Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Grow and Match

by johnnwfs - Compo Entry

Grow and Match uses both the Grow and two button theme.
Produced primarily for a Computer without a game controller, I use only the A and D keys to substitute for "buttons".
Grow and Shrink your center globe to move the marker towards smaller orbiting globes. While the marker touches these globes, their colors change.
Match the colored and numbered orbs to the pattern displayed to proceed to the next level.
You are trying to get through each level as quickly as possible.
The Compo entry has 8 simple levels demonstrating the various possible variations in play. I plan to add distinct levels which you'll be able to see at http://JohnNWFS.net.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#44Theme4.35
#148Innovation3.73
#325Humor2.71
#552Overall3.15
#554Mood2.87
#645Audio2.16
#711Graphics2.63
#806Fun2.62

Comments

DomNomNom says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:56am

Neat game mechanic concept although I found it a bit slow to play and do the actions that I wanted
Swapping the semantics for colours/numbers would be quite cool as that way it's easier to preempt when to move away from a small globe.
Well done for having multiple stages that introduce complexity.

Nizar89 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:20pm

Cool idea, loved it.
Maybe a bit too slow, which lead to frustration in my case.
The only black spot is the audio, it was painful after a couple of minutes

knason says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:35pm

I liked this a lot, really fun! Great job!

johnnwfs says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:42pm

I was worried about the grow/shrink sound being a problem with extended play. An updated version would change it up. Also, the HTML version seems much slower than the Windows version. I'd have to look at optimizing the speed for any updated version to make it less frustrating. Thanks for the reviews.

acotis says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 7:03pm

Pretty cool mechanic, but I kept getting annoyed by missing the ball by *that* much and having to do another full revolution. Perhaps you could make the 'smaller ball' speed faster?

themadknights says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 6:01pm

The concept is interesting and the theme fits in perfectly! Good job :)

miwuc says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 7:58am

Interesting mechanic, although I found it frustrating to play. At first it's reaaally slow and you spend like 15 seconds each turn doing nothing. It gets faster later on, but I got angry at level 6 and quit, so maybe it's just not a game for me :) One thing that might help is having a more obvious order of color change, and/or a cheatsheet that shows the order, so that you can plan things better.
It's a detail but I liked the subtle different backgrounds for each level. The game fits the 2-button theme perfectly.

Silvio says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 10:21pm

nice mechanics

Dec 26, 2015 @ 6:10am

very simple and challenging :P twas quite fun.

Dec 27, 2015 @ 4:33am

very different concept, i like that it has some challenge thats well though out as apposed to being challenging just because of bad coding, well done :). a soundtrack could have gone a long way but i enjoyed it none the less

thristhart says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 4:55am

I love the growing/shrinking to change rotation speed mechanic! In practice I found the pattern matching tedious, but the movement mechanic is interesting.

LoneStranger says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 5:17pm

Neat idea; good use of two button controls and growing. The slowdown when growing larger was distracting, and if you miss, the downtime between rotating back can get boring.

nassi says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 7:32pm

The web version had some annoying slowdowns and the audio was unbearable. The mechanic itself is quite annoying too, as at least I had a lot of downtime due to missing the "target" regularly or not touching it for long enough or for too long.

johnnwfs says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 9:42pm

Wow

johnnwfs says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 9:43pm

oops - enter too soon.. Wow. Well, thanks for the honest feedback! *sigh*

BloodJohn says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 6:02am

I got the hang of after some hesitation. The game lacks emotional involvement.

johnnwfs says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 8:02pm

Thanks BloodJohn - good point.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]