Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Digicross

by 5you - Compo Entry

Digicross (for lack of a better name) is a action picross game in wich you are urged to unravel the pixel art withing the time you got left. Don't go away, there is no math to do ! Just control your dot with the 2 buttons and act quickly...

Many modes availiable:
-solo mode
-multiplayer mode
-coop mode

The multiplayer mode is a duel mode so it's my favourite!
Every explanation you need is in the game, in the 'how to play' section.


Hope you will engoy this genuine compo, have fun!


*** Important ***
* Post compo version with sounds, memory leak contained, new ant system, light effects and few other twicks!
--> https://www.dropbox.com/s/e8zj6w8kzzuuh6q/Digicross%201.1.exe?dl=0

* I really thought it would be clearer how the tiles reveal. They have to be activated from all 4 directions, whether if it's directly or not. That it why you can circle a hole bunch and activate them at the same time.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness60%
#338Theme3.90
#364Graphics3.32
#402Innovation3.27
#670Overall3.02
#674Fun2.88
#763Mood2.51

Comments

5you says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:45am

Did this in time, hope to recieve a few comments before the end of the submission so I can improve this a bit!

Thanks for playing. (well, if you do)

Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:01am

The controls took a minute to get half comfortble with and it could use some sound, but overwall I liked it and the golden tile reveal was rather nice looking.

ps. ALL ANTS MUST DIE!

ThaRemo says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:36am

The controls are a little hard to get used to, but the game looks quite nice! Adding some music would improve the mood a little, but besides that it's quite fun.

Taffaz says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:37am

Those ants were annoying, destroying my hard work! Good game, well made but I agree with deadpixelsociety that sound would add to the experience.

George says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:39am

Interesting game! I was a bit confuse at the start, even after reading the how-to, but got it in the end. Solid use of the theme

5you says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:59am

Controls were easier when I started to make the game:
up/down/left/right

And then I remembered the theme... so it controls like the antique Snake.

Yep! Sound would have been great, but I didn't have the time. Beside most games here ended up having sound/music more anoying than anything. This was the case for my LD31 game.

http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-31/?action=preview&uid=46758

Ithildin says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:25pm

Ants ate my screen T_T

Very cool idea! It took me some time to grasp the controls, but when you do the game is really fun. And graphics are really nice as well.

I'm missing some sound effects when you reveal a tile, I'm sure it would feel pretty rewarding.

Great job! :)

5you says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:51pm

Anyone tried multi/coop ?

Well... if you are REALLY hardcore, you can try against/with yourself!

vidarn says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:11pm

Great game! I never thought picross could be this intense ;)
Really nice graphics, I love how well animated everything is. I will try playing it with some friends later, the multiplayer modes seem fun.

Ybalrid says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:12pm

What the ants are doing? I don't understand xD

The 2 buttons controlls makes it quite hard.

cimbaman says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:02pm

Really liked the fact that you don't know what you have to make at the beginning of the level.
No problem with the controls.
Because I'm BATMAN!

ZpeedTube says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:11pm

Nice game. Theme fit's good whit the game. But maybe a little bit hard control. But overall a great job! :)

J-Nat says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:10pm

Nice game ! An input buffer can give the game a boost in playability. Just record the last pressed key and apply in when entering a new frame. I often miss a tile due to a timing error (since the tiles are big and the snake moves in a continuous manner on a discrete grid)

5you says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:33pm

I know what you mean (i think) and there is such a thing. Basically you can press the key whenever you want and it will turn on the next tile.

The previous version of that is that you could keep the key pressed (you didn't had to press it again to make a U turn) but the game is so quick you ended up making U turns without wanting to. It felt more natural but was unplayable because to fast.

I could have made the "snake" slower but it would have been boring.

DustyStylus says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:54pm

Very cool! Nice graphics. Windows, but runs fine on WINE in Mac OSX. :)

Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:45am

Those ants are the bane of my existence. You can actually continue playing even after the time runs out, just kill all the ants and finish the level. The "game over" text will be there but on the plus side there will be no more ants :P.

Jimbly says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:09am

Pretty fun!

dvdfu says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:41am

Nice idea! It was a little hard to tell what I needed to draw over, but it's pretty fun.

dalbinblue says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:33pm

Neat! I love picross, and thought this was pretty cool as well. I noticed there was a way to flip a row tiles gold all at once, but I couldn't figure out specifically how to trigger it when I wanted. I thought it would be something like othello, and the gold would be flipped if crossover a path that I had already marked the other end but it didn't seem to work that way.

Additionally, I found an interesting bug. When you lose, and all the ants appear, you are still in control. Additionally, no further ants spawn. As a result, you can clear the ants and then just continue playing as normal. The game will happily jump to the next level. I am 100% not ashamed to say that I solved the game with a negative -247 seconds this way.

5you says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:55pm

lol ! I was wondering if anybody would find this "cheat", left it on purpose for people who like to break games. But having a negative score and how you have to bear with the ants makes it less satisfying way to finish the game.

5you says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:57pm

I really thought it would be clearer how the tiles reveal. They have to be activated from all 4 directions, whether if it's directly or not. That it why you can circle a hole bunch and activate them at the same time.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:21pm

Really neat game! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/p3nh2TkdCXs

HolyBlackCat says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:36pm

I like the idea! Once you understand how it works, it becomes an interesting game.

The only thing I would add is some more difference between the levels.

By the way, in comments to my game you said that you stuck on a level. Recently I made a walkthrough, because want people to see my entire game, not only a first levels. Check it out if you want.

5you says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:44pm

Oh I knew I was doing it wrong! Good idea to make a png walkthrough.

Gins says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:04pm

That's a pretty cool idea, but I think it's hindered by the two button controls a lot. I constantly wanted to control it like "snake". If you expand on this in the future, just make 4-directional controls :)

paruthidotexe says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:15am

Nice use of theme and art looks good...

bitdecaygames says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 4:39pm

Im not sure I ever fully figured out how to understand out what I was working toward, just moved in the direction of the shadows until something started turning yellow. At first I thought I was playing a snake clone.

Jeasonfire says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 6:37pm

Sounds would probably be nice. The controls are (though understandable) very weird and at times, frustrating. The graphics were great and the idea is pretty good.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]