

Great graphics and pretty fun! Dat dark blue yarn though

Crafting4U says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:43am

This game made me feel so happy and relaxed. Even when I finished, I went back to collect more yarn because the art style was great and the tune was so peaceful. This game goes to show that such a simple game can really lighten up someones mood or really immerse someone in a game.

rosden shadow says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:00am

very nice game

gene-z says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:12pm

Ivete good concept

Luke says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:13pm

Super calming and peaceful. Great way to relax :D

Finestep says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:32pm

Pretty good as far as a walking simulator goes, but still, it's a walking simulator. I found myself playing only to see if something happens. If it does, it takes too much walking to get there (for me.)
Mouse was extremely sensitive for me, and I think you lose some effort in the button-dragging-yarn effect because the yarn overlaps so much.
The environment was fun, though.

Muffinhat says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:07pm

This is a beautiful looking entry. The music, art, and gameplay tie together quite nicely. Just curious, how did you do the music?

JohnGalt says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:10pm

Beautiful and satisfying. The whole game is peaceful and serene. But I never get bored. Amazing!

amras0000 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:12pm

@Muffinhat - I used a sampler for the piano and a subtractive synth for the glock. Used Reason 5 to input the MIDI from a keyboard I had lying around.

rxi says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:32pm

Just wonderful! All the elements made for an overall relaxing and peaceful game, which though small felt perfect as a whole, with a lovely ending which brought a smile to my face.

The visuals, audio, objective, outcome and even the font choice all worked together to invoke a feeling of calm. An interesting take on the theme.

I'm really glad I played it and really enjoyed it. Nice one.

TaoPhoenix says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:44pm

Yeah, I'm in the crowd of really being impressed at the art and quiet music too, and it actually *runs* on my undead monster of a comp!

davesoft says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:55pm

A delightfully yarny game, very soothing :)

Capitals says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:59pm

Lovely, calming game. Good looking and satisfying. But it's not got any progression. That let's it down as I don't feel like me clearing all the blue area is acknowledged by the game. Good Luck!

TomBoogaart says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:50am

haha cute

mrjorts says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:04am

Really really cool entry. Very relaxing and fun to mess around with. The only complaint is that the camera can't be angled up high enough to see the whole rainbow at the end :0

amras0000 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:18am

@mrjorts - you can see the whole rainbow if you move back towards the lake a bit :)

Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:13am

So great! Very relaxing, yet still satisfying. I could have gathered yarn for days. The art and music were perfect, and especially impressive.

the31 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:08am

Interesting idea, it was nice to watch the yarn flow around. After cleaning up the green and blue yarn I didn't receive any other messages, though, and I gave up. The controls did seem kind of "sticky" especially on angled ground, and it was kind of frustrating that left and right seemed slower than forward and back, at least until I figured out that the mouse moves the camera. (Then I held W and let the camera do the work.)

Looking at that pile of yarn in the screenshot makes me think I missed something. Dang. :/

kirilllosev says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:58pm

for the first time i saw this game on a stream. i thought "it's art. it's calm and satisfying"
then i've played it. and i'm still very satisfied :)

OwT says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:28pm

Vwry peaceful and kind of sleepy game, it's adorable and full of happyness, but very simple too.

Crowbeak says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:07am

This was wonderful. ^_^ Good for what ails ya.

Quique says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:25pm

Simply amazing.

Dec 18, 2015 @ 1:05pm

That was really relaxing! Music was absolutely perfect, I'd love to see more "missions" in the future =)

quill18 says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:45pm

Really lovely, wonderful, happy-feeling experience.

bering says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:46pm

Impressive! I loved the mood and the art was amazing! Nice twist on the theme too, really creative.

Tijn says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:40pm

I love the look and sound of this game. I made a huge ball, but then couldn't find anything further to do. Did I miss something? The message said it was enough. I feel like I'm missing something here.

Thanks for your comment on my game by the way! I plan on making a version that's a bit stronger in the gameplay department, a lot of the ideas you're proposing are going to be in that :)

psychomonster says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 11:28am

Very relaxed gameplay... +1 for artwork ... fits perfect to the season :) Good Job... But there may be some more challenges to choose from...

Gemberkoekje says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 2:37pm

Thank you for this game, very nice.

I've also looked at your points for my game, and they are almost all points I want to pick up in a post compo version, so thanks also for giving me feedback :) One of the things I'd like to add is that you start with a settler, instead of an actual city, so you can indeed start near a forest.

euske says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 3:09pm

I thought I could take a control of the yarn at the end. Bummers.

dollarone says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 1:44am

Two buttons! yes!

Excellent interpretation of the theme. Cool concept, very "flower"-like. I liked that you had different colours of yarn depending on the landscape. Nice and refreshing. Good work!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]