Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Viral Growth

by wooltech - Jam Entry

Story and Instructions in-game. (Use a mouse to play)

Theme: Growing

-----

I made this single-handed, from scratch, for the Compo but ran out of time so entered in the Jam instead. Where I also ran out of time, so there aren't many levels and zero audio, but you should get the idea.

Made with Unity 5 and Blender.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#375Humor(Jam)2.89
#600Graphics(Jam)3.29
#760Mood(Jam)2.89
#788Overall(Jam)3.00
#791Innovation(Jam)2.71
#854Fun(Jam)2.71
#942Theme(Jam)2.96

Comments

Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:02pm

There is something wrong with your link to the game.

peejaygee says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:59pm

Error 404 on your DropBox Link.

Bmxchamp4 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:07pm

Same here, error 404 on the dropbox link. Make sure that if you changed the filename, or re-uploaded the file that you got the new link and updated it here.

wooltech says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:42pm

Thanks for letting me know - will fix when I'm home.

PieChronicles says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:29pm

Very nice, love the comic book hero pose at the start of each level!

adsilcott says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 1:17am

Hah I love the face texture! I think the narration text added a lot to it as well. Fun!

Geti says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 1:21am

A new level of cheesy on the graphics ;) but pretty good, the movement was interesting but some feedback on why some inputs were ignored early on would have helped (looks like it needs line of sight).
I had a few of the ball things fall off a few levels, particularly level 3. Still, interesting idea.

Dec 20, 2015 @ 2:22am

Unable to download game :(

Funske says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 2:55am

I enjoyed it, audio would have made this game better, but other than that it was great overall.

cubicme says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 5:07am

nice animations :D i think keyboard control would have made this much more fun

sbot1101 says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 5:38am

I like the simple aesthetic. Good job getting some story in there, and even just producing something given the time constraints.

monosolar says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 2:29pm

I couldn't see the atmosphere. As for me not map, not hero, not enemies have no.. soul. M.b. it needs to add some movement featores, accelerations or something

EvanEGibbs says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 8:10am

The game actually controls very well. You were very ambitious! I'd like to see this if you ever have the time to finish it up with sound and everything. :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]