Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Time to eat!

by ManuSaiz - Compo Entry

Time your clicks correctly to grow!

Instructions:
Click on the red gem at the right time to hit your opponent until its life reaches 0. Then you can eat your opponent to grow bigger!!

Detailed rules:
- Each hit takes 1 hp from enemy.
- Each critical takes 2 hp from enemy.
- Each miss takes 1 hp from you.
- Each turn afk takes 1 hp from you.
- You have one free attack per combat.
- When enemy HP becomes 2 or less, he gets stunned.
- ADITIONAL NOTE: Enemy attacks each turn, but the first one, and the turn he turns 2 HP or less.

I made the game in 8 hours from scratch so sorry about no music :/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#489Humor2.35
#683Graphics2.71
#822Mood2.28
#860Theme3.05
#876Innovation2.33
#940Fun2.10
#957Overall2.24
#1952Coolness32%

Comments

2011petia says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:47pm

Very nice Game :D

nonetheless says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:02pm

Strange little game :) managed to get to second level only :)

laFunk says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:04pm

Not really intuitive :/ I think I didn't get it. I'm supposing I got to hit the gem when its fully red but even if I hit the enemy every turn I always lose

Steven Miller says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:03pm

Really fun game, I made it to the end. The different forms all look really cool!

Melusine says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:08pm

Got to level 4 :D not bad

Luke says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:11pm

Maybe I don't understand it but I don't see how I'm supposed to give more than one damage

Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:22pm

Fun little game. The core mechanic was neat once I figured out when to click and how criticals worked. Took me a bunch of tries to work out what was going on though.

UntitledQ says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:52pm

Nice game :D

Jesse Freeman says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:12pm

Interesting idea but I wasn't sure when the "right time" was to click. Could use more polish but not bad for 8 hours from scratch. Great job!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]