Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Infinity Monkey Autocorrect

by andyman404 - Jam Entry

This funk-filled game explores what would happen to the Infinity Monkey/Typewriter Theorem if it had a commercially-biased autocorrect. The game submits to a growing body of monkey-submitted literature.

This 2-button game (for #CloneJamNathalie and #LDJAM #LD34) hooks into Google's search suggestion service to come up with some of its autocorrections.

Instructions:
Press left shift and right shift to make the monkey's hands hit buttons.
Simultaneously hold down left shift and right shift to submit the manuscript.

View the growing body of literature submitted through the game by monkeys (players):
http://ld34.idumpling.com/manuscripts.txt

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Innovation(Jam)4.57
Humor(Jam)4.57
Coolness71%
#13Theme(Jam)4.52
#38Audio(Jam)4.12
#61Mood(Jam)4.05
#73Overall(Jam)3.93
#166Graphics(Jam)4.10
#214Fun(Jam)3.55

Comments

ajopart says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:54pm

Strange experience... but funny !

puddelipip says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:57pm

I hereby present you with the banana of geniousness,

A few drawer diverted under a drake. Discount tire diverted..

I made a spam poetry generator a while back that you might find interesting, though the execution, in comparison, is sloppy you might find it interesting. http://ww.spoetry.org

Thanks for an awesome experience!

WebFreak001 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:58pm

Add a Linux version please

Kuality Games says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:58pm

This 'game' is amazingly funny! Very innovative and it seems like there is a lot of tech behind it. Cool intro and graphics as well. Well done !

Indie L says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:59pm

Wow,your game is amazing!Pretty cool and funny,i liked a lot ;D

themadknights says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:59pm

Hahahahaha, didn't understand the game until it sends me to the manuscrit xD. The idea is cool, but not a real game :P by the way, fit the theme perfectly and is hilarious

DrTeaSpoon says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:00pm

Well played, sir! Well played.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:01pm

This is super great! There's now a competition at our office to make the best manuscript - and what does the "best" mean? I don't know, but I DO know I'm trying to write Sonic the Hedgehog fanfic with these monkey hands!

sugarbyte says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:03pm

This looks interesting! But I can't play it.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:04pm

I love the concept! The database of all submissions is pretty cool too. Great job!

ajayajayaj says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:04pm

Awesome, Loved the intro!!!

rogberth says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:11pm

I don't know what I just played to, but that was a really fun experience. Great job.

Tacohej says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:17pm

Can't wait for multiplayer!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:20pm

I feel like a monkey, i look like a monkey and im laugh like a monkey

smatcher says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:34pm

Loved it !

phi6 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:29pm

Love the intro!

Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:01am

Weird game... awesome! Creative idea, funny execution, good work!

Lim3s says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:18am

Hilarious

hexagore says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:21am

Bizarre, original and very amusing. :)

Yazara says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:24am

Wow, I'm really curious how the tech behind this game works! Really innovative and interesting game.
I really like the soundtrack and intro as well :)

local minimum says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:00pm

My monkey wasn't very talented, but I had fun never the less typing away. Brilliant entry.

Zeriver says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:30pm

That's brilliant! Really good job with coming up with this idea and execution is also pretty neat.

BTW i uploaded new build for OSX of my game, hopefully this time everything will work fine

randomhuman says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:38pm

Weird stuff, I like it :)

Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:06am

5/5 for concept, aha. Everything felt polished

pjimmy says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:22pm

lol, amazing game, very funny and creative 5 stars :D

jacklehamster says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:59pm

Excellent use of Google's technology!

Big Cow says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:20pm

Very original concept, well-executed. Audio and visuals were lovely, with nice little details such as the poop on the keyboard. A neat interactive experience!

Dec 19, 2015 @ 3:02pm

Interesting experience, especially if you mash the buttons quickly (I guess just like monkey would do) :)
Really amazed by how polished this entry is. Congrats! :)

Allthebees says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 3:02pm

This is incredible. The best thing I have seen so far!

anotak says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 9:55am

Really unique idea, fits the theme, simple to pick up and play.

PowerSpark says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 4:06am

"His queen elizabeth sanked the recipe."
Genius concept, 5/5 humor XD

Dec 23, 2015 @ 6:05pm

I feel like HemingApe after this experience. :P

Jan 17, 2016 @ 6:35pm

Interesting game. I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/xIPr3jDQjJ0

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]