Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

BloatBlaster

by the-arrival - Jam Entry

** don´t use fullscreen mode. The latest Unityversion is bugged on this **
http://forum.unity3d.com/threads/fullscreen-gui-bug.338181/

Updated Version 1.6 with some little bugfixes and tweaks...


This is Bloat Blaster, a Growing theme entry!
In this top down shooter, you fight inflating aliens that grow bigger and more dangerous with every hit. Watch out, if you shoot too quickly, the alien will multiply, so manage your damage!

If you liked the game (or hated it) please let us know what you think!


HowToPlay:
----------

wasd to move
left-click to shoot

shoot the ALIENS until they die!
the more you hit them, the BIGGER they get!
big things are SLOW but hit like a truck!
small things are FAST and annoying!
highscore and DONT DIE!

DON´T shoot too quickly, or the aliens MULTIPLY!!!




If you like what you played, get in touch with our other projects:

Marcus Ambichl: Programming(Gameplay and Engine), MechnicsDesign, SoundDesign
FB: https://www.facebook.com/thea.rrival.1
MainProject (Updates will come soon, promise!): https://www.facebook.com/thearrivalgames
--------------------------------------------------------------------

Kriechgebüsch - Programming(UI, weapons), ParticleEffects, PlayerAnimation
--------------------------------------------------------------------

Alden Reynolds - All the Art Shenanigans
DA: http://anathlyst.deviantart.com/
FB: https://www.facebook.com/alden.reynolds.7
--------------------------------------------------------------------


!!! Leave us your survialtime and kills in the comments and get your Place in the Highscores List !!!


HIGHSCORES:

1: Kills: 47, Time: 179 - Alvaro_as
2: Kills: 41, Time: 146 - gladers
3: Kills: 31, Time: 136 - Taffaz
4: Kills: 28, Time: 130 - Elit3dGaming
5: Kills: 27, Time: 238 - the-arrival(Marcus)
6: Kills: 10, Time: 175 - Guard 13007
7: Kills: 14, Time: 100 - fabrizio
8: Kills: 6, Time: 86 - TheGypsyKing
9: -----
10: -----



Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness67%
#176Graphics(Jam)4.08
#187Audio(Jam)3.60
#369Overall(Jam)3.47
#380Fun(Jam)3.32
#408Mood(Jam)3.34
#426Humor(Jam)2.79
#702Innovation(Jam)2.86
#804Theme(Jam)3.30

Comments

Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:57am

Nice Dig Dug quality to it with the inflatable baddies. It's fun and looks and sound great. Well Done!

zaniarm says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:56am

This game was fun to play. I just love the graphics and sounds. Great job.

gladers says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:54pm

Superb game, the graphics quality and polished gameplay in such a short time is incredible!

ss64games says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:52pm

I think the mechanic of gauging how much I should fire depending on the enemy's size wasn't that fun and hard to read. It was a bit too hard to strategize around that element while also dodging and firing at enemies for me. The graphics and lighting of the arena were well put together. Well polished entry.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:24pm

Great presentation but I didn't really get what I was supposed to do to play well in the game - like it says in the instructions - big things are slow and do big damage, small things are fast but less, shooting often means you spawn stuff so no matter what I do something bad negative is triggered. Would have been great to have something to do that would feel effective.

Elit3dGaming says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:27pm

28 kills 130 time really fun game, great music and great art used

the-arrival says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:35pm

Thanks for the Feedback so far and your kind comments! On the mechanics i agree that we could have told them better. The Idea is to WAIT when stuff gets too big (blinking red, shaking) until they shrink again, before continue shooting. What was pretty clear for us, seems to confuse a lot of people. Lesson learned how much you lack objectivity, when you are the creator :)

_benhumphries says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:53am

Great job! I found pretty much every aspect of the game great! The graphics stand out among other games, and I like the idea of the "inflatable baddies!"

alvarop says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:12am

Being the highscore holder in the World, I have to say I enjoyed this game quite a bit. The main mechanic isn't quite as clear as the developers intended it to be, but not understanding it - killing the enemies at a slow pace - does not hinder gameplay experience.

All in all, it's a fun game, with a cool world and gameplay. I enjoyed it quite a bit.

luke says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:25pm

excellent job! at times the character just stopped, I even pressing to move and sometimes the window hindered me, consider having full screen, again excellent job

Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:08am

Very well done. Impressive entry. Fun gameplay

OttersDen says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:52am

The polish in this game! So good. Nicely done!

MintArcade says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 7:51pm

Great fun. They really hitting like a truck. ;D

CremaGames says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 1:09pm

Wow! Great game! :D

DustyStylus says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 6:27pm

"shoot the ALIENS until they die! " -- these are the BESTEST games. :P Nice game, excellent graphics, runs perfectly in WINE on OSX. Thanks for reviewing my game.

Dietrich Epp says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 8:34pm

There's a lot of polish here, and it's fun, but the gameplay is a bit frustrating and the camera is hard to work with. I can't shoot the aliens until they die because I have to wait until they get smaller first, but it took me a while to figure that out. It looks like it's the big aliens that split? But from the instructions, it seems like it's how fast you shoot. It would make a big difference if the aliens communicated more information about their status. For example, it would be nice to be able to tell at a glance exactly how many shots an alien could take before splitting. One of the more fun games I've played this round.

Taffaz says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 11:56am

31 Kills and 136s survival time. Enjoyed the game and the audio was cool.

Guard13007 says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 9:39pm

10 kills, 175.06 time

Pretty fun, but a little confusing as to when it's safe to shoot (to keep them from multiplying).

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]