Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Continental Breakfast

by Brightstar - Jam Entry

Space Sim

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness68%
#229Humor(Jam)3.25
#720Audio(Jam)1.60
#912Mood(Jam)2.52
#994Innovation(Jam)2.20
#1005Graphics(Jam)2.00
#1033Fun(Jam)2.31
#1068Overall(Jam)2.49
#1086Theme(Jam)2.17

Comments

Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:22pm

It was a fun small game. I love all the setting. The only downside I can see is the lack of content. Other than that I like the game.

Omiya Games says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 12:31am

I can't seem to find the perfect herald. Hmm...

randomhuman says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 1:14pm

Pretty funny idea, but not much to the gameplay. The menu system is more involved than the game! I'd like to help this guy yum up the whole universe though, he's awesome.

dreamlogician says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 3:01pm

I really enjoyed the writing! It made me laugh, it made me cry, and it made me hungry.

Mach60KAS says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 12:23am

I think "continental" is a bit of an understatement.

simon.parzer says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 8:17am

Nice game. It would be more awesome if it was a bit longer

Smirnov48 says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 9:18am

Nice game. Funny :)

StaNov says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 3:03pm

I'm kinda confused :D I've played it for three times, each time different choices, but the result was still "not bad, but can be better".

Nice storytelling :)

Kerdelos says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 7:18pm

I love the concept but it seems to be a bit short.

RHY3756547 says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 8:02pm

Kinda funny, would have been better if there were more content. Not really getting the theme here tho. :(

drinkadriu says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 10:02pm

Okay its not bad

Markus Brand says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 10:12pm

thats a silly stupid 3-seconds-game, but the funny kind of stupid :D

cool :)

Jan 4, 2016 @ 4:34pm

As people above have said, I couldn't seem to get any better than "not bad". I'm also a little confused as to how it relates to the themes, but it's an interesting idea anyway.

kardfogu says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 9:59pm

Well, whatever it was, it was hungry!
Keep up the good work!

- Kardfogú

astrophics says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 10:33pm

Very good game description. Also, continental doesn't really describe the game well. More like galactic

mr. a says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 11:29pm

In approximately three minutes I have softly chuckled, thought a little bit, and witnessed a complete game. I am satisfied.

Dalkor says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 1:40am

Hmmm, as a perfectionist this game... this game is... unsettling. :|

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]