Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Immortal Growth

by Evergreen Games - Jam Entry

​Grow from Hero to Deity to God as you protect your followers through the ages of Liberation, War and Calamity.


Explanation of Gameplay:
The overall idea is to keep 1 or more of your followers alive through the 3 ages/levels in order to win the game.

- In level 1 your objective is to rescue your followers from the prison and get them safely across the chasm. (Hint: Keeping the mouse button held down will cup your hand so your followers will stay in your hand. You have to move them gently or they will fall out.)
- In level 2 your objective is to wipe out all the enemies by either toppling the tower on them or stomping them (hard downward motion with the mouse while holding either button). You can also attempt to block some of the enemy spears, although this is tricky.
- In level 3 you block the falling objects from hitting your followers with your hands. Be careful not to accidentally stomp your followers. You are a big and dangerous, after all.



Controls:

+ Left Mouse Hold:

moves Left Side

and closes left hand

+ Right Mouse Hold:

moves right side

and closes right hand

+ Your player can move

arms and legs

hold followers

stomp enemies

and shake the earth

+ R to restart, Escape to quit





Made by Evergreen Games for Ludum Dare 34

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#124Innovation(Jam)3.74
#176Graphics(Jam)4.08
#240Audio(Jam)3.50
#258Mood(Jam)3.55
#454Theme(Jam)3.74
#533Overall(Jam)3.31
#647Humor(Jam)2.41
#758Fun(Jam)2.86

Comments

Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:58pm

The art style is nice.
The game could be improved by introducing steps one at a time so the player has a better time understanding the game.
The game has a few bugs mostly involving interacting with the people. Namely getting them to stay in your hand.

OwT says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:52am

Wow, that is an interesting idea! The control is very nice, with only two buttons you reached so many options, I'm impressed. It has some glitches all the time, but it was still playable. The graphic style is very matching to the age you're playing in, good job!

AsixJin says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:39am

Nice concept but this was really hard to play and enjoy. The people wouldn't stay in my hand I really didn't understand the level when the red guys started showing up.

aeveis says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:50am

Nice art! I got to the 2nd level, and wasn't sure how to beat it. I blew up the tower, but couldn't pick up the people and bring them back to the house. I liked the controls though!

Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:27am

Wow! Pretty cool! I miss my work with this game, haha!)

Andrew Deem says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:36am

The graphics and audio are nice. The idea is interesting, but could be better implemented. It's also rather hard and confusing at first. Has good promise. Nice work.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:23am

Thank you for the valuable feedback everyone. We went ahead and added some information in the description above to explain the objective for each level and the game overall.

sirono says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:10am

I have try to download but it got "the archive is corrupt
but your graphic is very attract.

ashdnazg says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:01am

I really like the cave drawing style and the main mechanic is pretty cool!
Audio was good, although the music was highly repetitive.

The control itself felt clunky at times when I couldn't grab what I wanted/release it where I wanted.

tantumgames says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:16pm

I love the art style, really. Congrats to the team!

NecroMac says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:16pm

Great art style and interesting puzzle mechanics. Can be a bit frustrating when you by accident kills your followers or can not save them because you are at the other side of map. Definitely worth playing!

mikołak says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:20pm

Really nice concept that is holistically integrated with the gameplay, audio, and graphics. Inspired by Apotheon, perhaps? In any case, I really like how this game is consistent and feels "complete".

TheMeorch says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:53am

Very promising game, with a unique art style and a unique control system. The control of the character and the interaction with the people are a bit too unreliable, though -- if you touch that up, I'd like to see where this could go. Nice work!

Xanjos says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:01am

Pretty hard but interesting puzzler plus I like the art style a lot.

Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:32am

The art style and audio is cool.
Was struggling a little with understanding game mechanics (i.e. this shift of gameplay from level to level).. still was able to finish it :)
Would love to be able to move the Hero/Deity/God! (felt a little bit strange that it/I was sliding back and forth).
Btw.: What soft did you use for the main character animations?

Dec 18, 2015 @ 2:02am

@inbetweengames we used inverse kinematics implemented through this asset:
https://www.assetstore.unity3d.com/en/#!/content/1829

Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:21am

Made it through with only one survivor. The lack of control of where the God is makes it difficult to combat the enemies and defend against the rocks. I ended up stomping in frustration a lot during the second stage.

LukeZaz says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:05am

Controls were a little difficult to use, and I found levels 2 and 1 somewhat annoying as I had to wait for people to walk into range before I could do anything. Specifically with level one all the remaining followers bunched up such that I had to wait the entire time for them to return before I could do anything.

JamesMowery says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 6:06am

This is a really great game. It had me interested from the start. The mechanics were awesome as well. A few tweaks to the physics will see this game being perfect!

jcsirron says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 2:28am

This is an interesting game. Now I know how all powerful beings feel when there's that one guy at the back that refuses to cooperate...

Omiya Games says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 7:33pm

Since the objective of the game is not clearly pronounced, it's difficult to figure out how to play the game. As such, it's easy to blame the controls for killing off all the enemies, and the lack of control in movement makes it frustrating. The first level requiring to use some odd off-screen teleportation to make your own citizens climb a higher level it's very obvious as a solution, either.

Overall, a very confusing game with a neat "klutz-simulating" mechanic that leaves the player more frustrated than laughing with the game.

gmatsura says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 10:49pm

Interesting idea, but I struggled with the controls.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]