Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Biorhythm

by prymidion - Compo Entry

A love story 6 micrometers across.

Biorhythm is a rhythm-based, story-focused infection game. Move your bacteria away from harm and towards victory to the beat of the heart.

**Scroll the camera by moving the cursor to the edge of the screen.**

Playing with headphones recommended!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#9Innovation4.33
#115Mood3.64
#117Overall3.77
#211Theme4.04
#274Fun3.44
#336Audio2.96
#490Graphics3.07

Comments

Khallane says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:54am

Nice game.
I found that there's no penalty for spamming click to move the cells :O

_benhumphries says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:13am

Nice job! I found it hard to coordinate when to click. I was a little confused on how that worked, but I figured it out. I like the story you have behind the game, but the game itself wasn't that fun. To be honest, you play the game for the story (but I liked the story a lot!). Nice job!

nunesbarbosa says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:35am

It is hard to keep the beat even when I'm 100% sure I did it right.

NuggetTeam says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:21pm

I LOVE IT! The idea is great and it's very addictive, the art fits very well and I love the sound!

krashja says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:22pm

Nice game! I Really liked :D

vicious_br says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:42pm

Very very good game! Easy to play and mood hard!

togo says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:18pm

i really liked this game. i'll try and play it to completion when i'm more awake.
a lot of times you seem to simply win by outnumbering the dangers.

Fervir says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:20pm

This game is amazing. It's like a really fast turn based strategy game.
I do not recommend letting the cells go out of control though haha.
The detail with how the cells squish together was really nice

jackyjjc says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:39am

The idea of it is interesting but sometime it is very hard to follow the beat (I don't know if it is the game or just me very bad at rhythm). It was a bit confusing in the beginning to find out what to do but once I got the hang out it, I had fun. Nice game, well done!.

AsixJin says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:15am

Best Ludum Dare game I've played so far! I really enjoy rhythmic games and this one was very innovative

micky says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:22am

i enjoyed this one, great concept and controls :)

Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:52am

Neat idea it just needs polish.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:30am

Cool job dude. I especially liked how having a bunch of bacteria meant you had to control them in separate bursts when they couldn't all fit in the circle.

Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:33pm

Great idea and concept!

Weeping Rupee says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 6:49pm

I absolutely loved this game. It's poetry with a visceral biological theme- I love it.

I was going to say I wanted a tutorial-- something really quick thats also really hand-holdy because at first I really didnt connect the rhythm mechanic with the circle around my mouse... but honestly I figured it out after maybe 30 seconds.

Excellent excellent work.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]