Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Grow in the Hole!

by ErgoMeSmart - Jam Entry

Grow in the Hole is a 2D side view golf game where the ball gets bigger after every hit and gets smaller after being holed. Can you complete 18 holes with a growing ball?

Hit the ball by clicking and dragging anywhere on the screen. The power is determined by the length of the drag, whilst the shot angle is determined by the angle of the drag.

The arrow on the ball shows both the shot power and the angle of the shot. Shot power is also shown as a percentage in the bottom left.

Each hole is a par 3, meaning the 18 hole round has a par of 54.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#170Fun(Jam)3.64
#370Mood(Jam)3.39
#446Overall(Jam)3.39
#686Graphics(Jam)3.12
#777Innovation(Jam)2.73
#817Humor(Jam)1.95
#911Theme(Jam)3.06

Comments

exhidor says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:42pm

I like the concept, the level design is not bad, great job !

crucknuk says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:48pm

I like this game, graphics are minimalist and the music is good, it's relaxing :) good job!

et1337 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:50pm

Gorgeous colors and music. Maybe not the most interesting use of theme, but a great game nonetheless. I got 42. :)

BubsyPoochies says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:12pm

This one is quite fun but pretty tricky, still haven't achieved a hole in one! ;) the ever growing ball mechanic is a great thought, and it could be used further in a level by adding different paths (faster but only accessible when small for example) in future versions of the game. Congrats on the release!

Reggianito says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:17pm

Really nice idea. The graphics are cute and the music is super relaxing. I did enjoy that you added a way to cancel a poorly planned shot. Most golf games with mouse/touch controls don't and I'll forever hate them for that.
The ball takes too long to stop when it falls in a round hole, only thing I disliked.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:54pm

I always feel a bit of nostalgia for web golf games; takes me back to good ol' Candyland Golf. I feel like this has a lot of potential to grow into something bigger (unintentional theme pun).

Polith Games says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:12pm

Minimakist graphics
Good music
Funny game

tantumgames says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:17pm

Pretty nice golf game with light graphics, good job!

denycetm says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 4:30pm

Solid entry reminds me of desert golfing. I will say on some of the higher par courses the ball gets a bit difficult to see. Also some indicator of when I can again begin my swing would be helpful. near full marks for mood from me as it really made me feel like I was golfing.

themadknights says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 4:31pm

Fun :)

Os_Reboot says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 4:45pm

Fun game. For some reason I had framerate issues (played on a Galaxy S5). The aesthetic is good, the level generation is surprising well done and fits the style of the game. Overall very solid entry!

Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:12pm

why if i goal with 1 hit i has score-2?

phi says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 12:50pm

Very soothing gameplay. :)
It's not too challenging (except when the ball is as small as a pixel, then it's hard to grab it...), the levels are nicely done and the music is fitting. Unfortunately the aiming is not optimized for full-screen, and sometimes the foreground and background colors are hard to distinguish. Otherwise, great work! :)
Best score: 50

adsilcott says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 4:23pm

Nice game! The generated levels work great and I like the aesthetics. The grow mechanic didn't really come into play much for me, but it was really fun and felt great to get a hole in one!

Xanjos says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 4:23pm

Nice twist on the usual online mini golf game. I really like how the course order is randomised every time you play (although the one with the red background and black foreground needs a bit of changing as it was too hard to read the text there).

Haokarlos says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 4:32pm

When you are good you the balls becomes so small that you can't nearly see it :S hahahaha Well, it's the basic minigolf game with different ball sizes and physics each shot (which makes you think about graduating the power and angle of every single shot), so it won't be boring but the innovation is not really there... I like the minimalist look with a good flat colours contrast and the music was cool.

qkerguelen says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 4:50pm

Cool music and graphics! Great level design, I felt like I was improving my skill at every level which is satisfying! gg!

kabel says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 8:22pm

Nice! Simple.

Jan 12, 2016 @ 9:24pm

Very well made. I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/lBXur6KZCzs

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]