Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

The Flower

by Sublustris - Compo Entry

Instructions:
------------------------------------------------------------
Deliver the cup to the pot using only two-buttons control.

W or UpArrow to jump,
D or RightArrow to move forward.

Time is limited.
When green bar is disappeared, flower will die.
------------------------------------------------------------

Your goal is - to grow a flower !!!

Hint: You can kill enemies by jumping on their heads.
------------------------------------------------------------
Tools used:

Platform: AS3(Flash) + Starling
IDE: FlashBuilder
GFX: Photoshop
SFX: Casio CTX-3200, bfxr, sound recorder in my smartphone.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#147Graphics3.85
#287Humor2.79
#327Audio2.98
#416Mood3.05
#418Theme3.81
#570Overall3.13
#665Fun2.90
#718Innovation2.72

Comments

Ittai Manero says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 8:34pm

What a pretty cool little game! :D

SineGlitch says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 8:46pm

Everything works well together. Nice job!

mukult says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:05am

Niceeee art!!
Overall i had fun...
But sometimes...i just felt the controls were restrictive if I kept the game idea in mind :)

ProjectX593 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:07am

Constrols are a little bit janky, but pretty cool, very nice pixel art.

Baknik says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:08am

Interesting image effects. It was difficult to figure out where to jump on the heads of the enemies to kill them.

jcmonkey says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:10am

died a few times and nothing was around me. the controls took a bit to get used to, but overall was ok game

floppya says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:11am

Nice looking game. I'm awful at it, though. The soundtrack is good but has a real bassy part that's a little overpowering for my macbook speakers. I like the little stuff like the dust clouds your character kicks up.

esayitch says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:12am

Hi! The game was strangely atmospheric, which I really liked. Graphics and sound suit it well.

Controls were a bit fussy, and I would add a restart button. Finally a game that doesn't use 6 buttons and calls it "2" buttons :P

Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:13am

Only being able to move forward provides an interesting twist. I like it!

xdigdoug says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:19am

Great graphics, great sound, very innovative.
My only gripe with this game is poor collision detection (seems to heavily favor the left side of the character)? The whole right side can be in an enemy sprite, and not die. Also causes death from thinking you can goomba-stomp an enemy, but will only work if the tail end of your sprite hits them. Overall very good game.

Sublustris says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:29am

Thank you for feedbacks :)
I'll fix collisions in postcompo version.

mrjorts says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:32am

Looks very nice. The physics were a bit frustrating at times. The idea of only being able to move right is an interesting challenge.

jim3wg says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:15pm

Nice twist !

DustyStylus says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:35pm

Tough little game, but beautifully realised. :)

KoalaBot says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:36pm

I actually really enjoyed the restriction of only being able to move forward. But mostly because of the clever timing of enemy spawns with the beat, allowing me to plan ahead. I would think about continuing work on this idea post-compo!

SvenFrankson says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:39pm

Nice work :)

nexust says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:58pm

I like the art style! The platforming is a little awkward. The jump key has will jump as soon as you touch the ground if held which makes for some tricky landings a lot of the time. Other than that, it is a charming, fast paced platformer with some lovely graphics.

veverichka says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:00pm

I really love the art style and how cute the water is. It actually made me sad when it died. :D

ninjascript says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:38am

Very nice graphics, and great job keeping the concept simple while meeting both themes!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:43am

Loved it! Quirky and strange. Audio was *really* jarring though, only thing I would change would be the volume of the spawning noise.

Geckoo1337 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:46am

Замечательно! Мне очень понравился гамеплай. Oднако я не понимаю почему ты добавил этот звук - как барабан. На самом деле, этот звон наносит непоправимый ущерб. Жалко. Тем не менее, я люблю :)
A pretty cool game with an amazing aesthetic - very nice pixel art. Neat ++

Sublustris says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:53am

Звук пофикшу обязательно, в запаре уже не успел настроить громкости :)

I'll correct sounds, spawning was made in last hours of compo, and i did not have time to tune it.

AAGH Games says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:59am

At first I was thinking, "I look like a cup, not a flower." That's what I get for not reading the first screen more thoroughly, I guess. lol

The old 80's arcade look and sounds turned out well and it controls smoothly (the two button limit negating being able to go backwards notwithstanding), but despite multiple plays I never did manage to grow that flower.

Sublustris says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:46am

You need 4 cups to grow first flower :)

Gins says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:55pm

Cool idea, but it would be more fun if the level got harder every time. Amazing graphics!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:57pm

Pixel art!

ajopart says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:57pm

Great graphics. Disturbing to be unable to move backward ;-)

Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:00pm

That audio was pretty aggressive. Other than that, the game was pretty cool

mockthebear says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:18pm

The monster death sound was a bit too loud. But its funny and the graphics are awesome. Cool music also

Zeezgames says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:04pm

I really liked this game :) love the cup animation when sucking water out at plant :)

Well Done!!

x92rwzb says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:19pm

+ Steady controls.
+ Good platformer.
+ Nice graphics.

- Audio is too loud when I use headphones!

nunesbarbosa says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 2:11am

Very hard and frustrating.. you have to avoid all those zombies? I gave up really fast.. couldn't get to the objective or flower or whatever.

justinooncx says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:25am

Surprisingly frustrating at the beginning when you find out you can't turn around. Unfortunately, once you find the most optimum path, difficulty doesn't scale further, making it repetitive. Still, a nice game! Perhaps a proper ending?

Krafty says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 4:44pm

This game was really cool, nice attention to detail! I liked the graphics and the music, although there was one part that was a little bit loud compared to the rest. I wasn't very good at this game, I kept getting stuck =P Great job!

Peekotus says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 4:53pm

overall i had fun

hadesfury says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 10:00pm

Cool and pretty .. but seems very hard for me

Great entry

Weeping Rupee says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 6:12am

The notes:
-wish that I got to move onto different levels as the plant grew.
-You managed to hit one-button theme right on and shoe-horn in the grow theme and I really don't think you needed to. It doesnt hurt but it doesnt help because its a little confusing when the theme category is being rated.
-as a musician i think the music is good but a little grating
- if you're going to be moving through the same level to grow the plant there should be rewards for finishing it faster since the strategy here (I think) is about learning the most efficient way thru the level

The praises:
-Great aesthetic and character design (I loved the machine that sucked your water out)
-thought out level design
-tough but fair (our game was only one of those things)

Sublustris says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 9:58am

Oh!! Thank you for detailed analysis. I'm working on postcompo version now (would be mobile), and really appreciate your feedbacks.

loxo says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 5:41pm

Seems like a cool game with good audio and graphics, but it's to hard for me. I like the idea though.

Elit3dGaming says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 6:15pm

Graphics were great and the game was really fun, loved the challenge

simon.parzer says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 6:35pm

I like the happy little cup. I dont like the loud repeating thwomp noise in the music. More levels or at least making the level more dynamic would have been fun

Hybrog says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 7:11pm

Very fun little game, although I found one route and kept using that one once I was adapted to it. Maybe incorporate a system to force the player to take different routes each time, maybe rubble or root blockades would spice up branched path system. Graphics are fantastic. My one quibble would be sometimes there are weird collisions, especially in that one block jump over the spikes right before the flower.

puppetmaster says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 9:56pm

You art and presentation is so cute.
I would like to love this game, but the first level is so difficulty.
You should add at the beginning some easy levels and than raise the difficulty.
Congrats, you have made a very cool game!

_benhumphries says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 2:43pm

Cool game. I like the graphics. Overall I think it was a bit of a steep learning curve.

Modoc73 says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 3:46am

Good game, good art. Only shame is when you find an optimal path, you just have to time it right which takes away half the challenge. But good job, I liked the restrictions with the controls, as if you went to far you were forced onto another path and try and figure out where to go, and how to evade the enemies.

crucknuk says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 3:19pm

Nice entry! I wish there could be more than one level. This way, when you grow a plant, you could switch level instead of repeating the first one indefinitely. Appart from that, it seems well executed and it is kind of addictive. Well done ;)

Galvesmash says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 5:28pm

Cool game, once you figure out the best way to reach the flower the game becomes easy!

Claire1605 says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 12:24pm

Loved the graphics, kept bumping into platforms above my head though which limited my jumping a bit!

Gunzil says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 8:20pm

A post apocalyptic game about the never ending struggle between cups and mutants as the cups try to navigate a maze to maintain a single flower.

I found the platforming to be frustrating, both in the number of dead ends and how difficult it is to jump on enemies. You would think with only being able to move in one direction the collisions might be more forgiving, but that is not the case. I managed to get water to the plant once after about 10 tries and then stopped playing when I realized I had to keep doing it on the same level.

I appreciate the two button control implementation, only being able to move in one direction, but the platforming is already difficult enough that this makes it worse. Having a more normal, less maze-like level before the current level would have been nice. I realize the level is a maze so you can take alternate routes to the plant on repeat playthroughs, but that just seems like a symptom of trying to only have one level instead of multiple. Once I found a route that worked I only tried to use that one, anyways.

markusfisch says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 11:52am

Nice idea, had fun playing it!

Dec 29, 2015 @ 11:13am

Nice little platformer, love the pixel art

Brightstar says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 4:25am

I like this. Nice job.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]