Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Two Finger Platformer

by pedrocb - Compo Entry

This is a platform game that you can only use two buttons to reach the end. The player chooses two keys to play, one to choose the action, the other to execute it.
Use LCTRL to restart the level.

Hope you like it, have fun :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness63%
#238Innovation3.56
#316Humor2.74
#331Audio2.97
#391Theme3.84
#475Mood2.96
#612Overall3.09
#694Fun2.84
#834Graphics2.28

Comments

mf1214 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:40am

Fun and interesting concept. It takes a while to get used to the control switching.

swellbastion says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:42am

this feels classic in a good way if that makes sense

pianoman373 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:50am

Interesting game. The moving platforms in one of the levels don't seem to be synchronized, making it either very hard or unbeatable.

Gravity Games says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:52am

The game feels rather clunky to me and not very fun, and the graphics are pretty bad. I suppose the concept is pretty interesting though, just...well, not very fun IMO. The music is pretty good though.

powerkraut_ says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:09am

I like the concept, but it feels really strange until you get used to the distances. Pretty difficult.

Tensoplast01 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:42pm

Great concept! Just frustrating at the beginning, but that's not a bad thing :)
Good work!

manabreak says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:50pm

Really cool concept and interpretation of the theme! Quite difficult, though. :)

Chaserbrown says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:51pm

I loved it! The two button concept was slightly similar to mine!

qbicfeet says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:01pm

Aaagh, forcing myself to unlearn everything I know about platformers makes my head hurt, but it's great fun, a good challenge. Bonus points for letting the player pick what two keys they want to use.

Like some others pointed out, the level with two moving platforms is fairly difficult because they don't move in sync.

z3 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:25am

nice game, with nice levels, the game mechanics was simple and at same time challenger to play with the actions. good work

jofra says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:02am

Parabéns meu puto! Grande ideia!

dalbinblue says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:46am

Interesting concept, but unfortunately frustrating for two reasons. First it is incredibly difficult to switch between controls. Considering you only have to actions (and a lack of action with stopping), it probably would be easier to control if on action was jump and one action was move further.

Second, there seemed to be some oddness in the velocity of both the run and the jump actions. Especially with the jump I found there where three distinct heights that it randomly selected when the jump button was pressed. Most times it was a normal high, but often it would only jump one block or launch two thirds up the screen. This made it very difficult to do precision work.

In the end I couldn't get past the level with multiple platforms, it was just too difficult.

Reggianito says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:39am

Well, it certainly is an original concept. It's also frustrating as shit, but managed to beat it. Nice one.

pjimmy says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:03pm

nice! very clever concept. I like how you gave the option of choosing which buttons to control from the beginning. But the gameplay is a little clunky and rough, it needs some improvement. Well done ;)

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 3:20pm

I managed to get to the room with the moving platform, actually landed on it once and then it didn't drag me along and I gave up. One bridge too far for me.
Good adherence and usage of the 2-button theme and music in a compo entry is always rare. Well done but too fiddly for me :)

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 10:59pm

Nice idea! was a little hard to get used to but once I did it was all good :)
Fun level design and nice audio!

Hybrog says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 12:13am

Nice idea, takes time to adapt to the switching, and for some reason I kept staring at the "oops" screen and forgetting to press enter :P. Would have been cool to have different actions added on over time, but still a nifty idea, digging the whole "switch the current action" thing, maybe you can expand on it, but without the restriction of two-buttons next time. Solid execution and solid game overall, great job. :)

DarkGrisen says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 1:01pm

This is a really funny game. IT was hard but not too hard because I completed all the levels :P

Well done!

UrbanHelsing says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 7:27pm

Really hard to control, but pretty fun nonetheless. Couldn't get past the level with two moving boxes, that was way too hard. Being able to move back and forth in the input queue would probably make it much better, but then the game would require more than 2 buttons and therefore not fit the theme.

gelisam says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 2:15am

In order to play the game on OS X, I had to run the following two commands:

chmod a+x TwoFingerPlatformer.app/Contents/MacOS/love
mv TwoFingerPlatformer.app/Contents/Frameworks/OpenAL-Soft.framework/Versions/A/OpenAL-Soft TwoFingerPlatformer.app/Contents/Frameworks/OpenAL-Soft.framework/OpenAL-Soft

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]