Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Polaris

by wongcito - Jam Entry

Polaris is a platformer puzzle game where you use your electrical polarity to move around the world.The game can be played with a keyboard, a keyboard and a mouse or with an Xbox controller.​

Controls
Only keyboard: X/C + Arrow keys /ASWD
Keyboard + Mouse: Left/Right click + AWSD/Arrow keys
Xbox 360: A and X buttons + Left stick

Features
- Different ways to solve a same level.
- Speedrun friendly.
- Precision-required levels for hardcore players.
- A retro-inspired sountrack.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#211Graphics(Jam)4.00
#230Innovation(Jam)3.53
#369Overall(Jam)3.47
#371Fun(Jam)3.33
#1952Coolness32%

Comments

anshulsinghxd says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:13pm

Nice work fellow developer(s)! Loved the graphics specially character! Nicely made, well done!

wongcito says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:21pm

Thanks!

Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:51am

Loved the mechanic and end of level transitions. The art was lovely, too. Nice job!

eerongal says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:52am

This has the really solid foundation of a neat puzzle game. Nice work!

2pae says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:56am

nice work, the graphic are amaziong and music....and music, i loooooveeeeee it

Pantoufle says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:17pm

Great game! Congratulations!

bitdecaygames says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:18pm

Loved the graphics! Nice job!

Anshul Goyal says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:47pm

Looks neat.
May be its just me but I failed to understood how the attract and repel direction work. When I right-click on the top of the character, it always go in random directions. May be I am playing it completely wrong.

lawendt says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:48pm

Really well done in many ways, but I think this isn't about 2 buttons or growing. But it's amazing, specially in it's level design. Got too hard for me to do the combos, and maybe improving it's movimentation would make it much more better than it already is. Keep up with the awesome work!

Trizek35 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:55pm

That's very original and working mechanic ! A bit sad how much it repels/attract you is a bit counter intuitive : sometimes I feel it was repeling/attracting me way too hard/way too weak.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]