Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Fight Back!

by ChaosCult - Jam Entry

You have two buttons, three space marines and a whole military complex full of ugly aliens to kill. To arms!

Use left mouse button to shoot and right mouse button to block alien shots. Pressing "D" and "F" on keyboard also works.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#109Overall(Jam)3.84
#160Graphics(Jam)4.12
#183Fun(Jam)3.61
#212Humor(Jam)3.30
#236Audio(Jam)3.51
#321Innovation(Jam)3.40
#332Mood(Jam)3.44
#508Theme(Jam)3.68

Comments

Ogniok says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:28am

I have to admit, that this is pretty polished game. Also I love the graphics. 5 star graphics :-D

karlipoppins says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:27am

Amazing graphics and fx. Very fun game mechanics, nice usage of the theme. Great job overall

nuprahtor says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:39am

I like the simple but engaging gameplay and soldier humor. Graphics are good too.
You use Unity 5.3 and canvas scaler for the ui? It's broken in this version in fullscreen. It took me two hours to figure it out when I was making my entry for LD.

ChaosCult says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:50am

> You use Unity 5.3 and canvas scaler for the ui? It's broken in this version in fullscreen.
Yep, that's what we do. I guess we just never tested with fullscreen, oops. I'll check it out when I have the chance, thanks for the report!

OrangeeZ says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:51pm

Very good!

amorphous says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:32pm

Very nicely polished, and interesting use of the theme. The lack of control over aim made shooting + shielding very difficult for me, though.

hpearson2 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:34pm

2 buttons but three controls (D + F + mouse).

Mekuri says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:38pm

Great game. It felt very well polished, and the controls were great (and only two buttons). One of the best I've played this dare, so far :-)

andyman404 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:38pm

Not sure what's happening

andyman404 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:40pm

Not sure what's happening - on Mac OS X in windowed mode, the character's don't show up. I was able to run the Web version though. Cool graphics and funny soldiers.

fistmaker says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:02am

Nice game, good amount of polish and controls are responsive. Interesting dialog.

DrFallos says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:40pm

Nice graphics and concept! Liked this game!

kostak says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:05pm

Good game, but webGL didnt work. Good luck!

NoradZero says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:04pm

Nice one! Graphics are cool! Combat are really nice good job!

PowerSpark says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:06pm

Very polished! It gets challenging very fast.

iantttianttt says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:56am

BEST GAME EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!
So much fun man~

Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:51pm

Great game, superb art and nice humor! Very good job!

NirabazGAMES says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:34pm

awesome game. like from my childhools. like personages

NoWandStudios says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 7:17pm

Like a tyranid lover let me say: congrats! Nice humor.

mxjones says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 7:38pm

Impressive, the music was good and I liked the dialog. Having a tutorial and cut scenes also, nice job.

Shovix says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:33pm

i dig this stuff.

Masuno says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:08pm

This is one of those games that I do not quite know why it's so good.

Very short (i think), but very fun and with a nice difficulty curve. You're forced to pay close attention before long. Very nice!

Zeriver says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:25pm

Haha nice one, making you play both sides and just when you were thinking that this is another hero marines story :D
Gameplay is entertaining and it's nice that playing as aliens is a bit different than playing marines.

Drauthius says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 1:13pm

Nice game! I like how you change sides in the middle of the game. Would have been nice with an end though.

jstan says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 3:54am

I really like the gameplay. Keep good work.

Mar 27, 2016 @ 11:40pm

Lovely graphics! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/kf34--PMGMs

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]