Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Barber Chop

by RadStar - Jam Entry

Hello!

Here is our LD34 submission , "Barber Chop" !
The theme was a tie between "growing" and "two buttons controls", so we made a beard grooming rythm game :) .
You have to cut your client's beard in rythm with the music!

To do so, you have two keys : X and C , or LEFT arrow and RIGHT arrow.
Press those keys when the left and right circle reach the dashed line.

If you experience any latency between the game and the music, please refresh the page.
This should solve most of synchronisation problem.

Have fun!

Credits :
Art : @julienlelievre
Music : @Ynck_33
Code : @thomas_baudon

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#35Theme(Jam)4.33
#53Audio(Jam)4.06
#55Humor(Jam)3.92
#80Fun(Jam)3.83
#90Graphics(Jam)4.34
#102Overall(Jam)3.86
#218Mood(Jam)3.61
#631Innovation(Jam)2.97

Comments

salmonmoose says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:23pm

Not quite sure what all the junk in his beard was about, but loved it, perhaps a bit more contrast on the beat icons would help, but this is one of my favorites so far.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:41pm

Great game, smooth, easy on the eyes, and fun!

dj_pale says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:44pm

Haha very nice! "Incridible". Saw that you put a lot of effort in making interesting beat patterns.

quill18 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:45pm

Short, but sweet. Excellent sound too. My only complaint is that I was so focused on hitting the targets that I couldn't look at the great art more!

MicroMacro says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:57pm

Fantastic! The art was awesome and it had a lovely, lighthearted feel to it. Well done!

SvenFrankson says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:59pm

Great design !

ManuSaiz says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:02pm

This felt suuuper good. Rythm was so tied to gameplay it felt super good ( I know I say it twice ). I just loved your game guys, congratulations on a great entry!!

francoisvn says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:25am

Really tight. Remind me to never go to your barber ;P

benjaml says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:39am

So cool, I loved it !!

Fathom says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:19am

Really cool, polished game. Great job! Best use of the two themes I've seen yet.

disdanes says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:14am

It was interesting so many things were caught in the beard, nice graphics and music.

maunovaha says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:40am

Very well done, it felt like a commercial mobile game. Maybe you guys should continue making this for real? :)

blackmagic says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:19pm

Nice growing beard! However, the items in the beard were too distracting, i missed a few times because of the gameboy!

Dohxis says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:56pm

Nice graphics!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:58pm

Great fun and super slick.

zlaine says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:00pm

Awesome. Great idea and implementation, audio and graphics are awesome. ;D

Benjamin says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:01pm

That was fun. The rythm was very well designed for this kind of game. I can imagine all the funny title you could have choosen with the beat<->beard puns :)

Dianouille says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:50pm

Great game ! I looove the graphics, and it's pretty fun. Well done !

Headmade says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:16pm

Well made and quite humorous.

anael says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:17pm

Excellent!! Another one of the best! It was really fun to play, and the art is awesome. ++

Tipyx says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:01pm

Very nice idea to propose different keys to play ;).
The music is soooo good *o* !
I love the art too, even if I don't have the time to look what is in the beard :D
Excellent job :) !

Warboys says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:17pm

Brilliant stuff. Played a lot of rhythm games since I started rating and this is the best one by far. Firstly it's synced properly (seriously lol), and secondly the progression in the note patterns is very well designed. Felt very natural for me to just jump into, which is usually tough for new rhythm games.

Great aesthetics too. Superb job :)

blackbird806 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:21pm

A very fun game which use the theme very well, the soundtrack is very good. My best score is 300000 =)

YoungHorses says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:50pm

Had a good amount of fun with this one. Reminiscent of many other rhythm games, but the themes were followed well and the overall layer of polish was nice.

punkto says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:43pm

Funny and good design. Congrats!

chr15m says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:36am

THIS IS BEST YPU WIN!!! HTML5 YAY!

DrFallos says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:05am

Cutting beard with good sound, what could be better?! =)

Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:57pm

That was fun! At first I thought the stuff in the beard would be something to avoid or so, which was a little confusing. The feedback on cutting the beard is really nice, but does the holding the beard do anything?
Besides we should have gone with a falling icon kind of thing for our rhythm game as well probably. Nicely done!

Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:21pm

Fun game and the graphics were great, really liked the look and feel of it.

Crosstales says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:26pm

This is such a great little game! I really liked the idea and the sound is just great!
Very nice entry!

Garris says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:13am

This game is so much fun! An awesome idea accompanied by cute graphics, and really great audio and controls. Love it, awesome job!

RadStar says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:51am

Thank you all for your amazing feedbacks! :)
inbetweengames: in fact, we changed the gameplay a few times before finding the most suitable one. And holding the beard and avoiding stuff are 2 things we didn't have the time to remove.
We are currently working on a polished and adjusted version of the game with more musics and a more understandable indications :) we'll keep you informed when the game is out!

kill0u says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:27am

Nice! Scored 586k :P

RadStar says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:32pm

not bad! the currently known record is about 1400k ;) keep it up!

PaulJs says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:39pm

Very nice game ! I love it !

Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:29pm

Hilarious

Hectigo says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:05pm

Cool beard man!

oz2mura says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 3:08am

Definitely one of my favorite games. I couldn't put it down, love the music, the art, very funny, good vibes, just overall really enjoyed it.

my best score so far: http://i.imgur.com/SQDhLII.png

01010111 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 3:10am

oh man, it really ramped up in difficulty all of the sudden! Awesome work, I was hoping there would be a few great rhythm games this LD! :D

aare says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 1:47am

Nice a bit addicting, great music and rhythm based gameplay, just this things in his beard was a bit disturbing beside that graphic was really nice :)

xhunterko says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:57pm

Two thumbs up! A bit confused at first as to what I was doing and what the icons meant but otherwise, great!

Gamepopper says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:59pm

A very interesting concept for a music rhythm game. Honestly I missed the instructions and thought you were supposed to click on the symbols, so that could be some possible touch screen controls.

Eduardo says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 2:43pm

wow, i rhythm game, that's nice. Good job!

Eduardo says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 2:43pm

a*

Neil says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 6:53pm

A lot of fun, but could not really enjoy the art, because I had to focus on hitting the notes!

gokottastudio says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 4:13pm

Great game! Congratulations! I love everything

Drauthius says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 9:20pm

Quite a nice entry. The refresh was really necessary, and afterward the beats fit very well to the music. Good graphics and very theme-appropriate. Would have liked a bit more interaction with the different elements, like if you missed a beat it would cut the beard (and swapping out the left arrow action), thus making it a competition for getting the longest beard.

Galvesmash says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 3:52pm

Great game, great music and awesome mood! The only pproblem is that the junk in his beard don't add anything to the gameplay.

crucknuk says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 9:26am

"Wonderful" entry! I think it is my favourite rythm game in this LD. It is very polished and the audio is excellent. I just wish there is more level to it :p Excellent job ! ;)

Tapehead says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 11:50am

great entry! love it!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]