Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Bitrun

by Devark - Compo Entry

Bitrun is a simple but addictive endless runner that'll test your gaming skills and dexterity!

- RUN as far as you can!
- DASH from lane to lane!
- COLLECT Bitgold!
- POWERUP with the four powerups!
- ACHIEVE highscores!

CONTROLS:
Keyboard (recommended for PC users)
- <Up> and <Down> to move through lanes
OR
Mouse:
- <Left Click> upper or lower half of screen to move through lanes

- <F> Toggle fullscreen

Made in GM:S with sounds created through Chiptone.

UPDATES (please read, the main issues in the compo version are fixed in the post-compo!)

Update 1 (17/12/15):
Bitrun has been updated! New features include:

– Gameplay balances due to feedback: the game now speeds up slower and has a lower maximum speed
– Local highscores and bitgold are saved
– Bitrun now successfully runs on iOS! (if you have the Game Maker: Studio iPhone export, you can play it on your devices, else just wait until I *hopefully* release it on the Appstore)
– More pattern variation
– Added the snail skin
– Added the Bitshop with it’s first item: the 500m booster!
– Minor graphical updates
– MORE SCREENSHAKE!
– Fixed a graphical glitch where some surfaces wouldn’t refresh upon switching to fullscreen

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#95Graphics4.06
#211Fun3.55
#271Audio3.10
#283Humor2.80
#292Overall3.48
#416Mood3.05
#554Theme3.64
#773Innovation2.61

Comments

oxysoft says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:42am

very efficient and cute pixel art. the game suddenly gets a lot harder past a certain point

Kortuga says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:30am

OOOOOoooOoo, those sounds were nice and bass-y...

brandloose says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:33am

Really like the art, this seemed like a something I would download with my friends like piano tiles. Great game!

Modoc73 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:33am

Awesome work with the art, animation and effects. Game seemed to speed up too fast. But excellent job.

Jordan says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:37am

Cute pixel art. I love "rage" type games like this, good job!

trueboolean says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:37am

Very addictive! Definitely consider porting this to IOS if you get the chance!

mackthehobbit says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:52am

Love the art, and it's pretty fun! There might be post-LD potential if you wanted to port it to a mobile platform (think about it: online high scores, skins buyable with bitgold, IAP for coins...).

NirabazGAMES says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:56pm

PIXELS its amazing)

Lukbebalduke says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:01am

Yeah, very smooth gameplay and cool sound effects, everything was really polished. Nice entry!

refreshgames says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:02am

A simple, but fun game, executed well with power ups, lovely sound effects. I'd have liked my high score to be saved but, yeah, it's a nice lil game :)

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:53am

really good game - simple and fun - great work

Elit3dGaming says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:25pm

As it gets faster it becomes extremely hard on the PC however, this would be a really nice mobile game. I love the simplicity of it and I really enjoy the graphics and sounds. Nice game :)

Tackwin says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:30pm

Great game, nice pixel art and sound. It get harder really quick =)

rzuf says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:39pm

Cute! But the difficulty curve is steeeep! Nice pixel art and sound effects but it badly needs some frantic chiptune music. :D

Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:27pm

Very cute, well made game! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/rvwkTXA2Y10

fluidvolt says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:38am

Stripped-down fun! Kept trying to go farther each time, though I never made it into the 300s. The magnet powerup's my fav, slinging coins towards me. The art really stands out -- love those sleek and chunky pixels :). With the addition of some funky music you'd really seal the deal. Good work.

careless says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:59am

Simple but fun, love the pixel art and nice sounds to go with it.

Some nice powerups, the magnet is very cool.

Great entry

Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:06am

Really cool but starts to slow in my opinion

Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:41am

Overall very fun, and a thoughtful use of two buttons! I'd have likes more audio, but the gameplay more than made up for it!

MAGNET POWERUP FTW!

behzad_robot says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:22am

very gooood !

Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:27am

nice game, was good fun!

bwatanabe says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:30am

Nice and elegantly simple.

shadow64 says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:32am

Very simple. Very fun. It fits the theme and it gets the job done. What more can you ask for? It's definitely an addictive game that kept me coming back multiple times to try to improve. I love the idea of the shield and the controls were very tight which was great. Cool that you ported it to iOS. That seems like a great platform. Congrats on finishing and thanks for sharing!

AndreasL says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:34am

Pretty nice!
Cute graphics!
Some thoughts: An indicator showing you your personal best would've motivated me to try harder.
It was also annoying how I had to press the up/down button each time I wanted to move. You should've been able to hold the button to keep moving through the lanes.
It was also annoying how I couldn't use the home/restart button on a keyboard.

Good job!

CremaGames says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:43am

Very nice! You should make a mobile version

Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:48am

really polished and smooth. awesome work :D

Luxorix says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:03am

Good!

sgolden says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:11am

The sounds are very satisfying. The design is simple, but very enjoyable. Looking forward to post-compo updates.

Bogden says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:29am

Hmmm, the Windows link seems to be leading to the post-compo version for me. Bug? Neat game though!

Trasevol_Dog says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:51am

Nice entry! Cool art style but I wish there was more of it :3 I'm happy you're working more on it!

Astro Cat says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:02am

Excellent!

pjimmy says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:40am

cute game, lovely visuals, simple but entertaining, well done :)

martim00 says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:50am

Nice game! Could be ported to mobile.

felixreeve says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:19pm

Enjoyed watching your updates and the game seems like a great fit for phones!

ohmaigawd says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:41pm

Cool, you get a kinda addicted after a while.

Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:46pm

Nice pixel graphics and sounds, it felt like a complete game. I was terrible at it though!

Astro Cat says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:21pm

Nice pugs!

Baransu says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:20pm

Amazing pixel art :)

dx0ne says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:22pm

Simple and nice but obstacle placement could be more freaking forgiving!@

sputnik says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:06pm

Simple and effective game. Well done!

IAmSpencer says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 6:06am

game ramps up in difficulty pretty fast, and sometimes I feel like the arrow keys aren't being registered, but I did still have fun playing!

cute art, simple idea, fun concept, nice job! :)

VitasaMode says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:43am

Nice complete game. I did discover a glitch of the dog duplicating itself when I hit replay.

Devark says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:20am

Thank you all so much for the feedback! Pretty much all of the issues you guys have pointed out have been addressed in the post-compo version. Please do check it out! I'm currently working on adding more features to the game so watch out for more updates to come!

nunesbarbosa says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 3:11am

Missed the theme there.. was it growth or two btn?
What are the B's for and why should I risk collecting it?

Regardless of my bragging the game is really fun and should be awesome on mobile. Looking forward to see this come!

Dec 19, 2015 @ 7:25am

Really polished game. Has nice sound effects. Cute little sprites. Addictive gameplay.

Drauthius says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 12:25am

Got rekt, indeed. The power-ups were nice.

crucknuk says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 10:37am

Nice entry! It is a well executed runner! Good job ;)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]