Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Sprout

by mahalis - Compo Entry

You are the tiny, frail beginnings of a plant

You have strength to begin with, but it will fade

Feed yourself, reach the surface, and thrive

---

Third Ludum Dare entry and my most severely time-constrained one yet—this was kind of an effort in coming up with the smallest possible fun thing and then just polishing the hell out of it. I think it turned out all right—hope you agree!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness59%
#15Theme4.45
#61Overall3.94
#66Mood3.83
#93Audio3.68
#120Graphics3.94
#143Fun3.65
#478Innovation3.16

Comments

Jstank says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:36am

I could probably play this game all night it is so addictive. It incorporates growing and two buttons. It has a lot of polish and its FREAKIN CUTE! The music is great. BRAVO! This is for sure a front runner for best game!

Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:59am

Cute little game, a bit hard to control though. Still, good work!

RiOrius says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 4:06am

Cute and fun. Pretty similar to other worms-y games, but very well done!

srakowski says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 4:21am

Darn! One wrong move and I miss the... purple... apples? Good idea, polished, difficult. Well done!

awesomerex says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 5:43am

Great Game. Growing and 2 buttons nice job! I liked how the difficulty ramped up as the levels go on.

Neonlare says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 11:22am

Top notch presentation, music is great, definitely got a ton of polish, doesn't innovate a whole lot (it's Snake), but damn if the tune ups aren't impressive! Good stuff!

miwuc says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 11:28am

Awesome game! Love the concept. Simple and elegant, just the right difficulty level. Clean graphics, used both themes perfectly. Solid entry!

alliel_a says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 11:39am

nice game

Dec 25, 2015 @ 1:31pm

I found the idea quite funny, but the game turned out to be too difficult and not enough interaction at the same time. Circles are maybe too stiff, ovals or less regular shapes that would also change from time to time might be better.

Hackbug says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 1:33pm

Cool game :)

dmecke says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 4:34pm

You really feel the level of polishing in the game, very good job!

stefenism says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 5:55pm

I had a bit of trouble figuring out the goal of the game...but I like this game a bunch...it should be on phones everywhere.

BloodJohn says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 6:36pm

beatiful

Paco says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 6:42pm

I love this little things ^^

Dec 25, 2015 @ 7:41pm

wow this is really neat... I truly couldn't stop playing :D I recon that with a little more variation and interest, this game would be very fun and worth full release.

redmassacre says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 9:05pm

very addictive... make it in mobile - be the rich)

candlesan says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 7:31am

Lots of fun! :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]