Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Panda and Squirrel

by merrak - Compo Entry

Squirrel wants acorns and Panda is a good friend.

Help Squirrel by pushing the snowball down the terrain. When the snowball is nice and big, leap into the air and grab some acorns--the higher, the better!

Watch out for cardinals! If you can land on their heads, you can stay in the air longer. But if you leap into their sharp feet or beaks, they'll hurt you.

Hold down RIGHT to accelerate Panda. Release RIGHT to slow Panda down.

Press UP to jump Squirrel. Hold down UP to help Squirrel soar. Release UP to help Squirrel plummet.

Squirrel can jump higher when Panda is pushing him faster. He can also get help from the snowball's upward speed and size.

P to pause. M to mute/un-mute

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness78%
#58Graphics4.19
#111Mood3.65
#130Audio3.53
#244Overall3.55
#272Theme3.97
#314Innovation3.42
#324Fun3.36
#325Humor2.71

Comments

xWarZonex says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:34am

Best entry I've played so far! I don't know why, bit it is just fun jumping as the squirrel. Everything about the game is great.

ceosol says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:50am

Very cute concept and graphics. I think it was very well executed. However, it was difficult to tell what was actually going on. You can't see what is above you so you basically keep blindly jumping. Sometimes I hit the yellow things, sometimes the redish brown things (that killed me?). I think one thing that might improve the game is having the squirrel bounce a little - like a Burrito Bison. I agree with Warzone that it was a lot of fun having a squirrel fly around. Why not extend his flight by bouncing off of the birds?

illblew says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:54am

I love the graphics and speed of this game. I was a bit confused at first but as soon as I saw the acorns I was hoppin'. The music was rad too!

JohnGalt says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:09am

Cute panda and squirrel. Nice environment. But currently I am not sure why I need to release right arrow to slowdown.

merrak says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:22am

@Ceosol: I included that feature in the code, but the effect is pretty weak if you are already dropping fast. I think it may need to be bumped up a bit in a post-compo version.

If I had more time, I would've liked to have included some more things in the sky :)

The original game I imagined had most of its action on the ground.

@JohnGalt: If you release the right arrow in mid-air then the squirrel will descend at a steeper angle. The amount of mass the snowball will lose is also a function of how hard it hits a steep incline. You'll get the most height out of a jump if you jump off of the snowball when it's on an incline and big.

So if you keep it from losing too much mass on bumpy downward slopes, you can get a nice big ball rolling and get some good air. The higher acorns are worth more points.

Elenesski says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:33am

It's a great idea, but I found jumping for the food a bit more random than skillful.

fishbrain says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:19am

Really cute graphic style, and there's a great idea here to be fleshed out more.

esayitch says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:41am

Problem is vision. I think the game could benefit from a higher size? So you can see what is above you.

Some sound effects and bounce/screenshake would go a long way to immerse the player as well.

Excellent implementation of the themes, really liked this overall, graphics are fantastic. Very solid entry, good luck!

Sam Twidale says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:55am

The fast scrolling foreground and all made for a great sense of motion. Cute concept and graphics too.

It's a shame you can't really time your jumps for stuff in the air because of the window size, but it's fun in any case.

gkxd says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:07am

This was really something different from other two button games. I really liked how I controlled both the squirrel and the panda, and the controls were actually intuitive!

I didn't enjoy the gameplay itself (acorns were hard to see and it was hard to collect things), but rolling down hills and jumping is fun enough even without the current objectives.

The music was a bit dramatic; I think a more lighthearted tune would fit the rest of the game better.

Overall, this is a really nice game.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:30am

I like the style and gameplay a lot but I think the acorns and birds(?) should be bigger so that its easier for the players to aim and time their jumps to hit or dodge them. I also think that its a bit unfair for the snowball to decrease in size if it drops to hard since the player can't even see the snow ball while the squirrel is jumping

zenchaplays says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:44am

Love the theme and concept. Smart two button controls, although I feel like the panda could be automated to move right which would've opened up some more input for the squirrel!

Duobix says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:50am

It has some nice graphics to it, the music felt a bit off considering the "happy" animals, and I didn't exactly get why should I use the squirel to get things-then I can't see the ball-and btw-I don't get why I should get the ball biggger and bigger, as it has no point for me. Still, it's a good base to make something exceptional and pretty unique!

Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:01am

Everything about the game was top notch! The gameplay cycle was quite solid and the music actually made the game immersive.

justinooncx says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:12am

Impressive soundtrack, although it was a tad difficult to actually get any acorns. I ASSUME they're acorns because you said they were, it was hard to tell. Cardinals looked like fallen leaves. All I did was run and jump.

trueboolean says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:19pm

I like how high you can jump in this if you time it right!

Andrei_S says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:50pm

Really well executed. The music, art and game style creates a great mood. Cute game, indeed. Unexpected characters.
Maybe predefined stages would fit the game.

careless says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:34am

Score 4562, I never realised my life was missing flying through the air as a squirrel! Its quite surreal but mesmerising at the same time.

The graphics are cute, loved the little touches like the snow and the sound the panda made has be pounded the snow.

Should have air time bonuses!

Really great!

careless says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:34am

The graphics are cute, loved the little touches like the snow and the sound the panda made has be pounded the snow.

Should have air time bonuses!

Really great!

careless says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:35am

Score 4562, I never realised my life was missing flying through the air as a squirrel! Its quite surreal but mesmerising at the same time.

The graphics are cute, loved the little touches like the snow and the sound the panda made has be pounded the snow.

Should have air time bonuses!

Really great!

sirono says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:22am

It is a good and exciting challenge.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:34am

Cute little game. Fun concept

sathorn says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:47am

This game looks fantastic. First game i played that scores high on mood. Gameplaywise however it's a bit boring, because you can't really control the squirrels flight well enough to hit things.

rd127p77 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:41pm

You were able to put both of the themes into the game. Good Job.

okusho says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:57am

So cute and fantastic!! One of my favourite games I have played!! :)

Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:13pm

Cute graphics! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/DppxuiW8XzY

pjimmy says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:43pm

cute and clever game, dig the concept, well done :)

h.attila says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 9:59pm

Fun game, lovely presentation. I think the acorns are a bit too small though.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]