Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Growing Up

by gelisam - Jam Entry

Two button controls: left, and right. Grab the balloons (with your hand, not your entire body), avoid the birds (prevent them from touching the balloons, not your body), and enjoy this sad tale on what it really means to grow... up.

---

Made in a weekend by Samuel Gélineau and Marc-Olivier Ricard, two exhausted colleagues who should really go to sleep now because they have to work on siftnlp.com tomorrow :)

(By the way the game is written in Haskell and if you think that's cool, I should probably mention that we're a small Montreal startup and that we're always looking for programmers who like or are open to learning functional programming — in Scala though, not Haskell yet unfortunately)

Oh, I almost forgot to mention! Those beautiful graphics were drawn by Camille, Marc-Olivier's girlfriend.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#247Humor(Jam)3.18
#275Graphics(Jam)3.88
#614Mood(Jam)3.10
#635Fun(Jam)3.00
#657Innovation(Jam)2.94
#772Overall(Jam)3.03
#790Theme(Jam)3.32

Comments

disdanes says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:53am

I really like the concept of this and I especially love the hand drawn art style! Nice Job!

suppi says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:38am

The art is lovely, the mechanics are interesting, and it fits the theme well. some music and sounds would've made it even better!

DrFallos says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:41am

Interesting idea to play, a good style, with music would be better

adsilcott says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 9:37pm

I like the hand drawn art. Nice game!

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 9:40pm

Art is pretty and I thought the idea was fantastic and well executed, very poignant. Well done.

tompudding says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 10:56pm

It looked great, and it's a lovely idea. It wasn't challenging though really and the the balloon pickup seemed a bit flaky

tigerrenko says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 12:20am

Loved the concept and art, also the way game is really tough and makes you think out of the box

Mirch says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 2:05am

Haha nice!
Art looks good, concept is cool, maybe you could make it like..getting more difficult over time.

hpearson2 says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 2:06am

Good mood and graphics, took me a sec to realize you can wrap the screen. Why haskell? it seems like a nightmare for a game jam.

Shivur says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 2:07am

I love the animation.

puppetmaster says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 10:37pm

I love the handdraw art. They are very cute! Keep up the good work!

MercuryXGames says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 7:14pm

That artstyle is the same as the game, Journey. I really like that genuine artstyle.

Muel says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 3:44am

This art.
Ooooh, this art.

Tosic says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 4:00pm

Wow! Love the graphics!

gallerdude says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 5:17pm

Lots of birds. Gameplay was fun, but it took me a bit to find that the screen was wrapping (which helped me a lot).

Xanjos says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 11:52pm

Could do with some sound and most definitely an option to restart the game without having to refresh the entire page but I like the concept plus I love the hand drawn art.

dreamlogician says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 4:15am

The art is gorgeous. The game is decent, but the collision box locations are not intuitive and that made it a frustrating experience at times.

yuigoto says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 1:34am

The graphics are nice! Love the handdrawn graphics, and the concept of the game in general.

Missing some sounds and a "restart" button, though. :P

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]