Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

[JJJ] - Jolly Jail Jumper

by AwesomeAlliterationAlliance - Jam Entry

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

We decided to just use the 2-Button theme.
~~~
Such Plattformer, much Runnergame
Very 2-Button
~~~
Take control of Piotr "Sixfinger" Peter, an innocent inmate who tries
to flee punishment by continuosly changing clothes during prison riot.
~~~
Buttons in use:
Jump -> Spacebar (A or left trigger on Gamepad)
Switch -> Tabulator (B or right trigger on Gamepad)
Also full Gamepad support
~~~
Team:
Marian eF. - Code
Rage, LaLottey & LeDuz - Graphics+Animation
PopePAFF - LevelDesign
Bongo Mongo & Dark D - Sound
~~~
Have Fun!
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Soundtrack - https://soundcloud.com/stein-imbrett/sets/jjj-jolly-jail-jumper-ost-ludumdare-34
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Post-Mortem (Post-Jam):

Based on your (very much appreciated) feedback,
we decided to change a few things and
give the game a little bit more finetuning.

We made the first levels a bit more easy to play
but the Game is still very hard for some people.
We really like the difficulty, all levels are doable
if you put some time in them and we think they are worth the effort.

PS: Currently we think about making a playthrough on Youtube.
let us know your thoughts about this idea if you are interested.

Good luck and have fun. :)

Changelog:
-the movespeed is now 10% slower

-We added a settings menu where you can
adjust the screensize.

-A few levels now are a bit more easy
to play and we slightly adjusted the learning curve.
But for the hardcore players we added some bonus levels.
(You have to look closely after you reached the last level
To unlock those extra levels.)

Bugfixes:
-Inmates and wardens now cant walk thru doors
-you nomore can glitch out of the map
-You can play the game in different screensizes

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness81%
#6Fun(Jam)4.29
#10Overall(Jam)4.29
#34Graphics(Jam)4.60
#38Audio(Jam)4.12
#39Humor(Jam)4.00
#61Mood(Jam)4.05
#63Theme(Jam)4.27
#86Innovation(Jam)3.84

Comments

tedling says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:13am

Good looking, well designed and incredibly polished game for a LD entry (even for jam). I'm really impressed, gonna play some more ;-)

The one thing that you might look into is the rather steep learning curve. Maybe have some extra levels in between the introduction of new mechanics. But that's just a suggestion, no complaint ;-)

Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:26pm

Amazing game, some of the best art and animation I seen so far on the jam, I really liked the gameplay too. And like tedling said it's a pretty steep rise in difficulty, having a single mistake kill you in levels that big makes it too hard for me sadly.

Gipzo says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:27pm

Awesome game. Great art, interesting concept :)
I even played it on 1280x800 monitor with other hand on touchpad to scroll )

Headmade says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:28pm

Wow those cut scenes and animations are really impressive for a Ludud Dare game. I also lied the tutorial.
But the game was too hard for me. Also I didn't like that the orange dude didn't fight the blue dudes when they met (I guess it's guard and inmate?), even though they both attacked me when I was opposite colors.
Still a very good entry.

SpringCabal says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:55pm

I wish this was slower, it's too hard for me.
But otherwise a good entry

luke says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:28pm

it's a great game, but the speed need to be slower

Dec 18, 2015 @ 6:47pm

Solid game! The difficulty might be a bit too high as one mistake can set you all the way back. I still had a lot of fun and the mechanics are awesome.

I love the music, the animations, and it comes so naturally on a game pad. Good job!

ChaosCult says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 6:48pm

Very interesting gameplay!

wilbefast says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 3:50pm

Oh wow, nice job! Very pretty, polished and well balanced, with a nicely-tuned difficulty curve. Particular kudos for the tutorial: it does just about everything right in my opinion :)

Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:18pm

My favorite game yet. The animation, music, sound, and mechanics are all perfect. The level design is also great. It throws you right into the hard stuff, which I love.

Also, the detail in the backgrounds is awesome! The hanging spiders, the dejected guards... I think I saw a unicorn in a cloud somewhere, but I was too zoned in to the gameplay to be sure. It all really added to the feel.

I also love the fact that the main character has different running animation for both outfits.

6 stars out of 5, 11 points out of 10, awesome work.

Dovyski says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 6:27pm

Awesome work! The game is really funny and well polished. My favorite so far! :)

Dejvo says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 3:42pm

really well made.

ZpeedTube says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 3:43pm

Overall good and nice graphics and sound. :)
But way too hard, could almost not get true the tutorial levels. :P

scorched says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 3:59pm

Awesome start, but then it's very hard. The graphics and humour are outstanding!

PlasmaErnst says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 4:35pm

Top game! Very well executed. (played the post-version)

Calciumtrice says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 5:48pm

This is fantastically well put together Ludum Dare entry. The presentation from the animation to the music are really smooth and effective.

The game play idea of switching between outfits is cute and the hazards' colour coding is a simple and clear way to tell you when you need to be doing. Movement works really well too.

My only real criticism would be that the difficulty ramped up too quickly and the game might be benefited from checkpoints or maybe a slower speed difficulty (which it looks like you implemented in the post mortem version).

An excellent entry with a lot of character, you should be proud of yourselves. Well done!

Tapehead says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 5:53pm

this game is hard as hell but also AWESOME! great work! keep it up!

Dec 28, 2015 @ 12:14am

Best game I've played so far! The graphics were really nice, the feel was good, and the game flowed quickly, even on the event of failure.

Levels were really hard; level 1 felt harder than level 2, and the off colored corners on the last level made it practically impossible. I would absolutely love to see more of this.

bwatanabe says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 1:12am

Great graphics!!

GhostBomb says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 2:15am

Really fun! Managed to beat it. It would have been really easy to just give this an abstract art style and backdrop but I like the jail setting how the color switching mechanic is justified with costume swapping.

It would have been nice if you could change costumes while going through a door/gate.

Dreyan says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 7:09am

So, so impressed by this! Probably the most fun I've had with an LD game so far, and will definitely come back to this one later :D (have not yet finished playing all the levels - but I certainly plan to)

I adore the art, great job to everyone!

SaintHeiser says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 9:00am

зКУЕЕН

SaintHeiser says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 9:02am

Pretty atmosferic and fuuny game. Like the characters and animations. Game maechanic is simple but leveldesign isn't bad. game well drawn itself. Good job, man =)

Japes says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 10:43am

Perfect. What more could you ask for in a gamejam entry? Maybe more levels? This is a finished, polished game. Well done sirs. Loved the difficulty, it made me determined to stick it through to the end.

Warboys says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 4:54pm

Well this is wonderful, phenomenal job on animation and the level design is fiendish. I found the final tutorial stage to be really tough so on Level 1 I got completely destroyed (I kept dying when I got past the first part of the level, I don't know why I was dying).

Only gripes I have are the crazy difficulty curve, which probably could have been made less severe, and also the way that you often have to die a few times before you can complete a level because it's impossible to know when obstacles will appear without having been killed by them first. Also tab + space are strange controls in my opinion, I often got my head mixed up in particularly fast areas

Great stuff though, seriously. This is one of the best games I've played in any LD.

torcado194 says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 8:18am

wow this is really awesome! the art and animations are amazing for a ludum dare game or otherwise. there were some weird technical issues i had such as sound taking forever to play and lag, but otherwise very nice!

hyperscope says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 3:26am

Art, animation, sound all on point! Actually everything was on point! My only issue was I wasn't able to change colors after passing through a gate a fast as I would have liked. Which to me felt like it caused my death on occasion. All around good work team!

Mar 29, 2016 @ 12:55am

Nice graphics, well made game. I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/S5oK4fsls3Q

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]