Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Grove Guardians

by broknecho - Jam Entry

Grove Guardians is a light strategy game that has you balancing your time of growing your forest and protecting it from enemies that spawn in.

See what you can accomplish in 4 minutes

Controls:
========================
Left Mouse button to Toggle ENERGY use
Right Mouse button to MOVE your character


Interface:
========================
Speaker Icon: Toggle all sounds
Music icon: Toggle Music


Tools Used
===============
- Construct 2
- Paint.net
- MS Expression Design
- Audacity
- Freesound.org

Art:
- Kenney -> http://opengameart.org/users/kenney
- Myself


Music:

"Skye Cuillin" Kevin MacLeod (incompetech.com)
Licensed under Creative Commons: By Attribution 3.0 License
http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/3.0/

"The Forest and the Trees" Kevin MacLeod (incompetech.com)
Licensed under Creative Commons: By Attribution 3.0
http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/3.0/

"Enchanted Valley" Kevin MacLeod (incompetech.com)
Licensed under Creative Commons: By Attribution 3.0 License
http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/3.0/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness64%
#57Theme(Jam)4.29
#194Overall(Jam)3.69
#242Mood(Jam)3.58
#278Fun(Jam)3.46
#346Innovation(Jam)3.37
#346Graphics(Jam)3.74
#450Humor(Jam)2.75

Comments

Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:33am

What a simple but awesome idea. I could play for hours

Elenesski says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:35am

Good Game. Found it was hard to keep up once all my bees figured out they had better things to do. Good use of theme, good graphics. Fun to play.

Jakylgamer says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:31am

not bad, not bad at all pretty cool concept :)

local306 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:49pm

Fun challenging game that will keep you moving constantly as you try to balance offence and defence

hoqjed says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:09pm

Very relaxing game, really nice mood. Nice graphics and music.

TomenLuca says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:38pm

It feels quite tranquil and relaxing. Even though I'm not very good at it, I had a good time playing it.

MintArcade says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:13am

Awesome game. Like it very much.

Echo Team says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:11am

Cute art!

Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:35am

Nice use of both themes. Effective simple graphics. Nice job.

alvarop says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:26am

This is a pretty cool game. It lacks balance and maybe some scenarios, but I think that if you developed it further it could be really cool to play.

Congratulations on making such a cool jam game with C2, I love it too!

justinooncx says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:54am

A rather nice and relaxing game! The combined effect of the cute graphics and the soothing sounds was nice.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:19pm

Cute little game. Liked the squishing sounds the bees made taking out enemies. Four minutes seemed like maybe too long a time for the level, at that point you've circled around a number of times. Liked the take on growing the forest.

LukeZaz says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:49am

Didn't really pay any attention to energy as it lasted so long, but besides that the game was really nicely balanced. It was fun to find out good strategies for getting better percentages, and it remained fun each time.

publicidadeba says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:35pm

This will work great as a educational game! Well done, the planet thanks you.

Tapehead says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:58pm

i enjoyed this game! well done :)

xhunterko says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 11:08pm

One of the more enjoyable games I've played yet! Very nice atmosphere!

banana4life says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 1:56am

Very nice and clean.

Controls: Right-click-mania :D Maybe hold to enable following the cursor?

ac7 says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 6:26am

I found the game difficult until I realized it was possible to stack up a dozen bees at a time. It might be a good idea to add a limit on the number of bees. The energy management system plus the bee collection system leads to some interesting games. Overall an innovative concept, and it was nice to see someone using the "growing" theme :)

Jan 15, 2016 @ 2:31pm

Neat little game! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/PXolvG1P7M4

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]