Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Personal Valley

by Backterria - Compo Entry

Expose yourself in a micro habitat

//It's like an Arcade Simulation.

//Controls
Keyboard / Gamepad / Mouse

//Both themes
//Made in Gamemaker Studio in 20 hours (+10 post compo)

*Cause of getting late to the party, compo version is UNBEATABLE.
To get the full experience play the POST COMPO with gamepad.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Graphics4.68
#23Audio4.08
#36Mood4.03
#313Overall3.45
#525Innovation3.10
#586Theme3.60
#601Humor2.08
#836Fun2.56
#2311Coolness14%

Comments

Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:18am

Nice graphics and ambience.

Akhera says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:51pm

The controls are atrociously tedious for the sake of fitting the theme. I don't think that's the way things should be done. However, the art style and music are magnificent.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:45pm

The controls are a bit overwhelming. Other than that I really enjoyed everything else!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:30am

Great graphics and sound, loved the atmosphere. Controls were a little stange and the smash/zap abilities weren't explained/used. But it's still a very good job.

anael says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:18pm

I was waiting for you game, the style and the mood are incredible, very good art. Awesome work.

ps: The controls didn't work for me, I think it would have been more fun if the beetle always moved forward, and the player could only turn smoothly. Pressing the two buttons at the same time could slow the beetle down.

commodoreKid says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:03pm

Very good graphics. I think gameplay is a little repetitive. Controls get a little boring after a while. I wished I had a normal controls over this character. But I know it was for 2-buttons. Good job.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:30pm

Interesting control scheme, maybe too complex for two buttons. I like the graphics & audio. Took me a while to figure out what I was and what I was supposed to be doing but that could just be me. xD

Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:44pm

Love it!

Spyboy says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:49pm

How to raise your APM

rogberth says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:58pm

Sad to see that the controls killed the game... but you did a great job there with everything else.

Zetym says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:59pm

Really nice graphics and amazing how much content you managed to create.
The controls quickly became very tedious though, and the flashing of the building while inside was hurtful to look at, it would probably be better to leave it at the white/inside sprite instead.

fractalbear says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:13pm

The visuals and the sound are amazing, so beautiful. Would love to play it with normal controls but still awesome game!

sleepYxy says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:19pm

Nice graphics and choice of color, it looks super crisp. Also the sound really fits the mood.

The only downside in my opinion are the controls, it is not very intuitive and feels forced to fit the theme.
But overall it is a great piece of art!

Tyler says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:50pm

Wonderful graphics and audio, but the gameplay was just a slog to try getting through with the controls. I loved the feel of the game, though, and it has the best mood I've seen yet!

loxo says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:54pm

Great graphics and nice audio. I like the idea of the game very much. It's great to be able to explore the game and to figure out what to do. Sadly the game is tiresome to control.

Rodaja says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:09pm

Good looking, atmospheric game. Controls feel a bit weird, seems to be stretched to play by the theme, but nice puzzle game in general.

nelskj says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:11pm

I really enjoyed the music and like the graphisms, but the 2 button gameplay ewh !

propter_ludus says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:08am

This one really struck me. I love the ambiance and the small world that you created here.
I agree that the controls were somewhat tedious, but I think they were still well implemented.
Very good job!
One of the jam highlights for me.

ChuiGum says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:28am

Loved the graphics!

Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:47am

The atmosphere and graphics were fantastic.

broknecho says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:27am

Pretty stellar Art as usually! Mood and atmosphere is pretty awesome. I don't think the two button controls really do this justice.

Nice job overall!

aamatniekss says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:24am

Really nice game, Backterria! The art and atmosphere is super good!

ajmalr says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:10pm

Cool game! I love the pixel art graphics, it's got a great mood. But I'm not a big fan of the controls.

the-arrival says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:44pm

I totally love the mood!

Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:50pm

Great art and audio. Cool idea. Frustrating controls.

alpha_rat says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:07pm

Great atmosphere, which led me to keep going despite the very tedious controls. I like the idea and the way you adapted to the "two button controls" theme, but I think it would gain to be easier to use, for example by allowing to scroll trough actions and moving directions with the mouse wheel, because otherwise I believe it will turn a lot of people away from continuing to play

wine says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:52pm

Good visual style\design and great atmosphere! It reminds me Vangers in a good sense :) Concept of controls is nice, but in its current form is very uncomfortable

Anyway, good job!

Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:18pm

Awesome little entry I enjoyed the way the controls grew over time good job.

purrpurr says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:16pm

Lovely atmosphere, were it not for that I probably wouldn't have continued playing. Controls kind of slowed pace and made it tedious. Though, they were really well thought out given the restrictions.

YoungHorses says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:02pm

The mood is great. The controls are innovative, that's for sure. You could say that being very slow and very deliberate about every action lends a zen-like quality to getting around the entire garden. But, I would say the third time the game wanted me to go all around the screen to poke/collect things I was over my limit on zen. The 'smash' ability changed the pathways I was able to take so it felt a bit different than the first time I wandered the screen. But the 'zap' just felt like a way to buy time.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 7:28am

love everything about this game - well done

freaknarf says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 11:24am

Super neat visuals as usual !
Cool quiet game, with a great atmosphere ... Music is trippy and relaxing, and gameplay simple yet interesting ; it was not hectic, but I love how you suggest the player to guess what to do, and make him want to discover this other world.

Neil says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 7:27pm

Very pretty pixel art and excellent mood, but the two button controls felt a bit forced and tedious. I still finished the game and enjoyed it!

Zyow says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 7:13pm

Graphics, sound and ambience are really cool! Nice work!

WERT Studio says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 10:39pm

wow these graphics but one control to much why is the the switch it dosen´t make sense to me

PixlWalkr says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 2:07pm

Nice graphics and audio.

Drauthius says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 2:15pm

Love the concept and graphics. I couldn't finish the post-compo version, because I couldn't find the fourth zap thingy (the one leading into the building).

pixelpotions says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 2:40pm

Amazing graphics and that mood! Loved it! :D

PI says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 2:42pm

Beautiful! I really enjoyed it :D

Diel Mormac says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 2:57am

Nice graphics, but the controls were uncomfortable!

I didn't found the 6th plant vase and now I'm so curious...

Nice entry, I really enjoyed your work!

Phoenix849 says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 10:58am

Fantastic mood and atmosphere, but controls felt forced and very uncomfortable.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]