Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Dangomari

by Karai17 - Jam Entry

== DANGOMARI ==

Dangomari is a Katamari-esque game where you must roll around and absorb stuff, including your own brethren, to become the biggest dango of them all!

== CONTROLS ==

Gamepad: Both Y axes
Keyboard: QA + ED (Tank controls)
Full Screen: alt+return
Screenshot: F12
Screenshot Folder: F11

== MORE INFO ==

I am writing this description on an ASUS Android Tablet. More on that later.

Once the themes were announced, Holo and I started brainstorming how to use the themes for our third Ludum Dare. One theme? Both? We decided to use both themes to make our game. We came up with the idea of a simple Katamari clone where you must grow the player by collecting things. Instead of using two buttons, we decided two axes was within the spirit of the theme.

We recently watched Clannad and so decided that our main character was going to be dango. We didn't really come up with a "story" until the final day. You just want to be the biggest. Groundbreaking, eh?

So everything was going great. I was working on art while Holo was creating our layer controller, I wrapped some Christmas presents when Holo fell asleep LIKE A JERK!... We were making record time and then...

My computer died. Fuck.

My PSU crapped out on me at about 1am local time leaving me with no options to run out and buy a new one. After panic subsided, Holo came up with the brilliant idea for me to grab my ASUS tablet (+ keyboard attachment) and use Team Viewer to remote into his second PC. Across the continent. Oh boy.

Truth be told, remoting actually wasn't that bad. The latency was acceptable and I could still sort of test the game and even touch up 3D models in Blender. I did all of the audio work using Team Viewer too, so I am pretty proud of that.

We had to make a few concessions due to technical difficulties to meet the deadline but hopefully once I get a new PSU this week we will be able to touch up the game to bring it to the level we had originally intended.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#302Humor(Jam)3.05
#541Audio(Jam)2.95
#637Innovation(Jam)2.96
#807Mood(Jam)2.77
#879Graphics(Jam)2.63
#896Fun(Jam)2.64
#915Theme(Jam)3.05
#919Overall(Jam)2.83
#1427Coolness48%

Comments

josefnpat says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:07am

I DON'T UNDERSTAND. WHERE IS THE MOE??? 0/9000.

jk, awesome demo, but you should have ditched the two key UI and just done wasd + jump or something.

Nice job guys!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:15pm

GET IN MAH BELLEH!

Innovative way to navigate a 3d world with 2 buttons. Very impressed to see the progress of löve3d. :D

Very well done! (Specially considering the circumstances)

Move127 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:05pm

Not bad. There were some moments where I was glitching through walls, it seems like I could pick up anything even if I was much smaller than it.

NirabazGAMES says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:35pm

have error(

arseneauol says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:36pm

hard to move with these key a lot of colision bug but overall it's a nice idea and well done

Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:56pm

Pretty fun! The voices can get a little repetitive but they are also kind of epic.

SiENcE says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:03pm

I'm impressed what you have done with Love2D :-D.

Karai17 says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:41am

@NirabazGAMES: What was the error?

Yeah this game isn't as polished as our other ones due to my computer catching fire midway through the jam. Once I buy a new power supply, we plan to improve it a bit more to bring it up to snuff.

I can set the voice cooldown to be a bit higher, or have our voice actress add more variation.

liquidmedia says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:22am

Fun idea but some bugs never know if something is solid or just going to pass through it.

Karai17 says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:56am

Yeah, collision detection and level design were what suffered most from my computer failure. :(

PotatoGrader says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:46am

Please report this on GitHub at https://github.com/excessive/ludum-dare-34 or
send a DM on Twitter to @LandonManning or @shakesoda.

=========================
== 2015-12-17 10:44:12 ==
=========================

Error: libs/love3d/init.lua:102: We didn't get a depth buffer, bad things will happen.
stack traceback:
[C]: in function 'assert'
libs/love3d/init.lua:102: in function 'import'
conf.lua:169: in function <conf.lua:163>
[C]: in function 'xpcall'

=(

Karai17 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 4:56am

That error happens when there is a driver issue. Are you using an older Intel GMA chip? Which OS/chip are you using? Maybe try updating your drivers?

monetai says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 6:35pm

it did not worked, saldy

beetracks says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 2:12am

Nice audio and design, but the gameplay is confuse.

Adreqi says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 3:55pm

Funny little game and nice concept, pretty much fills the growth theme, I loved that voice :p

that said, those controls really are a pain :/ I tried with a game controller but it's not better. that's a shame because I wanted to get as big as a house :')
I couldn't because I couldn't move as I wanted x)

Sorry to hear about your computer catching fire though. Hope it will get better soon !

Karai17 says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 11:14am

After a lot of input from other folks, I must concede that the controls could be better.

@monetai What error message did you get, if any?

OrangeeZ says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 11:55am

Wow, this is a really strange entry. Voiceover and music are adorable!

BlackBulletIV says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 6:06am

Controls felt unintuitive. Autorolling with left and right controls would've worked better and fit the two-button theme. Still, I am impressed at 3D in a 2D engine.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]