Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Moss Covers Everything

by 23 - Compo Entry

As an intelligent ball of moss, work your way through the dungeon!

This is complete with a title screen and ending, but it has no sound and is pretty short. It should run in all major desktop web browsers - it probably runs on mobile too but there's no way to send input.

On US keyboards, use Z and X; on other layouts (like AZERTY) you may need to use N and M.

Gameplay is explained in-game too, but in case you're having trouble: the main character is an intelligent moss ball who constantly moves forward. You turn left and right with the two buttons, and your objective is to cover the crystal you don't start by in moss. Besides squares you move over, any time you make a square of moss the inside will also be filled with moss. By catching enemies in moss this way you can deactivate them, making them harmless and pushable.

Pushing deactivated skulls into bugs will destroy the bugs.

This game was made with Pico-8 from Lexaloffle.

There are some movement bugs unfortunately :/ I am looking into a fix but for now I can't quite trigger them reliably.

Hope you enjoy!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#194Graphics3.71
#233Theme4.00
#271Innovation3.48
#302Mood3.24
#559Overall3.14
#586Fun3.00
#1727Coolness40%

Comments

Optimus6128 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:57pm

Nice idea. I felt kinda small delay on the controls but overall plays well.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:16pm

This is pretty neat. I feel you could have more to use/signal the moss surrounding mechanics, maybe less enemies and more puzzle pieces?

David Cookie says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:22am

Pretty solid overall! It really lacks just audio in my opinion! Well made :)

karlipoppins says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 3:28am

This was a really cool idea. Loved the pixel art, just wished there was a 3rd key to turn right... but then again I wouldn't put 5 stars in theme lol. Great job, love the grahpics. Missing some music!!

ElliotFiske says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 7:42am

Neat little game! The controls are a tiny bit sluggish and tricky at the beginning, but you get used to them.

I did end up sort of just bum-rushing the exit for each of the levels though, maybe you could put something in to discourage that.

bessdlan says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 8:08am

interesting concept ^^ good job ;)

Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:57am

Overall a great little game, I just struggled with the control scheme which may it somewhat less fun to play.

nunesbarbosa says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 11:46am

Nice idea for the game! Simple graphics are the best and you nailed on two themes in one.

I got stuck on the 3rd level because I missed the tutorial on how to kill the bug.

Dec 21, 2015 @ 4:36am

Cool game

adsilcott says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 2:20pm

I thought it was going to be a snake game, but it's more interesting than that. Clever, and a good use of the theme!

SK16 Games says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 2:55pm

Pretty decent game overall. There could be more variation though. But really cool and nice graphics! :)

NirabazGAMES says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 12:55am

awesome! It's a huge work for three days!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]