Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Delicious Bird

by scars377 - Compo Entry

Well it's just an one button controls game plus another button.

For the first time I draw all the graphics on my own! haha.


*fixed the problem that it only worked in Chrome,
It should be working fine in FireFox and IE now.

*add Post-Compo Version

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness87%
#293Humor2.78
#554Theme3.64
#614Fun2.98
#681Audio1.58
#795Innovation2.56
#795Graphics2.44
#818Mood2.29
#861Overall2.71

Comments

jcmonkey says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:14am

the game wouldnt load for me.

Crafting4U says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:17am

This was a simple game. Graphics are good. This doesn't work on firefox, but it does on chrome (I'm using a mac). The gravity is a little low and its a bit tricky to control this at first. Overall, this is a not bad game. :)

nystical says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:21am

Pretty addictive and fun!

Remicy says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:23am

so addictive!! can't stop playing it!!

simoroshka says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:51pm

I don't get it. How do you break those things? I just get stuck.

goffmog says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:58pm

Wow, this is for people who found flappy bird too easy! Took me a while to get the hang of the gravity and stop sticking myself to the ceiling, it's a nice twist on the flappy gameplay though... Really hungry now.

x92rwzb says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:01pm

This game was quite hard to play at first but once I got the hang of it, it was actually kind of fun

okusho says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:08pm

This bird is so cool!! *yummy*

MorganLeFay says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:22pm

Really hard but fun game. While it's working on my Firefox it get's reaaaaly slow after the first obstacle. Chrome works a lot better

Elenesski says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:11pm

it is really hard to play, really hard to not hit the top or bottom of the tank. Good theme though and the graphics are good.

wilsk says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:19pm

Simple but very very frustrating game :) I'm hopeless at flappy whatever so struggled to get past the first barrier. Thanks

kmakai says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:01pm

Interesting take on a well-tread genre, and the debris from the barriers breaking was a nice touch. Good job!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:02pm

Weeeell, I'm not too fond of flappy bird derived clones so yeah.
However, you do win points for innovation since you have to carve your own path. Game could've used some audio.
Good take though on a tired idea, shows there is still room for improvement in this thing.

Cheers,
Ionut(Tyrants.not.found team)

BoltKey says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:06pm

The graphics are funny and nice. I didn't get it at first, but once I understood how it works, it was fun for a while. Then it became easy and repetitive. But I kind of liked it.

UgiWithAKnife says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:51pm

Flappy bird got roasted! Some audio would be nice but overall fun and addictive.

qwetro says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:33pm

It's build on Flappy Bird, the shooting eggs did some plus to the game, made it more fun, and more interesting, and more difficult.

CaptainRed_ says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:35pm

Fairly addictive! At first I was upset because this looked like another flappy bird clone, but it's actually a great take on that, good one.

Jimbly says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:36pm

Simple and clean, fun, nicely done!

Firellon says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:05pm

Need balancing. It's like adjusted Flappy bird where you need to guess where next hole in the wall resides. Too bad there's more than 2 controls, as you need to restart the game by pressing different button, somehow...

kirilllosev says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:41pm

the shooting mechanic adds to the initially hard game more complexity. but i think the main disappointment is chicken's movement which is a bit sluggish for me

karlipoppins says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:28am

I liked this entry. A nice variation of flappy bird which ended up being super challenging! The hitboxes are pretty unforgiving but this actually gets to be super fun when competing with someone to get as many points as possible. I was able to go through 11 candy bars :) Great game!

ChuiGum says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 11:08pm

Nice take on Flappy bird, I like how I can shoot the things to get through rather than already having an opening. Cool game! c:

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]