Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

BoltStorm

by Kuality Games - Jam Entry

Boltstorm is a game about a Knight that ventures into the dungeon to save his fellow knights, but instead he gets trapped and is attacked by merciless executioners!

Theme of BoltStorm is growing. Goal is to Save the knights, and as your chain grows stronger survive the attack.

Leveling up will increase your firing rate and add extra followers, but make the level more difficult while the enemy numbers increase. Post your high score!

How to play:
1) Download the .rar file.
2) Extract.
3) Launch the .exe file.

Team:
Valentin Georgiev - Programming
Caspar Severijnen - Programming
Luka Kvirikashvili - Art/Design
Jennita Joosse - Art

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness80%
#110Graphics(Jam)4.24
#152Overall(Jam)3.76
#161Fun(Jam)3.65
#227Mood(Jam)3.60
#689Theme(Jam)3.49

Comments

DevDad says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:11pm

Fun little game ! With little more content and better AI navigation logic could be much better . Keep it up ;)

Warxen says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:06pm

I like the concept and the gameplay, nice little polish in there such as screen shake, death animations. Camera movement was also nice. Altough One problem I had was that the scene was too dark overall. Giving the enemies little glowing eyes or adding a spotlight (Diablo 2 style) could have helped this. I did not get the the leveling system, a 'wave' system would have made more sense in my opinion, because it prepares you for your next challenge, which adds meaning to you becoming stronger(growing).

Mr.Chippy says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:39pm

Fun... I could use a bit of polishing. The The graphics were great.

Max Amaden says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:40pm

This game is absolutely brilliant! The graphics are really good, as are the sound effects and the game mechanics! I played it through a few times because it's so smooth and fun to play! Overall, a really polished project - I can't wait to play your next game!

puddelipip says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:42pm

I liked it, would have preferred a bit less dark and a wider camera angle, nice job though, this could be fun!

(I'm able to fire arrows after dying for a while)

-SPiRiT- says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:46pm

Very good game ! =D
I agree with Warxen, a wave system would be more accurate x)

LudoGames says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:27pm

Very well made game. It sets a dark mood and attention to detail really gives it a nice feel. I like the juiciness and camera shakes. Good-looking and cute models, the gameplay is fun but I found a few dominant strategies. I think the game would benefit from better AI and maybe a different shape for the level. Good Job!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:27pm

Basic but fun. Pretty graphics!

crucknuk says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:57pm

It's a shame there's not much feedback when you're taking damage. I went from 7 followers to 3 in a few seconds because I didn't realise I was getting attacked ^^

Nice atmosphere and graphics :)

smatcher says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:30pm

Very nice game.
A minimap or something indicating where the ennemies and the knights are would be helpful.

MorganLeFay says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:49pm

I found your game pretty hard to play because I found enemies and them attacking me hard to notice. But the game looks amazing! So much detail and and everything is just really pretty. I've you improve on the gameplay a little bit it will be a great game!

sergicollado says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:55pm

Awesome game!

commodoreKid says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:59pm

I think graphics look really pretty but you should differentiate entities and environment. I couldn't see enemies and my own guys most of the time. A secondary directional light only on entities or color adjustments could help. Walking sound is not the best. Other than these, it's quite good work. Of course it would be better with more content but maybe not in 72 hours. Keep up the good work!

Kuality Games says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:38pm

Thanks for all the feedback guys! We'll be working on the bugs/issues you've spotted.

kirbytails7 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:01pm

Nice. It's kind of hard to see the enemies coming with the camera angle and the color choices.

tobia88 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:02am

Well done! Fun...Pretty graphics!

Chubb1337 says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 11:28am

Really good game, but a few things to notice:

-The screen shake is too excessive, made it painful to play
-It gets really though really fast
-I feel like the smaller knights should be able to join me when I'm near, not just when I hit them.

Besides those points, very good entry!

Kuality Games says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 3:44pm

@Chubb1337 Thanks for your feedback, we'll make sure to address those problems, cheers!

Wevel says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 8:53pm

Amazing fun, love the automatic crossbow that your group of knights ends up having. Cool particle effects as well

YinYin says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:29pm

The camera was rather bad in a lot of places, so I ended up camping on a wall. Reached level 41 while lazily swinging my aim back and forth between the spawn points. Got bored of doing that and waited for death.

Besides that it is very nicely polished.

Tapehead says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 2:29pm

the pillars and the camera view (if you are in the bottom of the screen) makes the game sometimes unpredictable but apart from that is this game very cool! i had a lot of fun with it! keep it up!

Dec 20, 2015 @ 2:38pm

I reached level 30 by holding position in the left bottom corner. It was pretty fun.

Diel Mormac says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 2:39pm

Awesome Graphics!

As others said before, with a better AI and more variations in the command you will have an 5/5 game!

Keep working on this pleeeaseee :D

Congratulations!

Dec 20, 2015 @ 2:41pm

Very creative take on the top-down shooter genre. I really liked the concept alot and it was definitely pretty fun to play.

The graphics were also pretty decent and they worked pretty well with the experience. The only problem though, is that the enemies didn't stand out enough from the background as it was pretty dark and they had some pretty dark textures. Don't know if this was intended as part of a difficulty, but still it could use a bit tweaking.

Otherwise, it was pretty nice. Well done! :)

wdebowicz says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 3:34pm

I have a fun! I like the mechanism, I don't like that screen shaking it to big when you have bigger army.

Nega Drive says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 3:37pm

Great game! Very nicely polished, particularly the audio work, which was punchy and satisfying. Gameplay is good too but I did find myself getting cheap damage from enemies spawning from behind pillars, maybe a more prominent spawn effect and making the pillars transparent when the camera is near them would help. Nice work overall.

Kuality Games says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 3:47pm

Thanks a lot for your feedback guys! We'll be working on those issues, cheers.

dreadzilla says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 3:56pm

Well done! Awesome game.

Rodaja says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 4:28pm

Good game, although a bit hard. I didn't like the camera movement, it exposed my back a bit too much, and also the enemies spawning right on my nose seemed a bit unfair. Other than that, nice game, keep it up!

Dec 20, 2015 @ 4:44pm

The camera really messed things up for me. It just seemed broken because of the rebound from shots. It doesn't even make sense to have the kind of rebound from arrows:P
I think it would have worked better if the rebound applied to the character.

Joror says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 4:48pm

Nice graphics & feel, gameplay does not evolve much beyond the start tho.
(different weapons / followers / enemies)

davidB says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 5:48pm

Nice gfx, sound and variation of top down shooter (in fact it's not top view), I like the growing team idea.

On Windows: not AZERTY keabord friendly and bug in the menu (hover of the mouse is not correct Y delta)

camlang says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 6:31pm

Lovely graphics and effects.The control feels very rewardind. But the camera angles are painfull. Quite often I would ram into a crowd of enemies simply because can't see them. The pillars are making it even worse.

intXparts says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 8:40pm

Awesome game! The jerkiness of the camera made it feel really intense. Great graphics, sounds and solid gameplay. It was also successful in killing my display driver haha. Excellent work!

Pat AfterMoon says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 8:44pm

It's fun and graphics are very nice.

Jod says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 9:14pm

Great graphics! I experienced some lag, sadly, while playing it on my MacBook Air.

Nice chunky sound effects for the arrows, loved that. Great little animations and lighting, well done!

lurils says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 8:04pm

really fun and gets pretty challenging as you advance, well done

KillaRiku says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 2:18am

It's fun, but the sounds are getting outta control.

rodobodolfo says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 3:31am

this was really fun and addictive! REally solid entry.
My only complaint is that Camera shake get out of control wehn my squad grew much. Great job!

Louspirit says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 5:21pm

I really enjoyed the gameplay. for me the screen is tilting a little bit too much. Please think of the non qwerty keyboards nex time ;)

mxjones says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 10:02pm

It was fun, I was playing the web version and had some troubles with it not shooting. I wasn't sure if it was because I was moving? Still fun to play though. Good job

Dec 25, 2015 @ 11:19pm

impressive graphics and very cool gameplay idea! would love to see more features and maybe a winning condition...

dx0ne says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 4:51pm

Cute mayhem. It's fun but please add option to disable screenshake.

LukeZaz says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 2:20am

Excellent audio and graphics - especially impressive for a Ludum Dare submission.

Regarding gameplay:
Movement could've been more interesting (leaps, charging) as enemies simply moving in your direction made dodging a simple thing.

It also felt unfair that enemies spawned below me given my perspective causing a slight sight disadvantage in that direction. Finally, I found out that by camping in any of the maps corners I could easily go on for as long as I want if I had enough Knights with me.

Lastly, on audio, the shooting sound quickly became obnoxious enough to drown out all other audio entirely once my firerate and chain got long enough. Additionally, the single background track, although interesting and fitting at first, quickly became boring after playing long enough.

themadknights says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 10:41am

Really beautiful snake :D. Great work, I liked it.

Haokarlos says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 12:16pm

Good job! Really like the graphics

WizByte_Games says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 1:48pm

Wow I just love this game. Its like playing Snake and Geometry Wars in one.

rojo says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 3:28pm

Had a good time blasting away with my firing squad! I liked the aesthetic a lot as well. I think some powerups or secondary fire modes would help mix it up and keep things fresh as you get later into the game.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]