Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Montenegro 1961

by fergarram - Jam Entry

Montenegro 1961 is about a boy with a crush on a girl.

(This game is beatable. Ask everyone.)

KEYBOARD + MOUSE + SHIFT

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness60%
#492Graphics(Jam)3.50
#568Humor(Jam)2.56
#593Audio(Jam)2.77
#602Mood(Jam)3.11
#740Innovation(Jam)2.79
#788Overall(Jam)3.00
#942Theme(Jam)2.96
#999Fun(Jam)2.39

Comments

fergarram says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:54am

Thank you everyone for playing and rating.

sputnik says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:21am

Love the art style. But didn't found out exactly what I should do...

Jebby says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:40am

Liked the art and love that you did this in Game Maker, but I didn't understand what to do. Sorry that you didn't understand the awesomeness of my game :)

fergarram says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:45am

Sorry about it!
You should try talking to everyone and find out yourself!
Hint: Talk to the girl first.

fergarram says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:47am

I'll update it later with a walkthrough!
It's just we didn't have much time.

OberynMartell says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:13am

Could not get past the seeds! :(
Nice style! Congrats!

fergarram says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:45am

Look for the bucket!
SPOILER ALERT: (It's in the truck)
I knew it would be too hard to figure that out, sorry :s
Thank you for playing!

Weeping Rupee says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:49am

Interesting-- and surprisingly pretty. I'm sure this decision was practical but I love how if you look at the trees they are always facing you. Creepy. Kinda uncanny. If you develop this further dive more into the spooky and strange.

constructive crits: wish I could walk faster.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:53am

Interesting artstyle, wasn't able to figure out what to do, and no way to close the game other than ctrl-alt-del. Can't tell what it has to do with growing or two button controls but still neat for a 3D Gamemaker game.

fergarram says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:34pm

The trees decision was totally intentional! Thank you for noticing.

Hey Llama, sorry we made the instructions unclear. It does have something to do with the theme but you have to finish the game!
Thank you for playing!

MrAmlice says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:17am

Crna Gora 1961! hahaha brilliant! Enjoyed this one even before I started playing :P

Galan says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:21am

Love the art style, even if the framerate was kinda chunky (I'm assuming Gamemaker doesn't have the greatest 3D support). Couldn't get past the fight though.

KZdev says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:34am

Wow, this is great! One of best entries I've seen so far. Excellent art style, great ending. The last line made me laugh :) My only quibble would be with the fight mini game. I didn't like that it was random letters each time, I think it would be better if it only chose between 2 or 3 letters.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:44am

I liked it but how to complete objectives were unclear and the mouse was too sensitive.

fergarram says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:02am

I love you KZdev <3
You actually get it :)

fergarram says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:03am

Thank you everyone for playing!

UrbanHelsing says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:27pm

Hey Fernando! Nice campaign, I had to work to hard for that fish though

fergarram says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:54pm

Thank you for playing!

Warboys says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:50pm

I got stuck after filling the bucket. Looks great though and has a really nice mood. Had to use hints on the comments here too much though :(

OnlySlightly says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 3:20am

This was a delightful game. From the opening we were already in awe when the camera panned down from the tree tops and revealed the camp. It was beautiful, loved all the art and it was fun just exploring the camp. We had so much fun voice acting all the characters and imagining Fernando's inner dialogue. That was a wonderful experience. Thank you so much for making this!

fergarram says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 3:31am

Thank you for playing!
I enjoyed the stream :D

felilix says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 4:05am

Nice! The movement was a little slow but it had a great mood and interesting idea!

adamgryu says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 4:21am

This looked really neat! The puzzles and gameplay could be tidied up some, but it's still pretty cool :)

fergarram says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 8:07pm

Thank you for playing!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]