Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Oslo's Puppy

by OttersDen - Jam Entry

Oslo has a new pet and he is growing troublesome around the village! Even the farm animals are angry. Protect your little pet for as long as you can!

===============

Two button controls:
Use the left OR right key to move about.
Press the left AND right keys to attack in the direction you are facing.

===============

Second LD Jam entry as a team! We aimed to satisfy both themes. Seems we overextended a little and ran out of time at the end. We didn't get to clean up, polish and add sounds. Still, we hope you enjoy. Tell us what your final score was! Also, here's a protip: Be efficient with your attacks.

Fun fact, Oslo's pet has a name and it is Grug.

Update: For anyone having input issues, walk the direction you want to shoot and then press the other key. Thanks to fpwong for the pointer!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#87Theme(Jam)4.21
#262Fun(Jam)3.48
#286Graphics(Jam)3.86
#287Humor(Jam)3.08
#336Innovation(Jam)3.38
#384Overall(Jam)3.45
#385Mood(Jam)3.37
#418Audio(Jam)3.19

Comments

Sammuurraaaii says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:13am

Little Charmander becomes Charizard, I like it. A little hard to tell who's health was what but I got what was mana right away. Good job guys.

WitchLake says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:32pm

Its sometimes hard to shot without changing directions but i had fun making that little monster grow!!

TomenLuca says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:00am

The game looks great and it is a lot of fun to make your 'puppy' grow. But it can be really difficult to shoot to the right side of the screen.

ninjascript says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:00am

I like the game but hitting both buttons can be a little tough to do without flipping around. Excellent try though!

fpwong says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:05am

That ain't no puppy. For anyone having input issues, walk the direction you want to shoot and then press the other key.

OwT says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:48am

I was very sad when they first ate my frog, it was kind of hard to shoot in right direction and my mana went down so fast... But my frog grown up to a nice dragon, good job!

OttersDen says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:49am

@fpwong, yes! That makes things way easier. It wasn't until after the jam was over that we noticed some people had a hard time picking up on that. A lesson learned for the next LD!

Diventurer says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:14pm

Very nice graphics! Fun game :) The controls are honestly not that optimal though.

oparisy says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:43pm

Hey, that was fun! Liked the gameplay idea of the growing ally, which helps you more at the end that you do. The music what niceluy out of touch with the action, adding to the atmosphere.

Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:26am

Was a nice calm yet challenging game :) I really enjoyed it.

bessdlan says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:32am

funny game ^^

thelasthour says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:46am

Wow. What an awesome game! The graphics and music are both great and the gameplay is near perfect. The pet starts out so cute and gets so mean looking. haha. I liked how used the camera zoom out to emphasize the pet getting bigger. I did a similar thing in my game. This is one of the best games I've played so far. 5 stars!

Dreyan says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:48am

I really like the ideas going on here, but I really don't care for the controls. (even with the holding down one, then pressing the other to shoot in the proper direction). I did feel as if mana was a bit too difficult to manage, even when I felt like I was being conservative it seemed to drain a bit too quickly (or regen a bit too slowly).

Aside from that, the graphics are adorable and fit perfectly and the music fit the mood of the game, was never too intrusive, and enjoyed listening to it the entire time ^^ Really liked playing this one.

WolfkingW says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:51am

"Oh hey, a chicken. OH GOD IT'S EATING HIM." *foom*

Anyways, awesome game! I love the smooth graphical style. Like many others have said, the two-button controls are a little bit strange, but I was able to figure out how they work.

Great job. :D

Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:46am

really nice growing theme, and really clean graphics, I like it!

Pixel Pub says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:22pm

The grafics are very nice, but I have problems to shot.

PeachTreeOath says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 4:27am

Good take on the feeding game genre, definitely matches the theme well.

Dec 22, 2015 @ 3:27am

Love the game! Very cute and simple game. I don't know why, but I didn't think the music was quite fitting for this game. But I like the graphics and I thought the concept for this game was fantastic!

someone says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 6:09pm

Very nice

ohmmus says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 6:23pm

I got the hang of the controls, but mana seemed to run out regardless. I really liked it overall: great audio, graphics, use of both themes, and mostly solid gameplay!

RovingSquid says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 9:08pm

The controls are a little sticky, but over all a fun game. Love the artwork!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]