Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

The F

by Atmog - Compo Entry

The F (Try Hardcore Ending Farming)
-----------------------------------


You are a farmer but zombies will attack you, so your only defense is to buy turrets to protect your farm.

Tutorial quickly explain the buttons.
Shortcuts are customizable in Settings.

F2 : To take a screenshot
F3 : To see the debug info

Windows French Version : https://github.com/Atmog/The-F/releases/download/v1.0.0/TheF-fr.zip

Used to make this game :

- C++
-- SFML
-- Thor
-- SFGUI
-- pugixml
-- Codeblocks

- Paint.net
- Photofiltre
- ToYcon

- Bfxr
- autotracker.py
- Audacity

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#143Fun3.65
#196Humor3.06
#233Overall3.57
#254Audio3.14
#306Innovation3.43
#416Mood3.05
#578Theme3.61
#636Graphics2.82
#1507Coolness46%

Comments

Taffaz says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:29pm

Good game, I enjoyed fending off the zombie hordes until I got rampaged.

MikeTheWayne says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:31pm

I enjoyed this game, very fun to play. There was no instruction at the beginning, though I quickly grasped the concept.

It's fast paced as well, which is nice, I really enjoy these sort of economic simulator + action games, very fun to play.

Very good job with this!

Atmog says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:52pm

If people with Windows 7 have success to run the game, can they say it ?

Aree Vanier says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:45pm

Really fun! Love the concept

Jimbly says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:54pm

Fun! Got destroyed the first time, couldn't figure out why I could not place turrets (turns out they have to go *outside* the grid...). Second game I seem to live a very, very long time, just got bored and started writing this comment and suddenly, in the background, I see a giant wave wipe me out. Score of 85482, I think. Nice job!

MHaton says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:17pm

74,301 before I got horribly murdered by zombies :) Probably the longest I've spent playing a LD game, good fun and oddly addictive. Nice work

Atmog says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:46pm

Thank you so much guys ! I already note for myself to explain the rules for the next time :)

mxjones says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 7:29pm

Really enjoyed this game! Fun to play and the concept is awesome.

wongcito says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 4:03am

Nice game, it really gave me a hard time but really enjoyed it!

simon.parzer says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 8:38am

Nice tower defense game. Sadly I didn't aquire enough currency to fend off the zombies but it was fun nevertheless.

StaNov says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 2:29pm

Easily playable, neat difficulty, nice graphics :) I've enjoyed playing this! My score is 8247.

Rex Peppers says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 8:38pm

I can't play windows games, sorry.

Markus Brand says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 9:43pm

i rate full 5/5!
That game was epic! I had lots of fun when i found out the idea of it. i got about 60100 points. It says press any key to skip tutorial, but not which key to continue it. That little messagebox isnt enough to explain a game, maybe work a bit at this point next time. But nevertheless i really liked your game :D

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]