Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Castle Hassle

by realbogart - Compo Entry

Controls:
Move around with the arrow keys

'Z' to drop/pickup items
'X' to use items

Goal:
Find the exit!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness90%
#276Mood3.28
#447Graphics3.16
#582Humor2.13
#609Audio2.28
#644Fun2.93
#648Overall3.05
#809Innovation2.52
#939Theme2.38

Comments

timsjostrand says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:50am

Really clever and spooky puzzle game!

Evannex says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:16am

Nicely done, and super challenging!

Fanttum says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:19am

I would love to play it if you can make a mac or web port :)

zesterer says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:10am

I'd have liked a Linux build... And this doesn't seem to be at all compatible with WINE (It crashes on startup). But the graphics look pretty neat from the screenshots. It looks like a roguelike and I like roguelikes.

Dooskington says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:12am

Interesting. I had a hard time figuring out how to defend myself, though.

FuzzyWuzzie says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:14am

It oddly reminded me of the old-school Wolfenstein games. I never got very far though as I was too slow to outrun anything and too shitty to dodge :(

ProgramGamer says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:35am

No music and had nothing to do with the theme of growth. At least you only had two "actions" (dropping items and using them) but then you still had the arrow keys so this doesn't really qualify for either theme. Almost enjoyable.

mackthehobbit says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:29pm

I would have loved more levels.

onilink_ says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:44pm

No 32 bit version? :/

manabreak says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:54pm

Awesome! I love the graphics style, so minimalistic which brings its own funny things (like carrying a huge-ass key over your head :D). Nice job overall, just could have used some music. :)

Pete_H says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:39pm

Loved the aesthetics, but couldn't work out how to defend myself :(

Akhera says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:31pm

The camera is way too slow. I have to either wait for it or die venturing into the unseen. Also, I'm not sure how it implements either of the themes.

Transmit says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:32pm

It was very interesting, but I don't really know how it relates to the theme? My one complaint would be the camera seems a bit too slow to follow you

eruiz00 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:09pm

Yeah more levels. Graphics simple but effective for a simple yet effective too concept.

napoleon says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:20pm

good game

pl0xz0rz says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:26pm

The gameplay is fun, but the game has nothing to do with the theme.

nunesbarbosa says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:34pm

Who am I? What do I have to do? Focus the camera on the center of the character. The deaths are too cheap because I can't see the enemy.

realbogart says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:58pm

@Akhera, @nunesbarbosa: The slow camera is a bug (it isn't dependent on the frame time and I had 1000+ fps while developing)

Will upload a fix

pavel_insight says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:00pm

Found a gun. It didn't help a lot. ) Very challenging, perhaps some balancing (or save/load option) would make gameplay more enjoyable. Visual style is nice.

pinion says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:51pm

I won! Walking diagonally and waiting on corners seemed to be the trick.

pluberski says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:01pm

Nice presentation!

Zeezgames says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:37pm

Nice little game , good puzzle type made me think and redo parts numerous times :)

Graphics - not bad but was glitchy especially when moving upwards and player animation seemed wrong when back to camera shoes purple part of one side?

overall i liked playing it

Well Done!

Elit3dGaming says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:46pm

Love the challenge, love the simplistic art style and is very fun to play

blohod says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:53am

A few graphical glitches and what about the theme?

mitya1234 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:38am

I've liked the graphics.

edriavw says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:09am

finally figuring out what to do, great game, need more levels

issa says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:40pm

Apparently I need a dll to run it.

blackbird806 says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:08pm

A very challenging game, the design of monsters and of the character is very good. Nice game =)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]