Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Battle Rose

by goodbadokay - Jam Entry

This is a game where you play as a mutant rose with sharp teeth.
Your goal is to survive, kill as many enemies as possible ant get the highest score!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#207Humor(Jam)3.31
#251Fun(Jam)3.50
#305Audio(Jam)3.40
#319Theme(Jam)3.89
#362Overall(Jam)3.48
#366Graphics(Jam)3.71
#514Innovation(Jam)3.14
#602Mood(Jam)3.11

Comments

Yamzho says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:40pm

Very cool entry ! Didn't know poultries had such a big butt...

danielsann7 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:21pm

nice entry! fun and very challenging, nice work!

iovorobiev says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:39am

Nice work, guys! Like your graphics:)

Mr_Fudd says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:15am

Art and animations were pretty cool. Even the music was nice. It felt like I had some frame drops whenever I attacked though. I was kinda annoyed that the flies without weapons could hurt you.

Caspila says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:23am

Oh man, you won me on the flies with chainsaw. hahaha. it was fun

yajiv says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:37am

Nice art! I enjoyed the game, overall :)

Krafty says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:39am

Fun game and good music. Nice use of two buttons.

jerry111zhang says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:42am

GREAT gameplay! Very challenging!

Logicon says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:45am

Very challenging and fun. It wasn't very clear that I couldn't hit the blue bugs that climb then turn over while they were climbing.
I liked the music and graphics :)

Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:47am

This is a great game. Fit the theme perfectly too, thought the controls were very well done. Double-tapping was a great way to get around the restriction of only being able to use 2 buttons for your game. Great job! One of the best entries I've played so far :)

ninjascript says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:49am

Wow, great work guys. I guess the pigeon butts got you flagged, but the game looks and plays great!

mr. a says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:07am

I like the look of the flower. Kinda wish I could use its teeth on the unarmed bugs.

Had some trouble with the controls at first. Can't tell if it feels laggy, needs input faster than I normally double-tap, or some mix of both. Improved with practice, though. Kudos on experimenting with the two button limitation.

Henez says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:15am

Well done. Huge butt birds are great. Great audio and visuals with fun gameplay make for a very polished entry. Well done.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:20am

Great overall game. Visuals look nice, plays well, and sounds great.

walaber says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:43am

pretty fun, clever theme and silly enemies. controls felt a bit loose and it was hard to tell if I was killing things or they were harming me.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:14am

What a nice game, u nailed it bro!

micky says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:15am

this was really fun :) good job!

Pietdagamer says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:27am

Double tapping for attacking was a great choice, it makes the attack feel really powerful.

tribrain says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:32pm

Very good entry, controls are smooth and the animations are very well done. Fun game, congratulations!!

Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:48pm

Great audio & graphics. Collision may have been a bit iffy in spots? Not sure if it was the game or just me.

Dege says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:56pm

very enjoyable game! I liked it.

crucknuk says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:57pm

Nice entry! I didn't know chicken have a butt like that xD

Gins says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:58pm

Cool idea, great graphics and music :) Sometimes it feels like my attacks are missing even if they should hit, or if the hit is really delayed :o

HolyBlackCat says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:15pm

Great game!

juaxix says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:13pm

Sense of humor, nintendo references and pixel art. Well, I like that ^_^

Cliff Lee(CL) says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:56am

Great gameplay, graphics and audio!
But there are some enemies will flying around very quickly.,that might be a bug?

koocachookies says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:39pm

Very fun game! Simple but it is a complete challenge! Great work!

Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:00pm

Hello from Omsk Ludum Dare dudes.

x92rwzb says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:16pm

Cool game. I liked it!

nunesbarbosa says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 2:17am

Why you have to attack the flies? You're a frigging man eating plant. Nice game, good idea on the theme.

Tapehead says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:34pm

this is a funny game and it makes a lot of fun! well done!

Jan 3, 2016 @ 5:18pm

Quite challenging, but funny! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/6QI1ZQ7v1fA

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]