Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Avalanche

by jlouisB - Jam Entry

In this game, you play a snowball, and you become bigger and bigger in your fall.
The goal is simply to crush the skiers and to avoid the trees and the buildings.
We have tried to add a fun "avalanche" system where your ball is divided to controls more snowballs

Use the Arrows keys (right and left) to start and to move your snowballs.

The game has been made with Unity mainly during two full days

We are a team of students behind this game :
Game/level design : Simon-Pierre Mattei, Guillaume Laugé, Kamil Nahouri
Graphics : Kamil Nahouri
Programming : Jean-Louis Boudrand
Sound design : Antoine Tirmarche

Have fun !

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness75%
#63Theme(Jam)4.27
#80Fun(Jam)3.83
#124Humor(Jam)3.61
#249Overall(Jam)3.61
#267Mood(Jam)3.53
#369Audio(Jam)3.29
#580Graphics(Jam)3.32
#589Innovation(Jam)3.03

Comments

Dianouille says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:28am

136500, that's a good score ? Cute little game, I had a lot of fun playing it ! Good job guys !

suppi says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:11pm

very nice entry! I really like the polish at the start. the music is great too! good job!

Meta-link says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:49pm

Crushing squirrel with a giant snowball is just awesome ;)
Good job guys !

jlouisB says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:57pm

Thanks for your comments !

@Dianouille : Not bad... but with a bit of luck and practice, you can reach the 400000/500000 :)

monetai says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:27pm

Extra points for being able to crush both Santa Claus and Nicki Minaj ! Good job guys, it's a fun game.

Grahhhhh says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:28am

Adorable, can't lie though, I wish I could've gotten an even bigger snowball. OH! Thanks monetai, I heard the music in the background and thought I had Nicki playing somewhere, I was like "embarrassing"... That was her in the game! Solid extra!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:21am

i love the theme use and running over people is always special around xmas - great work

Rob Glen says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:05am

This was enjoyable, and nice use of both themes. And also appropriate setting for the time of year! I found the snowball splitting to be pretty clever, I wasn't expecting that. Great music and visuals as well!

Pantoufle says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:28pm

Great game! I really enjoyed the fact that I could split and control several snowballs :-)
Congratulations!

tantumgames says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:54pm

Cheerful and fun game, nice graphics and sound, a good job

Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:59pm

Game is fun to play and great use of of both themes.

ohmmus says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:51pm

Awesome work, guys!

dx0ne says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:07pm

Santa is not coming to town no more.
Best part was following tracks - gave me killer tire vibe == fun.
Plus for Nicki - I was like "who's listening to... oh that's me".

Janacek says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:25pm

Faites une version WebGL les gars ! :(

beetracks says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:37am

Very beautiful graphics. I missed sound effects. It's kinda cruel to have to hit the people and animals to get points, but it's an avalanche after all. I enjoyed the smooth movement (and grow) of the snowball. Fun game. Nice job!

tompudding says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:30pm

Hah great idea, squishing snowboarders is wonderful!

Rex Peppers says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 1:32pm

Nice job - you incorporated both themes!

scorched says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 4:38pm

Quite fun, that's nearly identical to one of my ideas for this LD, but I couldn't make it better than you ;-)

denycetm says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 4:50pm

This was an ok entry. Until the snowball broke apart and made a multi ball thing. This made it an awesome entry. I know you were bound by the two button controls but taking control of the individual balls would have been cool. Still such a smooth transition from title screen to gameplay.

arzi says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 2:25pm

Yay, another snowball game :)

loxo says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 9:33am

I made a similar game, but you managed to add features I had on my list but not enough time for to implement them. Obviously you had a great idea ;)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]