Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

GrowSeedPinball

by freaknarf - Compo Entry

Kirby/Sonic pinball trauma.
Left/ right key=Left/right flipper


About the ball not being round, for those who wonder, that was intentional :] I like to experiment, and it's... a Seed not a ball. Yep. So the game, is a Pinseed. If you feel physics are too weird, i would be pleased to read what you are thinking about it.

I changed a few lines at the last moment, so falling down from level 5 to 4 resulted on the seed being out of the room. You can press r to restart level or download a fixed version here (installer for now...):

http://www.mediafire.com/download/votx69p1k3iwy76/Growseedball_01__16_12_15.exe

the lines i've changed are in oControlEnd's Roomstart event :
//MODIF 15-12-15

if room=rTest03
with oBall {
if fallingDown{
phy_position_x=oHoleExtra.phy_position_x
phy_position_y=oHoleExtra.phy_position_y
}
}

I'll (try to) focus working on graphics and adding some missing game mechanics that were missing or planned...


Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness65%
#167Fun3.62
#237Audio3.18
#355Theme3.88
#389Humor2.56
#394Graphics3.26
#398Mood3.07
#456Overall3.26
#610Innovation2.94

Comments

onilink_ says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:40am

Very good game :p
Some physics problems, but the idea is very cool!

freaknarf says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:44pm

Thank you Oni !

MHaton says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:41pm

Reasonably fun, I do like the concept of a multi-tiered table :) Not exactly difficult though, had to attempt to actually lose, and the lack of being able to bump the table (because obviously, two button controls) means that you don't have as much control as regular pinball games. That said, it worked reasonably well within the constraints of the control scheme, I didn't get stuck outside the table at least!

Could perhaps do with a small start screen, it was a bit panic-inducing suddenly being thrown into it!

kaynank says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:12am

Having multiple levels is a nice twist on an existing formula.

pkenney says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:48am

Nice frantic game, I made it to the top and shot it into the bonus hole a few times. The weird shape of the ball made this play different and the jarring screenshake and sharp sound effects all kind of worked together as a style.

Nice work.

Phil Strahl says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:08pm

Instant reminiscence of Revenge of the Gator on GameBoy for me :) Very fun toying around with that bounce seed. Also nice graphics style and busy music. Good stuff!

pvwradtke says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:34pm

While the physics needs some work, the game is good looking, I liked the retro Gameboy palette. Sound was adequate, and controls responsive.

purrpurr says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:57pm

Had some physics issues here and there. But overall a very solid game. Did miss nudging though, given the layout on some screens. Evidently you had your reasons. Do have to add, there's something cute about that seed..

Optimus6128 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:46pm

That's a nice take on pinball. I never liked much pinball but here there are different screens, it was fun.

freaknarf says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:58pm

Thank you guys :] @MHaton : yes difficulty levelling is a bit rushed, I think it's hard to lose but also hard to win. (I tried about half an hour without reaching the boss nor losing the ball...) I'll try to fix it (hahahaha this usually a lie but who knows) when i'll add some game mechanics (that's what's planned)
@kaynank @Phil Strahl actually someone made me i discover Gator Pinball 2 hours before the deadline :] I played hours and hours and days and days to Kirby Pinball as a kid, si i think that's my true influence ; it seems to have some common points with Gator Pinball... I also really liked Sonic Pinball at the time, that had some more different mechanics...
@pvwradtke @purrpurr thank you ! ok,ok, i'll throw an eye on physics :]
@pkenney : Thank you ! I owe you a beer since last LD in order to thank you, i loved the great review you wrote my LD33 game :)

Big Cow says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:17pm

Brilliantly done. Reminded me of playing on the game boy. Im so glad you didnt make it too hard. So many pinball games you just lose your ball over and over and dont get the satisfaction of hitting things. Cute graphics and nice beebs and boops. Thanks!

DustyStylus says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:48pm

Very good! Collision detection a bit iffy, but maybe that's just me being rubbish at playing it. :D

Trasevol_Dog says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:23pm

OMG PLEASE DON'T MAKE ME TOUCH YOUR HOLES AGAIN!!!
Seriously, physics are ok, but them hitboxes are eeeeeeeeviiiil!! Otherwise, the game has that lovely gameboy feel we all love so much and with sound yes please! The idea of changing screens mixed with flipper is really cool. I just wish you didn't put your hole there... Or you made it tighter. So I couldn't slip in it. Then maybe I could have actually seen the boss... But yea great game!!

Also, make a main menu next time!

radmars says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 2:43am

Nice! This is really fun. Great gamefeel with the screenshake & sound effects. Good work! :D

ohmaigawd says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 7:07pm

Kinda laggy, but overall good idea!

gillenew says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 9:20pm

I enjoyed the game :D
by coincidence also made a pinball

bob_fish says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 11:44am

Fun pinball game, pretty cool how it had multiple levels. Could do with a menu. Good work!

Anti says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 2:22pm

Very enjoyable game. Had some problems with the physics but a very cool idea. Very hard and rewarding.

DarkGrisen says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 2:46pm

Cool game and the graphics are awesome but super simple!
I think the black holes are really annoying :P

tantumgames says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 4:27pm

Very good pinball, I really liked it, the spirit of the old school and it naabitie points very happy. Thanks for the game. Good job.

jachepe says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 7:41pm

I love the graphic style. Although has some bugs with collisions, it's a solid game and enjoy it!

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 9:04pm

Nice take on an age old game, wasn't to keen on the physics. I still had fun though.

psychomonster says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 11:24am

+1 theme :D I like pinball... spended a lot of money for this tables in my childhood :D There are some gameplay polishings things you should do... but you made a good job.

faxanidu says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 9:06pm

" You do not have access to this repository "

freaknarf says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 2:57pm

@gillenew @ohmaigawd : Thank you !

@radmars : Thanks ! On what device did you play ? I did not notice lags for now, maybe i abused the "sleep" function...

@bob_fish @Trasevol_Dog :Thank you guys, i'll add a menu i swear :x Also Trasevol_Dog your comments are kinda weird out of context :)

@tantumgames @Big Cow : Thank YOU guys ! That may be the first time someone thank me for making a game ;) It made my days.Thank you for playing and commenting, thank you for thanking me, thank you for such support ! :p

@jachepe @DarkGrisen: Thank you ! I hope i'll be able to add art once i have a great level design done, i have some little drafts that i can't wait to integer !

@Hot Box Games @Anti @DustyStylus: Thanks ! I tried to work a bit on physics. Also not having a round shape for the seed wasn't a good idea, let's call this an experiment :)

@psychomonster : Thanks ! I'll try to polishing it step by step, this was very raw at first, but i managed to have some clear parts in the source so i'm not demotivated to go on :)

@faxanidu : fixed :x

AtkinsSJ says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 9:16pm

I like it! It's a little rough, but I still had fun playing it. One suggestion I'd make is to slow down the animation on the mushrooms - they animate so quickly that they're a bit blurry. I think the idea of multiple tiers of table is great as it lets you recover from mistakes. Good job!

srakowski says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 1:54am

Nice take on pinball, I really like how the ball passes through levels. Well done!

faxanidu says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 11:32pm

LOl i play this so much on my itch XD and thanks for the fix :D

Jan 2, 2016 @ 11:02am

Enjoyed playing this and definitely took me back to the old gameboy days of playing the pinball gator game as others have mentioned. Had completely forgotten about it so was a nice reminder. Liked that you changed it up from normal pinball with the shape of a seed. Thought that added a twist on the mechanic. Think menu would really help but as I know well, it's always easy to run out of time and not finish everything you want. Also liked seeing a different type of game for another Ludum Dare :)

StaNov says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 7:34pm

I liked the grayscale graphics :) And reminded me of pinball on Windows XP!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]