Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Day of the Dust Bunny

by UncleChris - Compo Entry

This is the Day of the Dust Bunny

You are a dust bunny, and you are rolling along trying to out run Mabel the housekeeper. It is procedurally generated, but didn't get clean up in place. While trying to import my splash screen, I accidentally deleted my main scene from disk about 2 hours before upload time! I was able to pull it together - lucky for some prefab saving along the way.

It has no sound - though I made some recordings, just time ran out. :(

I am entering as both two buttons and growing!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#159Humor3.19
#468Theme3.75
#490Graphics3.07
#705Innovation2.75
#708Mood2.63
#763Fun2.71
#861Overall2.71

Comments

pjimmy says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:19pm

nice. the controls felt a little stiff, you should put different obstacles or make mabel go slower in the beginning. cool concept and cute visuals.

Lizandros says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:33pm

Have I won? https://www.dropbox.com/s/3l9qpwnsxxigh7f/Day%20of%20the%20Dust%20Bunny.png?dl=0
This litle bunnies as colliders arent a good idea :s

scriptorum says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:33pm

When Mabel got close I jumped above her and stopped until she passed. Then it got easy. Got bigger, faster, and by the time I caught up to her, jumping sent me into the stratosphere. 1200: That's the end of the shelf. 2700: Finally I come down, falling into the deep purple. 7200: Accelerating so quickly! Moving so fast that the pattern on the background seems to move backwards. 13000: Left the house! There goes the purple background, it's just horizon now and forever. I kept watching until 100k, sang Major Tom, and took a suicide pill.

UncleChris says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:40pm

Thanks for the feedback!
@Lizandros - That is way odd. :/ You definitely have won in my Book! :) I think I need to move them from colliders to triggers - and had set up for removing them, but time didn't allow for finishing that piece.

@Scriptorum - LOL - and Thanks! Will need to look into updating that.

The plan was to put a window to outside and another "level", but learning Blender for the "wall" and window was too much time. Though primitive cubes may have been an option, grr I am now thinking! :(

Nooner Bear says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:35pm

I laughed when I first saw Mabel, funny concept. The game itself is quite challenging, there isn't much time before Mabel comes out and sweeps you up.

MintArcade says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:39pm

Funny game. Collectable colliders not the best idea, but stil great fun.

Blobby101 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:41pm

Good start - I like the idea of collecting dust to grow. I agree the controls feel a bit off though, it also seems slightly counter intuitive to have the other dust bunnies slow you down at first.

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:49pm

One meeeelion meters. I tried the tip to let her pass around and then flew off into the Unity skybox! It was great. I like Mabel's design, the "real" game would be a lot easier if the dust bunnies didn't slow you down, but I like the idea and setting. Nice.

ddoomus says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:58am

https://www.dropbox.com/s/wln5ugy9g2i4ug1/Screen%20Shot%202015-12-15%20at%207.55.41%20PM.png?dl=0

I liked the graphics. The idea was ok, but a bit too simple.

Looks like @Lizandros got a higher score though.

karlipoppins says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:28am

omg that lady is so well done I hated getting caught by her!! :) I wasn't sure what the button to stop was for, as I always tried to jump and go full boost to prevent dying from dusty grandma! :) Nice game!

candlesan says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:47am

The idea is really cool - too bad you ran into those technical difficulties along the way I would have loved to see it the way you had imagined!

publicidadeba says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:29am

It lacks some basic assets, but even with that in it's crazy fun!

BeardyBard says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:37pm

Fell you. We've ran out of time in LD33 and it was sad.
But don't let this problem upset you.
Next LD you'll make it all :)

knason says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:38pm

Nice game, I had fun playing, I liked the graphics as well, good job!

Anachron says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:53am

Funny! Some music would add to the mood, maybe a funny voice for Mabel

Jan 4, 2016 @ 5:58pm

Interesting!

StaNov says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 7:42pm

Nice graphics and idea. But I'm not quite sure what to do there... I jumped once or twice, but the cleaning lady caught me then.

About deleting scene - use version control like git on GitHub.

Haokarlos says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 9:11pm

Nice idea, good job!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]