Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

In this game, you can not jump

by pta2002 - Jam Entry

***WARNING***: Web build is outdated and unstable! Use Windows build to gett all the nice fixes :)
In this game, you can not jump. Left and right to move, narrator should say the rest!
---- story ----
You are a robot rescued from the robot apocalypse by a narrator that thinks he's funny. See what you can do in this game!
---------------
--- INFO ---
This game was made in 2 days, but I had to submit for jam because those days were Sunday and Monday. Expect to see some levels being added until the deadline!
------------
---- CREDITS ----
Bitslap: Smoooooth movement!
Motivational penguin: Motivation!
People on IRC: Giving me ideas on my game!
-----------------

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#367Humor(Jam)2.90
#670Fun(Jam)2.96
#764Theme(Jam)3.36
#776Graphics(Jam)2.92
#856Mood(Jam)2.67
#902Innovation(Jam)2.48
#919Overall(Jam)2.83
#1952Coolness32%

Comments

antonuklein says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:03pm

Can't continue at the box level, going left to drop down kills me and the pit is too small to fall in.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:58am

Haha, nice, but really short. I like the graphics. Writing is pretty funny. The only thing I'd complain about is the lack of sound. I'd suggest bfxr or something to get nice sounds quickly. Also, quick restarts when you die are very good.

zaniarm says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:51am

I couldn't continue at the box level. Anyways I liked the idea that you can't jump.

pta2002 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:39am

There will be a fix for the crate level soon!

nopogo says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:32pm

A fun little platformer with potential. Albeit a little short. Really missed sounds, that would greatly improve this game imho

amras0000 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:27pm

The game's a tad glitchy for what it is. if you walk off the left side of the screen, sometimes the level restarts and sometimes it doesn't. This wouldn't be so much of an issue if not for the fact the game tries to pull pranks on you several times. I'm basically left questioning whether something was intentional or a glitch every time something breaks. The drop before the box wasn't so much of an issue in this case as the last ending flag. With the box, at lesat you had the narrator to justify it. With the last flag, I was convinced the game'd broken again and only went off the left side of the platform because I wanted to restart the level.

As a rule of thumb, I personally consider it bad design to mismatch your level geometry hitboxes and your level appearance. If there's a hole in the floor I'd like to fall through it and if there's not a hole I'd like to move over it. (same principle goes for invisible walls mid-level). Holding information back from your players is a cheap way of adding difficulty or puzzle elements.

All that aside, the core mechanics are reasonable and the level design does some cool things with them.
I'm really not sure why the protagonist had that light-grey growth on the front end of their sprite, it didn't seem to serve a purpose and looked a bit naff.
And it seemed like when I hit the enemies from the side I'd still bounce off them somehow.

Farelle says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:06pm

It's nice to see that it worked out after you had so much trouble with collisions :D and even though my spacebar finger was twitching a few times I really liked the way I had to think for a moment when there were no jumppads anymore but only enemies ;D hehehe

kaype says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:40pm

Very simple, but after seeing you in IRC so long talking about the trouble you've been having with this I don't really mind :)

Some gameplay footage I recorded (720p60fps):
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fefaOYKAxdg

pta2002 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:29pm

Nice, I like that you recorded it kaype!

g12345 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:01pm

Short, Simple, and a bit Funny. Not bad for a 13 year old. :)

Jwatt says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:02pm

This reminds me of the very first (unreleased) game I worked on, which had a similar concept. Except you'd also place down springs where you wanted to jump.

Okay, this is buggy and short, but you still get an award: http://i.imgur.com/j75vIc8.png

phi says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 9:40am

You nicely implemented the two button controls, I liked the simplicity of movement. The physics are still quite buggy, but it works okay for how you intended the level to be solved. Cute graphics and level design, great introduction. This has some potential!

simon.parzer says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 10:02am

Nice game. I enjoyed the mechanics but sounds would have been a great addition.

rujo says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 2:49pm

nice concept and realization, maybe it needs a little bit polishing

Dec 27, 2015 @ 4:31am

hahaha this was pretty funny, but I found it too short with not allot of thought gone into bugs or how the levels may be attempted by the user. also though the tricks were funny, this type of unexplained stuff can lead to people giving up on your game way too soon so you may want to work on making the correct route clear after you initially trick the player.

dollarone says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 3:19pm

Cool game! I like the tutorial-style levels. Would be cool to have more/harder levels but I know exactly how time consuming level making is!

Good work!

VDZ says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 3:54pm

This game has some potential, but ends way too soon (just when I expected the game to really start) and has a lot of technical/design issues that make the current content not very fun.

The amount of non-tutorial content is way too small for how much tutorial there is; if I have to sit through a tutorial, I expect the rest of the game to make it worth my time. There's tons of design space left unused; the tutorials are made to be near-impossible to fail, so all that's left is two short platform challenges (the climb and the drop/bounce) and a "puzzle" (finding the exit). Even disregarding the tutorials, that just isn't enough content to make a fun game.

Collisions/hitboxes were very weird. It was never clear to me what ways of touching enemies were lethal to me and which ones allowed me to bounce; particularly the climb had me moving into enemies sideways a lot, which just felt plain weird. If you fall on top of the box in the drop/bounce challenge you go right through it (and get killed by an enemy while you're standing still in confusion). The invisible block before the exit is apparently intentional, but is very poor design as it feels like a glitch; there is no indication it is not a glitch until you've "solved the puzzle". Likewise, the "puzzle" itself is a matter of trial-and-error; the only way to find the solution is by giving up and trying to kill yourself, which generally happens before you even realize it's supposed to be a puzzle. This could be remedied somewhat by having the hidden block become visible when you approach it, but even then 'find the off-screen object' rarely makes for a fun puzzle.

The graphics were okay and worked for the game, but were not particularly memorable in any way. I didn't like the humor and felt that it tried too hard to be funny, but humor is very subjective. The awkward timing of the text also didn't help; frequently I was busy doing gameplay things while text appeared in the background (I didn't even see the 'you can jump on enemies' until I'd already jumped past the platform), and I didn't read it until after the fact. Timing is crucial for humor.

Jan 4, 2016 @ 11:09pm

I feel like the snarky narrator was underused. The game did feel like it was trying to troll me with that final level.

But gameplay wise it was fun-- the final level hints towards something really fun, more of a puzzle game than a platformer. I liked it.

ChuiGum says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 11:13pm

Nice innovation, I like that you can't jump! Could definitely see this continued with more levels and music! Well done! c:

UncleChris says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 11:19pm

I also had box level issues - but overall it was rather fun, the graphics were good. I agree with needing some sounds.

Rex Peppers says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 11:27pm

Ack can't play windows games.

Alphish says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 11:29pm

Not the best entry out there, but it does provide a little fun for a while. Not much to say aside from that; graphics aren't particularly great, and audio is non-existent. ^^"

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]