Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Lunar Landing

by Pietdagamer - Jam Entry

LUNAR LANDING

A way oversimplified simulator for the Apollo program.

Control the Lunar Lander with two controls: The left and Right Arrow key.

Pay attention to your instruments! Warning signs indicate wether your velocity is low enough to attempt a landing and your attitude, altitude, and thrust are all displayed on screen.

Includes sound effects taken from the actual Apollo missions (https://archive.org/details/Apollo11Audio)

Take it slow and be patient. Good luck landing on the Moon!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#119Audio(Jam)3.81
#193Mood(Jam)3.65
#403Theme(Jam)3.79
#740Innovation(Jam)2.79
#824Humor(Jam)1.89
#871Graphics(Jam)2.66
#896Overall(Jam)2.86
#921Fun(Jam)2.59

Comments

Tensoplast01 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:07pm

I think more gameplay could be a little bit more fun ^^'

CodeNMore says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:10pm

Nice choice of audio, and the gameplay was nice however I personally think that the two buttons over-simplified something like this. Nice game though, I liked playing it!

Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:25pm

Liked the game pretty much!

victorfisac says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:52am

Good audio, but you should add a mechanic or gameplay

SpecialChef says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:52am

Love it. Great vibe! Wish there was more, but two buttons and all. Good job

SSJMetroid says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:32am

Great mood. Not very innovative game play, but well executed.

George says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:49pm

Really like the use of actual Appolo audio!

Reccy says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:56pm

The lack of thrust control made the descent a bit confusing, considering I started flying away from the moon on my first attempt haha. Fun game though :)

Indiestry says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:58pm

Nice atmosphere, it was tense and calming at the same time!

Rosain_f says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:34am

Hard to play and enjoy

mathijs750 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:50am

Nice sound design. It took me a while to figure out how to get lower on the surface. I almost flew back to orbit a few times. But I landed. Would make giant leaps again.

Rocketship says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:28pm

Loved the audio, you had made it blend in very nicely there. Was hard to figure out how to actually control the lander, for a long time I was just floating and spinning around. As a mood piece it was nice listening to the radio com though!

Crosstales says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:34pm

It's a good idea and was interesting to play! The audio was (naturally :-) ) very fitting.
If it would look a bit more like an 80s game (Battelzone anyone?), it would be great.

fluidvolt says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:09am

This drew me in. The command center radio chatter made this feel real and important. So much so that I got really nervous landing! Relieved that I succeeded. Super minimal, but effective through well-chosen detail. Awesome.

LittleThor says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:29pm

Interesting idea but I don't really understand how I am supposed to slow down this "vertical speed".
Good mood though.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]