Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Nia in Mushroom World

by Alsatian Studio - Jam Entry

Nia is finding her way back home, but some bastards won't let her go. But good thing is, she can destroy them with magic seeds, which grow into powerful mushroom.
Press arrow to move, Left Ctrl to fire, and spacebar to jump. Don't touch those bastards, you will get killed.
***
Hey guys, thank you so much for your comments and advice. My wife just gave birth to our son, and I was so busy last week.
I just fixed some bugs, now Nia will jump and throw more smoothly. Do you think "throwing" is a good idea? Or I should give her a gun?
***
Nia now can throw seed while running/ jumping; and she also can see further. With these changes, this game run a little better; but I think I should add more enemies.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#486Humor(Jam)2.69
#525Mood(Jam)3.20
#754Fun(Jam)2.87
#879Innovation(Jam)2.55
#910Overall(Jam)2.84
#990Theme(Jam)2.80

Comments

MiggyGMan says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:52pm

This was a really fun game! I loved the graphics but didn't like how long it took to throw the mushroom at first. It was fun after I got used to it though

Troma says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:52pm

I like the atmosphere you guys setted!

Haokarlos says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:54am

Hey guys! I cant open the mac version :S

Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:02am

@Haokarlos: sorry, I don't have a Mac right now for testing (built directly from Unity). I will check it later. Thank you.

pvwradtke says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:03am

Weel, I'm not sure why you don't want such a gorgeous looking game to not be rated for its graphics. It really is that dood looking. The idea itself is good, but the execution could be further improved into a post compo version. I like the idea of throwing the growing mushrooms, but I feel like it's hard to use that properly. But for a 72 hours game, this is not a huge issue, especially when it's so well presented.

hpearson2 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:03am

Missing quite/exit button on death screen

Indie L says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:04am

I always die because she attack only stop.But the game is very cool!

Galan says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:05am

While the controls and physics could use some work, the charm and derpy humor kept me playing for way longer than I expected,

amras0000 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:05am

Minor nitpick here, but a lot of people don't read several lines into a description, so try and provide the controls for your game in the game itself.

More generally speaking, the game's rather pretty but the mushrooms seem to fall on their side whenever I throw them. I'm not sure if that's intentional, but it looks a bit glitchy. Since you're working in unity, I think a better approach would be to disable the physics on the mushroom once it's planted (mushroomObject.GetComponent<Rigidbody>().SetActive(false);), and just keep the collider as a trigger so any baddies that walk into it get killed. (make sure it's only a trigger so Nia can walk past it and it doesn't get knocked over - trigger colliders don't have physics)

Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:07am

The idea is great but the throw mechanic is too long :(
Great and colorfull 3D graphic :)

SpecialChef says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:14am

Graphics and audio are great. I really can't say much about the theme... This uses 4 button controls and the only growing I see is the mushroom. I do have a minor complaint about the escape key not exiting the game. That being said, the game is very well put together, and the concept feels uniform in all aspects. I feel like this was done well. Thank you!

MrAmlice says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:16am

Great graphics and overall polish! I'm always amazed at the level level of quality that some developers can pull off in such short periods of time. Great Job!

fxtagn says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:19am

Mac version does not works :(

Shivur says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:22am

Very beautiful game but the bastards are coming too fast she doesn't have time to throw her mushrooms.

socapex says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:22am

If you get an error on OSX: Open terminal
type "cd", drag the main.app, add "/Content/MacOSX"
Now chmod +x main
Good to go.

qwetro says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:25am

Very interesting gameplay, the mushroom is quite funny, lol. Great graphics, love the atmosphere!

Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:15am

As soon as the game loads, my character immediately runs to the left and falls off the world. Looks nice, from what I can see before I die.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:19am

i assume you got the graphics on the unity asset store, thus the missing category - the mechanics were not polished and it was difficult know when enemies were coming - good effort

gmatsura says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:23am

Fun concept, but difficult to play due to the slow mushroom throw. I'm also not a big fan of the one hit kill mechanics.

Krafty says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:44am

Really nice game! I love the graphics and animations.

Andrew Deem says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:53am

Nice game! Really pretty even if you didn't do the art. I think a bigger version with other kinds of mushrooms would be a fun game!

I do wish I could change direction mid-air while jumping. But it's not a big deal. :P Good job!

Caspila says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:33am

Really wanted to give it a try but doesn't work on Mac OS 10.10

Tensoplast01 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:17am

Great game! :D

micky says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:57am

very interesting weapon haha, fun game :), great looking game for that matter

terry90 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:59am

Atmosphere was cool, and the graphics were great (would have rated them highly!). SFX could use some rethinking, but it was a charming little game nonetheless!

MercuryXGames says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:18am

nice game!

monetai says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:23am

awesome graphics awesome music, game is way too hard too fast

DrZanuff says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:39am

Wow Guys! Nice atmosphere you have here. Some magic you have done in 72 hours. Good job!

nosfer says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:05pm

Haha I love how it glitches in most funny way for example when you jump on mushroom and the situation when mobs are running after you :)

Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:53am

This has the potential to become a full game. Keep it up.

psychomonster says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:50pm

Hey guys... you should have allowed to rate the very cool graphics... +1 for that... with some gameplay (control) polishing this would be a good project for a post-compo version... Good job..

Dec 25, 2015 @ 6:13am

Hey guys, thank you so much for your comments and advice. My wife just gave birth to our son, and I was so busy last week.
I just fixed some bugs, now Nia will jump and throw more smoothly. Do you think "throwing" is a good idea? Or I should give her a gun?

nucleartide says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 8:31am

Great graphics. Without reading the description, I was confused at first since I wanted to bop enemies on the head. :D Pretty neat otherwise, the music is very relaxing.

alliel_a says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 11:40am

nice game

Dec 25, 2015 @ 4:20pm

Nice game guys, good photos, nice graphics, nice music, congrats! (:

stefenism says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 5:51pm

Holy hell...did I just do drugs?

Neonlare says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 6:34pm

Themeing isn't amazingly strong to either growing or 2 buttons, feels like the throw system needs some speeding up and tweaking. It's definitely promising, and way more ambitious than most LD titles, so that gets my vote for sure. Would vote for graphics and audio but there's no options for that. I think the throwing mechanic is fine as a basis, it needs some refining. Giving her a gun would drop some of the charm and make it a little more generic in my own opinion. If you're going to expand the game outside of the jam, maybe have vials or some kind of combination mechanic to compliment the throwing? Either way, interesting to see such an ambitious looking title show up in LD. Looking forward to seeing more in the future :).

Dec 29, 2015 @ 2:47am

Nia now can throw seed while running/ jumping; and she also can see further. With these changes, this game run a little better; but I think I should add more enemies.

guoboism says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 2:49am

Man, take care of your wife. Jam can wait...

Dec 31, 2015 @ 2:11am

Thanks, of course I do, man. I'm just spend some free time on this :D

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]