Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Super Space HexaGUN

by pk - Jam Entry

​A Hexagonal battleship seed have found its way into Arrow-controlled space!
Take control of it and show those pointy-minded fools the power of tiling and grow yourself into a proper warship!

See the tutorial image above for basic instructions, read below for more tips.

Think this game is worth developing to something more than a jam entry? Vote on greenlight:
http://steamcommunity.com/sharedfiles/filedetails/?id=576027553


WebGL version coming if can create a working one, the current attempt crashes the tab.
Mac version never coming as Unity seems to no longer have build options for this(?)


USEFUL GAMEPLAY HINTS(added based on comments below)
*If you dislike the gun sound there's a slider in the escape-menu where you can change the volume.
*"Reaction wheels" are used to rotate spacecrafts.
*"Heat sinks" get rid of waste heat. "Weapons" generate waste heat.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#161Fun(Jam)3.65
#175Innovation(Jam)3.63
#207Audio(Jam)3.57
#212Mood(Jam)3.62
#231Overall(Jam)3.63
#335Theme(Jam)3.87
#474Graphics(Jam)3.54
#1611Coolness44%

Comments

Reggianito says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:43pm

After figuring everything out, it was pretty fun. A tutorial would have been helpful.

The style and graphics are cool. The music is nice but the machine gun sound is annoying.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:11pm

i like the idea. it reminded me a bit of Spore. That said I would have expected some bigger enemies and definitely a lot more of them. and it definitely needs better instructions. you obviously put a lot of thought into all these ship systems so make the player understand them instead of having to rotate his ship for a minute to change directions becadin'T figure out what to build. ;)

thiagoferraro says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:11pm

Nice entry!

jomomomo says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:04pm

Can't play windows games.

Dohxis says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:23pm

Simply love this game. I think it's an awesome and very original idea in my opinion! A little hard to figure out, but possible! Great job!

Gipzo says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:24pm

Great concept. I really enjoyed it, even thou it stoped generating fleets after the second one.

pk says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:43pm

Found a game breaking bug(that I thought I fixed already). If you fail to clear a fleet in time only one additional fleet spawns and that's it.

I assume this is why GoodwolfStudio complained about so few and small enemies, because lots of fleets should keep spawning and you should face more and more and bigger(though not more diverse) enemies.

I'm uploading a new version with this fixed right now so please make sure you end up getting the 1.02 version.

Zulgot says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:37pm

Very fun game and pretty graphics :)

Rodaja says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:10pm

Controlling the battleship feels really slow, but other than that, good game. Keep working on it!

the-arrival says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:17pm

Nice... i had a similar idea, while brainstorming ideas. Nice that someone has made it and actually THAT well executed. The only bummer were the controls, since the directions were relative to the ships orientation and not to the screenspace.

kaotiklabs says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:07am

Great game. Very well done.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:19am

This is great, other than the slow and weak enemies. The whole game feels like waiting. A little more time tweaking values may have helped.

Alloyed says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:32am

+ the fact that most of your stats are visually represented in your ship feels like a great bit of show-don't-tell.
- I don't like getting shot offscreen, and
- I don't like shooting things offscreen based on a magical rader dot. both of these make combat feel super impersonal and uninteresting, and are both relatively easy to fix by limiting the weapon's range and increasing bullet size. You still effectively convey long-range battle in this sort of situation by making slow moving ships with "zoomed-out" sprites and keep the same effective range

MintArcade says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 7:43pm

Cool game, like the visuals.

klianc09 says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 10:10pm

Really awesome game to build and customize your spaceship. It's really cool that every stat was customizable. I was feeling like unstoppable when I unexpectedly got destroyed by an enemy fleet, I probably should have investetd in some armor, but it's really hard to judge the enemies strength and their damage output.

Also flying to enemy fleets thousends of "units" away for half a minute is rather ... uninteresting. Had to buy tons of engines just for that.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]