Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Interview at Incredible Inc

by EvanEGibbs - Compo Entry

You got an interview at the renowned Incredible Incorporated! Make a good impression in your interview and get a job at one of the coolest places on earth!

This game uses the "Two Button Controls" theme, so the controls are rather simple! The "Y" key for yes, and the "N" key for no.

Thank you so much for playing, and let me know what you think! I love all feedback.

@EvanEGibbs
EvanEGibbs@gmail.com

***Update***

There was one question where the answer to the question was incorrect (the coin flip question) which I fixed. I also fixed the small issue of getting two similar, but slightly different questions in the same interview (especially with two versions of each math question, one of them being right and one of them being wrong).

My website has the updated version, but I left my compo entry unchanged:

http://evanegibbs.com/post/135171774401/interview-at-incredible-inc

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#57Humor3.75
#77Graphics4.12
#157Overall3.70
#158Mood3.51
#260Fun3.46
#327Audio2.98
#369Innovation3.34
#372Theme3.86

Comments

PoV says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:19am

Cute game. I didn't get the job. ;)

DivineOmega says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:49am

Just played. Really enjoyed, but boy are those some funny interview questions! :)

blohod says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:29am

I just can't count cards :(

Husky says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:11am

This is really cute! although I didn't get the job, I still enjoy it lol.

pinion says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:26am

I got the job! Great idea, nice graphics. Really liked it.

jcwelgemoed says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:28am

Fun game. Did not get the job :)

printhello says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:28am

Saw this on the feed, been hanging out to play it. Wasn't disappointed :)

jerry111zhang says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:36am

Great graphics! This is just like interviews in reality and I can't get the job in both!

Tensoplast01 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:38am

Cute and great concept! Like :)

Remicy says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:40am

I love it! Character are very cute

Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:01am

Oh god it took me 11 tries to get the job.. now I have to do it again to see what happens if I refuse.. uuuuggghhhhhhhh
Very nicely done!

dvdfu says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:20pm

Really fair questions made tougher when put on the spot! Loved the concept, great work. Also neat character designs.

Somnium says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:33pm

Excellent graphics and mood!

I loved the concept - a great way to use the theme.

fluidvolt says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:29pm

Aww, this is wonderful. I love the little details -- the clock ticking away in back, the different speech sound patterns of the interviewers. Fun game. The only thing I didn't like were the math questions! :)

ehgoodenough says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:47am

Doesn't it take 365 days and four hours for the earth to revolve around the sun? Saying 365 isn't actually correct... That was the only scruple, everything else about the game was awesome.

daveh says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:46am

I hope my zillion units a year salary converts well in to British pounds! Great game, despite brining back many uncomfortable interview memories from yesteryear. ;)

esayitch says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:17am

Eh that damn boss... I failed the third interview :(

Cool concept and very well-executed. Good luck :)

Dmitrix says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:06am

I didn't get the job.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:18am

This was fun, and I liked the art style. Great job!

anael says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:39am

So cute

puppetmaster says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:58pm

Lovely art and very cute. You don't notice that you are playing a 2 button controlled game :-)
Congrats!

philipp says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:07pm

Neat idea. The art style is very lovely.

What bothered me a litte bit, was that i sometimes got questions asking nearly the exact same thing (e.g. the math questions). So, those were pretty easy to solve.

Really liked how you upped the difficulty.

Calciumtrice says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:43pm

This is really cute. Adorable graphics and voices for the characters, timed system for the questions worked perfectly. All good stuff.

I repeatedly didn't get the job. Could maybe also have a bit of an easy mode option where you can skip back to the most recent interview you got to before?

Cool game. :)

Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:05pm

You have been featured in today's Ludum Dare to Believe! Check it out - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=i9hEAf60v38

Ulydev says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:50pm

"Aren't nachos the best thing ever?" - I got my job thanks to that question.

vortex says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 6:01pm

Was really fun, but I'm bad at reading things quickly, so I didn't get past Nicol...
I didn't like that you have to start all the way at the beginning again...

IAmSpencer says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:21pm

got to the top, was offered a zillion, turned it down cause I'm a dragon, haha very fun game!

some of the questions really tripped me up with the wording, which while adding to the challenge, didn't feel annoying, the whole game kept a very cute & fun vibe, nice job :)

TaoPhoenix says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 7:59am

Yes. in fact
i play chess.

Ya gotta know (on paper!?) about 7 equations then you win.

52 cards per deck is 4 x 13 so nothin' near 54

And the prog likes to ask it twice

VersatileBox says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 4:46pm

Great game! Congratulations
I failed so many times to get the job I started think maybe it isn't really for me haha

wooltech says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 2:34am

Fun game that looks great and is really well polished.

Jesse Freeman says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 1:30pm

Great take on the theme. I didn't even make it past the first round. Good thing I don't use math in my job :P

LittleThor says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 12:05pm

Very cute and fun game! Very good job! I really enjoyed the way you introduced controls, it's very smart!

zulman says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 4:27pm

OMG, i want but can't get the job :)

zulman says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 4:27pm

Also (sorry for posting it here) sorry for not clear rules in Let's Play Simulator 2016 (http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-34/?action=preview&uid=31114). Hope this screenshot (http://take.ms/flHZu) will help you to understand how to detect good/bad games :)

LeReveur says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 9:16pm

I didn't get the job, Nicole don't think I'm good enough. But, it's fine, they will find someone better.
Funny little game, good job ! :)

Pusty says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 4:05am

Nice design! Love the text appearing sound (I don't know what it is reminding me of)! Although I don't really like the math tasks :O

Really good game!

klianc09 says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 5:03pm

Really liked the way you introduced the controls. But although you made the beginning skippable, I still had to rewatch the middle segments over and over again.

Since when is the chance to get 2 tails by flipping 2 coins not 25%, or have I misread something in the hurry?

EvanEGibbs says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 1:59am

@Klianc09
Thank you for your comment! That was actually an error in the code, the correct answer to the coin question is supposed to be yes instead of no. As far as I know it's the only incorrect one! I am going to do an update to fix it. Sorry about that! And thanks for playing and your comment. :)

Aurel Bílý says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 4:51pm

Pretty fun. I wish you could also skip the cutscenes in the middle.

Dec 29, 2015 @ 2:14pm

Finally got the chance to play this and it is great. As with your other games I loved the art, so much character with all the interviewee's. Colour choices and designs are well thought out.

Took me quite a few tries to get the job but was just fun to play and see all the different questions being asked.

agilejoshua says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 3:24pm

Didn't get the job :(

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]