Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Grow the Love

by silkworm_sweatshop - Compo Entry

This game is a tiny people matchmaker. Pair the lonely people looking for love with the left and right mouse buttons (one button for each person in the couple). Grow the population and keep them happy. Be mindful of their companion preferences. Male symbol means they like guys, female symbol means they like girls, and rainbow means the're into everything. Angered people are lost to you and sad people age faster. Matching a man and a woman produces more tiny people but all love is worth the same in the eyes of the score.

tldr: Click on one tiny person with the left mouse button and then on another with the right mouse button. If they're compatible they become a couple. Have fun!

Made in GameMaker.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness78%
#142Humor3.26
#177Innovation3.69
#202Mood3.41
#206Overall3.61
#213Audio3.25
#218Theme4.03
#234Fun3.50
#376Graphics3.30

Comments

5you says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:54am

Very fun game!

I love when you see a guy getting old and depressed from being alone and then just die! There is some potential here.

My only regret is that it's a bit confusing.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:56am

Thanks! I updated the description. Hopefully it doesn't make it even more confusing :P.

ccglp says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:44pm

Nice concept, but my little persons are not compatible at all? Love to see this more polished!

eerongal says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:54pm

Neat little game, it eventually gets kinda hard to tell people apart as they start overlapping, though!

Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:01pm

They key is in interpreting the symbols. Make sure both people get what they want in the pairing not just one of them. For example a "male looking for a male" is not compatible with a "male looking for a female".

Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:02pm

eerongal: It is kind of the point hehe :D

Eshford says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:06pm

Cute game! I love it!

adamgryu says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:55pm

Cute :)

adamgryu says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:57pm

Oh also, if you can avoid using an installer, I think that will help more people play the game.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:09pm

adamgryu: Didn't even realize I could do that. I'll switch out the file to a no installer.

Kaupenjoe says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:33pm

Seems to be very accurate to real life xP
It was very fun :D

flakoflak says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:11am

fun game. nice details the flowers when they die.

Janacek says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:54am

Isn't there a bit of incest in this ? :p

Funny little game !

Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:50am

@flakoflak: Fun(or sad) fact: Flowers only grow if they've had love in their life at some point.

@Janacek: Well you're the one in control so you tell me :P. Thankfully, I made the kids off-limits at least.

LavWa says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:48am

Neat idea, cool use of the theme. I unfortunately let die a little guy by mistake, but I got the idea and save the others :P

moltanem2000 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:10am

Aw this was adorable. I felt really bad when my rabid matchmaking left them scarred for life :( Guy #12 and Girl #16 OTP

fluidvolt says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:20am

Cuuute. Unique idea for a game. This was surprisingly challenging, though on further reflection it might be 'cause I never learned the male/female symbols that well, so I was constantly screwing up. I like the simple cartoon style too. Good game!

crucknuk says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:25am

Graphics and music are nice, I like the concept too. This is a good entry, good job!

socapex says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:34am

Lmao!

Funske says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:40am

Very fun game loved the concept simple yet has lot's of meaning behind it. I also enjoyed the diversity of different types of people it was very nice. Great Game!

koocachookies says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:38pm

Cool! Interesting and amusing mechanic :)

x92rwzb says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:40pm

Very cool game. Graphics could be better though.

KriBoNiTa says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:03pm

Very nice game i like the mood, and have fun trying it 4/5 times, good job !

Skaz says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:05pm

Very nice entry! I couldn't get a decent score though, a rampant epidemic of straight males turn every one of my attempts into human extinction :p Only run I made quite long was survival through reproduction between brother and sister... Adam and Eve style!

oz2mura says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 2:19pm

Game is dark D: Like lonely people dying, everyone dying of old age, I'm making everyone angry, and everyone making babies. I liked it!

Fitting music/sounds. Cute graphics. Once I got a handle on what symbol was for who, was a blast trying to keep the population up. gg

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:22pm

Sweet little game. LOVED the music! First time I played I watched everyone get angry, lonely, sad and die with -42 points! Played a bit more and got the hang of it though! :)

camlang says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 7:24pm

Very nice game. Really cruel :)

StaNov says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 7:50pm

At first, it's very difficult. But then it's quite nice :) A tutorial would be greatly appreciated!

Great graphics and music!!!

nihilaleph says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 2:48am

Pro:
+ Very cute concept
+ Nice take on theme
+ Nice graphics and audio
Con:
- With many tiny people it gets hard to see the preferences of each tiny person

Great job!

Tapehead says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 12:12pm

sometimes it's a bit hard to pick a person because their overlap each other, but besides that it's a great small game! very well done!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]