Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Tanya Titor and the Time Twister

by NoGrapes - Jam Entry

Tanya Titor and the Time Twister is a game about a girl trapped in a “time twister,” a swirling vortex in which time flows at the whim of Chronohotep, the Egyptian God of time. Chronohotep’s minions will sap Tanya’s life force, causing her to grow old, and eventually die, but magical hourglasses turn back the clock and restore her youth, so collect them when you can! Only you can help Tanya fight back and escape from the Time Twister!

Controls:
Z – Jump
X – Shoot

Thanks for playing!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness91%
#219Humor(Jam)3.28
#231Graphics(Jam)3.96
#278Fun(Jam)3.46
#321Audio(Jam)3.36
#337Overall(Jam)3.51
#360Theme(Jam)3.83
#405Innovation(Jam)3.29
#434Mood(Jam)3.31

Comments

Eingya says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:41am

Inversely tying the power of the character to his health is quite interesting, and the thening is nice.

Well Done!

(Cronothep tho -_-)

LavWa says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:23am

Nice work ! Cool use of the theme, the artwork is very well done :)

Kakureta says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:27am

Interesting concept. Love the somewhat innovative game mechanics...

sputnik says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:28am

Nice art style. Good use of the theme by merging the aging and the "hp". Well done!

TeamKawaiiju says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:55am

super cute game! clever idea!

LordKawaii says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:58am

Wow! Wonderful art! I have never seen time been used as health like that, great concept!

Wandermayer says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:25am

I like how you tied the abilities to the health. and the bouncing balls for the baby is a cool touch!

pvwradtke says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:48am

I had a good laugh with this one. Really well presented, with nice music fo follow along. The game is simple yet challenging. Liked also that Tanya has a different power for each age. Last remark: for some reason, the Linux 64 bits binary crashs on Mint Linux 17.2. However, the 32 bits version works well, which is odd.

Fathom says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:05am

Wow, great work on this! Really cool concept, and I love the art, the music, the writing, and it's a fun game!

Erlend Aakre says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:15am

Nice work, really love the graphics

adsilcott says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:03am

Great concept and art! It was really fun discovering the different ages of the character and how even her abilities changed.

disdanes says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:04am

Wow you made that in 3 days? You guys did a great job. I had a lot of fun playing it, it had a good theme, I wish it told more of an ending story, but other than that I loved the graphics and music, sound effects were a bit loud, but a great game overall! Great job guys.

lectric.monk says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:05am

Lovely art style! And great the story.

AhPutek says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:42am

The theme has been incorporated very well. The mechanic is fun too. As someone mentioned, it would be nice to see an ending as well. But overall, it's nicely done!

Eldraev says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:16am

I like the mechanics of the game. Changing the characters abilities depending on the health gives you nice possibilities to change your play style dynamically. The main character is also really adorable.

DrFallos says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:07am

Perfect work!

StitchesMagoo says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:09am

Really cute graphics, though I wish the character had been more animated to provide some feedback. But a really good entry nonetheless.

zzapp says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:44pm

Nicely made game, the concept and the use of the theme was well done. The art style is awesome to. Really enjoyed it overall.

eerongal says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:52am

This game is pretty good! I really enjoy the art and making each stage of life have different attacks was really interesting. Good work!

CremaGames says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:04am

Hey, I liked this game a loot, the aging/damage mechanic is really nice. This could use some more work after the jam!

oz2mura says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:25am

Really enjoyed the intro, concept, art, and music. I would love to see more of this game, it's interesting how it feels beneficial being the adult version, so I found myself allowing myself get hurt just to get that extra firepower.

fluidvolt says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:42am

Cool! I enjoyed the writing in the intro scene. Lots of personality. The art was very slick too. It was cool seeing the look of Tanya's different ages and the oddball enemy designs. Music was unexpectedly funky, but I dug it. I like the push/pull of health vs power. This was fun, good work.

beetracks says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 8:56pm

Nice game. Beautiful graphics.

garygreen says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 9:02pm

Really nice quirky shoot em up - great graphics. :-)

puppetmaster says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 9:12pm

Very funny and crazy game.
I love the intro and the different enemy types.
Congrats for your entry!

Geck0 says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 1:18am

Nice theme work :)

DecayConstant says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 6:17pm

Amazing job on the graphics, crazy cute! :D
I was able to get a score of 830.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]