Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

2108 M81 - Part I -

by Kazura - Jam Entry

2108 M81 is an exploration-platform experimental game with a first person view.
What's this planet ? Why this ... strange planet ?
Let's put aside these questions and take the view of a unique, epileptic and colorful planet to find some strange artifacts and environments.
Be warned, these ones give some strange powers and visions. But they may can escape yourself from the planet ...

Theme chosen is : Growing

CONTROLLER:[Gamepad playable]
-ZQSD / WASD : Move
-SPACE Bar : Jump
-Left Mouse Button : Shrink
-Right Mouse Button : Grow up
-Enter : Respawn (if you're lost in the map)

CREDITS :

-Kévin Bassard / 3D Graphics
-Valentin Besson @Valpatine / FX
-Galva / 3D Graphics and Music
-Tom Kurcz @Kazura23 / Main Programmation and World Building [UE4]
-Benjamin Lefevre @LefevreBenjaml / Programmation

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness54%
#90Graphics(Jam)4.34
#146Mood(Jam)3.76
#164Audio(Jam)3.67
#446Overall(Jam)3.39

Comments

danley says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:59am

Broken link.

Kazura says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:34pm

Fixed !

CaptainRed_ says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:29pm

Great concept and I enjoyed these graphics!

utoxin says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:36pm

Not bad at all. I ran into several places where I got stuck in the terrain, but given what you were doing, that's not too surprising.

BubsyPoochies says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:29pm

Really impressed with the graphics, aesthetics and presentation of this one! It ran a bit slow on our computer, but it's a really impressive job considering the little time there was to do it. Congratulations!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:33pm

The atmosphere and graphical style of this game are amazing. What I didn't like so much was the excecution of the movement physics and the plattforming feeling.

MintArcade says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:34pm

Great game you created, people! Nice exploration experience. I guess a little tutorial in the beginning wouldn't hurt overall. 5 stars from me.

crucknuk says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:36pm

I had some problem playing this game. In the game view, there is an error message concerning lightning effect and the game lags a lot :s I hope you'll put a fix version so I can try it again

exhidor says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:36pm

an ambitious project, perhaps too ambitious, but it's a great work done.

PlasmaErnst says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:52pm

Hey! The game is nice looking and sounding. Crazy, flashy colors. Feels like a foreign planet.

Got stuck in the environment a few times and got lost in the end. Guess I needed some kind of guidance/points of interest to get around.

Quite the work you got done in this time, props!

Kazura says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:14pm

Hi, thanks for all your comments ! They are really useful, I'll publish a post-jam version with improvements soon !

dalbinblue says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:24pm

This is a really gorgeous game. I love how organic the world looks despite being made mostly of solid colored squares. As others have stated, it's easy to get suck in places in the game (I actually clipped through a wall running while tiny). Also there seems to be a lot of invisible walls in the game.

I know this is part one, so I'm not sure how far this game went. I got to the first big tower and got stuck (i.e. I couldn't figure out how to progress). I could see larger items in the distance, but I couldn't get to them. Is that the end of the game or is there more?

Rob_Haines says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:25pm

A really interesting landscape, definitely alien-feeling, & the growth/shrink mechanic has lots of potential.

A couple of minor points, in case they're useful:
- I did seem to run into a good number of seemingly invisible walls (things I couldn't jump over when giant despite them not being very big, & arches I couldn't walk under when shrunk despite being the same size as the arches you're supposed to walk under).
- The jump seemed very dependent on both the angle of the surface you're standing on & your movement speed. Sometimes it was difficult to get a satisfying jump forward.

Zeriver says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:03pm

I liked how colorful this planet is, it's a nice change from usual grey dark enviroment. Gameplay is fun, i like how your abilities allow you to explore so different places. And music sets great mood.

BTW: you might have changed avatar but deep down you still belong to ONI xD

Kazura says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:17pm

dalbinblue => Thanks for your remarks, the last crystal is in the last tower, I'm thinking to put a "respawn" mecanic to find the good way for the player.

Rob_Haines => Thanks for commenting, it was too hard to try every collisions and movements in a short time, i'm gonna work on it !

Zeriver => Ooohhh you didn't forgot, nice and excellent reference mate ! :D I'm also glad you enjoyed the game

r8berto says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 9:18pm

I love this kind of experiences, amazing job!

gmatsura says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 9:36pm

I really liked the atmosphere and the strange world. The music was good and I felt like it created an interesting atmosphere. The controls felt a little strange. Sometimes I would speed up dramatically when getting smaller or slow down when increasing in size.

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 10:02pm

Really nice art style and music is great too
Good job!

gokottastudio says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 12:15pm

Nice game! Onlu thing I would say: flashy colors are too flashy in the begginig... i almost ended color blind!

But an awesome experience people, congrats!

Rfdshir says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 1:42pm

Wow, the colors is too acid ) I felt my eyes leaked away) Actually, I like the expirience)
As for gameplay - yeah, I get stuck in landscape and textures several times. But, the game have big potential! Good luck Э_Э

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]