Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

YOLO

by Deal With It - Jam Entry

You Only Live Once.
So live as long as you can!

Controls: (two buttons! almost)
Up - - Jump. Some characters jump higer than others.
Down - Scream. Kid&baby scream is pretty useless, but hey! Try to scream on an obstacle as grown-up!
(and space to start)

Try to avoid everything, except green potions of youth. Be careful, babies should not drink potions, or they get too young :D

So. How long can you live?

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#66Humor(Jam)3.84
#113Audio(Jam)3.82
#214Fun(Jam)3.55
#225Theme(Jam)4.00
#254Mood(Jam)3.56
#275Overall(Jam)3.58
#444Innovation(Jam)3.24
#686Graphics(Jam)3.12

Comments

FloatingGhost says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:57pm

I always feel weird downloading from a russian site.

That music was nice, and >kek hat
11/10

Luke says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:57pm

Loved it, though it got kind of repetitive after a while.

KoalaBot says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:58pm

I loved the use of the song from the Truman Show (Or was it Everyday by Carly Commando? So hard to tell between them).

Very funny and witty little game. I enjoyed it!

Yamzho says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:59pm

Nice take on the themes. Good simple entry ! GG

eerongal says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:00pm

Is there any point to screaming? i couldn't find any...

Deal With It says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:19am

Yeah, sure it is! Grown-up and old guy can avoid obstacles by screaming on them.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:13am

Why can't I stop playing this game

Muel says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:29am

Now I want a kek hat hahaha

wuppy29 says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:49pm

Funny way of dealing with obstacles. I especially enjoyed dying on the rejuvenation potion as a baby.

iovorobiev says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 4:46am

wow wow, it's awesome!

yoanndeplo says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 1:26pm

Wait, this is a russian game, but there is no vodka ??? Mmh, IT'S A TRAP !

Neonlare says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 6:42pm

Gets a lil repetitive but the presentation (specially audio-wise) is pretty damn snazzy. Definitely appreciating the humour in this, enjoyed this quite a bit, the golden rule of KISS definitely prevails with this. Good stuff!

terryg says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 2:58am

This game rocks!!! I liked how the speed of the game changed constantly as you change ages.

Lukbebalduke says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 12:22pm

I really liked the music and all the changes that happen when you "grow up", the theme fits well and the controls are nice. Cool game!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]