Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Edurxcel Biolergy

by peterthehe - Compo Entry

Having completed two weeks of 'mock' examinations it seemed fitting to top things off with 48 (though more like 12) hours of exciting jamming. So behold, ladies and gentlemen, a rhythm-meets-shooter-esque game packed with convoluted metaphors, exploding rectangles and politics.

Edurxcel Biolergy provides a 'realistic' insight into education and political life in modern Britain. Following a brief introductory sequence involving nosebleeds, renowned examinations body Edurxcel and 'No Tears' baby shampoo, you are transported to a rectangular town in the midst of election season. Eliminate your opposition and GROW your approval ratings from bits of dead quadrilateral.

CONTROLS:
Shoot - Left Click
Replace Poster - Type the letter in the top left corner

OTHER INSTRUCTIONS IN GAME.

There are a great many typos (*cough* diarrea *cough* eduxcel *cough*) but I'm going to say that I included them ironically.

TIMELAPSE AND OTHER STUFF COMING SOON BUT AS FAR AS I'M CONCERNED, ITS TIME TO SLEEP.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness89%
#95Humor3.49
#327Audio2.98
#475Mood2.96
#557Innovation3.04
#569Graphics2.94
#591Overall3.11
#653Fun2.92
#930Theme2.50

Comments

Catblocker says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:19am

Nice looking and smooth game, but i feel like it lacked gameplay

jerry111zhang says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:33am

Fun gameplay, however, the problem is there is no difficulty.

Bogden says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:37am

Nice looking game!

Membrane says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:25am

Fucking amazing!! I loved it, every single bit.

Fervir says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:45pm

Pretty good game, the questionnaire was pretty great.
Would have worked better if you only needed to use one side of the keyboard for the posters.
Interesting game mechanics going on here.
Game ran a little slow for me.
Couldn't really tell how on beat I was.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:19pm

Really funny. I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/aHYNcWsg9Wg

gene-z says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:09pm

Geral game

Ildfuglen says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:20pm

The introduction skip didn't work properly, when entering your details on the card I had to sit through the voice talking to me, but it was fine.

Gameplay wise, it was a bit lacking.

goffmog says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:28pm

Ban this sick filth!

The questionnaire alone is the best game I've played today. Forget the shooty bit, if you work on this some more just add more questions.

icereci says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:33pm

Played like crazy, really enjoyed the game.
At first I thought it was text only. I think I didn't skip a beat :)

pjimmy says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:51pm

lol, funny game

mockthebear says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:51pm

LOL. the start of the game <3 hahaha

floppya says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:21pm

Good good. Some of the quiz questions were pretty funny. Contains the correct amount of blood gushing.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:37pm

Razor sharp cutting pastiche.

good fun too

nonetheless says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:40pm

not a fan of the gameplay but liked the questions :) there are some issues and I cannot choose some answers, and fields are misplaced, still it's fun to read. Nice job! :) Also audio is nice.

peterthehe says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:54pm

(the misplaced fields are on purpose)

MorganLeFay says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:04am

I really enjoyed the beginning of the game! The game itself was quite nice, too but the music felt to loud to me and it wasn't easy to look where I was walking and keep track of the letter on top.

Jimbly says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:34pm

I couldn't figure out how to tell opposition from supporters. I liked the rhythm shooter feel. Intro survey was... weird.

peterthehe says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:39pm

@Jimbly It's all part of the metaphor ;)

Reggianito says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:53pm

what did

nunesbarbosa says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:06pm

I think the game is good and I simply don't get it or it is bad.
Too much text in the beginning for simple customization. I didn't get the numbers on the top left.

ohmmus says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:20pm

I love the opening (esp when you're not allowed to pick the correct logical fallacy)! The tone feels consistent, I just wish the key prompt was in a more central place. I shot a bunch of my supporters because I was looking at the top left.

Great game though, I had fun!

wilsk says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:53pm

I had no idea what was happening half the time but I enjoyed myself :)

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:45am

I fear I'm a bit too removed from British politics/culture etc to really get the jokes in the intro but the game itself was kind of soothing with the music and evening colour schemes and poster swapping. Not sure if I did well but eh.

Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:20pm

very weird intro :)
But cool sunglasses!

ramoncb says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:44pm

The questionnaire was very fun to complete =D

The shooting level was too much easy... but fun! Loved the robot voice, add some comments with her in the shooting part! ;-)

Jakob37 says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 6:43pm

Innovative style, quite different from most other things I have played during the Ludum Dare. Solid setting, would be interesting with some more challenging game play :)

JoseArias says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 5:20pm

I liked it! Maybe too easy.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]