Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Bicephalisnake

by tphx - Compo Entry

You are a two headed snake. Each head wants to move a different way but only one head can win. You can choose when to move vertically and when to move horizontally but the specific direction is decided by the snake.

Written in C#.

Tools used:
-Visual Studio 2015
-Monogame
-Bfxr
-Paint
-GIMP

If you like the font used in the game (Souses) you can get it here:
http://www.dafont.com/souses.font?l[]=10&l[]=1

Thanks for playing and voting.

Known Issues:
- Would not start with Avast Shields enabled. I did not get any messages or anything, the game just wouldn't start.



IMPORTANT:

If you can't run the game please let me know what happens. Is there any messages or does it just hang? I know it doesn't play well with Avast Anti Virus Shields but other than anti virus problems I don't know what the problem could be. Perhaps a dependency problem. I have tested it on two Windows 10 computers; however, those computers both have all the tools installed I used to create the game. Also if anybody can confirm that the game runs for them that would be nice too.

Update:

I have created and uploaded an OpenGL build to go along with the DirectX build. Hoping this solves some of the compatibility issues. If one doesn't work try the other. Thanks for helping!

Update:

The following requirements were taken from a post on the Monogame forums:

DirectX: DirectX 11 installed.
OpenGL: OpenGL 3.0 and OpenAL installed.

Original Post: https://monogame.codeplex.com/discussions/456254

If your system meets these requirements and the game still doesn't run please let me know.

Update:

I have added some exception handling to determine the cause of the crashes reported in the comments. If the game crashes a file named EXCEPTION.txt should be created in the same folder as Bicephalisnake.exe. If the game crashes it would be greatly appreciated if you could post the contents of the EXCEPTION.txt file. Thanks again.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#519Humor2.31
#628Audio2.21
#745Innovation2.67
#776Theme3.30
#832Mood2.22
#874Graphics2.05
#877Fun2.41
#927Overall2.52

Comments

prymidion says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:36am

I can't run this game, unfortunately, I just wanted to comment that you missed a golden opportunity to title this game "Bicepha-snake," which just rolls of the tongue a little better.

Wish I could play! Looks fun!

Tensoplast01 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:44am

Can't run too... :/

tazdij says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:22am

It crashes shortly after starting the application.

Warboys says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:28am

Really interesting idea, it took a while to get to grips with at first but once I figured it out things became a lot easier and less frustrating. Room wrap is definitely a good design choice, I didn't know you could do it for a while but then I hit a wall and learnt ;)

It gets really hard really fast, which is something to think about if you keep working on it. Because you need to think a lot more than regular snake, the length + speed increases take you from 'Ahh it's a little bit slow' to 'OMG MY ASS IS IN MY FACE' real fast!

_benhumphries says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:56am

I like the concept, but the game became difficult quickly. I would have the snake go increase speed more slowly. Good job nonetheless!

srakowski says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:34am

Dissociating your mind from what the keys mean vs what you have on the screen is difficult, challenging. Very good. Plus, I like a fellow MonoGame developer :). Well done!

tphx says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:39am

I'm very happy to hear the game is working for people. I was starting to get worried. Thanks for the feedback so far. The speed is definitely something I have to work on. I couldn't find a happy medium with it. It used to be much slower but I thought it was too slow. Probably just a case of playing the game a million times during testing and getting used to it. I figured people would only be playing the game for a few minutes anyway so faster would be better since increasing difficulty is really the only end game. When I get around to putting some more work into it I will be experimenting with slower speed increases and/or a stronger yellow speed reduction powerup.

NirabazGAMES says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:59pm

interesting idea)

Dreyan says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:20am

Simple idea, executed well (all things considered) and challenging in its use of 2-in-1 directional controls.

Stending says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 12:24am

Awesome ! This game drives me crazy and i just love it !
Bravo

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]