Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Meowtastic Present Panic

by OnionBlaze - Jam Entry

Help Santa deliver gifts to everyone's homes this Christmas!

Controls:
Left/Right arrow keys - pretty much everything
M - Mute
P - Pause

----------------------------------------------------

I was joined by ApplePaddle for this one!

Got some major bugs around the deadline, good thing it went well. :D
Thooough there still might be some. hehe.


PS: Tell me ur scores

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#51Humor(Jam)3.94
#101Graphics(Jam)4.29
#102Audio(Jam)3.86
#125Mood(Jam)3.81
#152Overall(Jam)3.76
#161Fun(Jam)3.65
#218Theme(Jam)4.02
#308Innovation(Jam)3.42

Comments

blohod says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:13am

I gave 8 presents and thoroughly enjoyed the game, ai suggest you make a webGL

Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:04am

manage to gave 28 presents, super love the procrastination sofa~!

Jelinib says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:53am

Too cute! I did 14 presents. On my first try though, I sat on every green arrow and delivered a total of 6, haha. The juicy animation, sounds are satisfying, and gameplay is super smooth and responsive. Everything fits together so nicely. Awesome job!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:56pm

Fun in all of its simplicity! Very charming entry :)

themadknights says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:37pm

Fun. Fit the theme in the menu too. Good job.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:13am

Haha, Loved this!

fishtrek says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:21am

Really cute - loved the music and graphics. :)

Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:58pm

Fun and I was giggling the entire time playing it. You know you have something special when you see I GIF of it and you say to yourself "Oh I gotta play that!"

Xanjos says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:19am

Pretty fun and addictive entry. Loved the animations (Highest score I got was 14).

danielsann7 says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:52am

when i play hitogoshi, i just love that game, and i was a little curious if the maker of hitogoshi did it something for this LD and i made a little research find your devianart and then i found this game! another simple in mechanics but with that extra spice of yours that i really enjoy, please dont stop making games you're good, very good, its sweet, simple and fun i love it again!

LukeZaz says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:03am

Had a bunch of fun trying to beat my high score - took a while, given that it took a bit to figure out that eating increased my available time, but eventually made it to 18. Very nice game!

oz2mura says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:34am

42 presents : http://i.imgur.com/uoeg21Y.png

Really cute idea, love everything about it, festive music, adorable art, addictive gameplay, fun little details like the couch and tv. Overall great game! :D

Also Jupiter Hadley is looking for festive games to youtube, should send this one her way.

Yword says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:07am

Really cute and enjoyable game! I like the animations and music very much, and the mood is very good too! My score is 18...

monika says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:37am

That felt quite polished! No noticeable rough edges or anything that felt like a placeholder.

Scored 13. I think I ate too many cookies and that slowed me down.

Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:48am

Haha wiggle wiggle wiggle so cute!
Simple and lovely!

fullmontis says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:49am

Fun little game! I really enjoyed it.

Boberro says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:37pm

22. Your game is lovely.

metalchouchen says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:57pm

Lovely art! Merry Christmas ;)

Dec 18, 2015 @ 1:42pm

You won my heart. I love cats (it was one of my theme suggestions), I'm gonna play this for my Youtube channel, definitely.

logon13 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 2:11pm

Such a cute game. I love the Christmas games they are all so happy :D

Gunzil says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 4:22am

Cute, good use of two buttons by having the player mash to wiggle down the chimney. Would have been neat to see more mashing occur when in the house instead of just stopping on the specific beneficial set pieces. Initially when I saw this I thought cat Santa would specialize in scratching up furniture instead of getting distracted by it. Graphics were cute and audio fit the mood. Overall pretty good.

spotco says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:08am

Super cute neko-atsume style art.
Wish there was a bit more variance in gameplay.

Jezzamon says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 12:16pm

Cute game. I gave 15 presents!

I didn't really understand the value of hunger or how I could be hungry.

I really appreciated the sound effects. Altogether the game felt really smooth. Nice!

SelfTitled says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 6:16pm

Cat santa is much better than normal santa
Love that art

graebor says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 3:20am

Very cute art and music :)

rodobodolfo says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 11:41am

Wonderful animation and cute graphics. Nice music too.

rplnt says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 11:50am

27. Didn't realize couches and TVs are bad in the first play-through (and scored 6). Very well-made game.

Yvanor says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 2:04pm

Wow, really great little game ! I like the concept and the cuteness in everything ^^ Well done ^^

PixlWalkr says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 2:19pm

Fun and addicting game, nice hand-drawn art also! :)

gelisam says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 3:48pm

16. Isn't it too easy to avoid the TVs and couches? When I had about 5 seconds left and was clearly not going to make it further, I intentionally stopped at both, because otherwise I feared I would have missed content. Turns out there wasn't much to miss :)

Tosic says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 3:53pm

Cool! I've enjoyed it... um but why no fullscreen?

XenosNS says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 4:36pm

Very cute. Loved how Santa cat would scratch furniture before leaving. Web version was a touch glitchy on firefox, roofs would flicker.

beetracks says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 4:49pm

Very good game. I manage to give 14 presents. It takes some time to get used to the mechanics but I think it works. Nice use of music, sound effects and animation. Good job!

ascam says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 10:26pm

game of the year 2k15

Jan 1, 2016 @ 11:03pm

Amused by the cat in a santa suit. On theme and well executed. Cute graphics. Nice job.

nihilaleph says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 12:11am

Pro:
+ Very cute graphics and mood
+ Simple but fun concept
Obs:
o Distractions are not really challenges.. Although I loved the sofa xp

Great work!

Tapehead says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 12:17pm

lovely game with a cool use of theme! well done!

Jan 12, 2016 @ 9:24pm

Cute and fun! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/lBXur6KZCzs

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]