Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Star Something

by liquidmedia - Compo Entry

Greeting all. I made this for LD 34 Compo solo Theme 2 button controls

The game Star Something... by me Liquid Media Games.

UP Date 2

YouTube Video Warning Spoilers
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=COhmtix6OzI

Web site
www.liquidmediagames.com

UP Date WebGL is running Full screen is working for the button scroll Down and Right in the player window it's not showing on the page at startup
(below are other known bugs in WebGL).


The game player controller is almost the standard FPS with out it's limits

“P” = pause menu at any time T = Tractor beam “Q” speed down / “E” speed up

I have only tested the game on Mac OS. I will try to test on Web player, Windows, and Linux


I used Unity 5.2 for the game engine

Blender 2.7 for the 3d modeling

Gimp for the art

GarageBand / lmms for the Music and sound efects.

Enjoy the Game

Hello everyone. UP DATE the web player seems to not be working correctly ( never loads )

I have rebuilt the web player did not change any part of project and put the new link in.


I will try the “Unity WebGL (Preview)” now running.

The WebGL build known bugs.
Some times No audio (if no audio hit "P" and select level 1 normally fixes it).
Intro missing green LASER just before exploding text (shows as a black line).
Main game much lower graphics settings.
Missing most reflections / and real time lighting from red shot flares

I think it's just part of how WebGL is for now some cutbacks but it runs fast.


The game some more info when you start the main scene you can see 2 glowing “buttons” that control the red and green glowing doors when you fly over them or place the glowing red and green keys on the buttons the doors open.

You can use the “T” key for the Tractor Beam to move the glowing keys on to the 2 buttons.

Extra the “E” increases your speed by %10 every time you press it down if you press it about 10 – 20 times you can pass through most solid objects in the game.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness78%
#405Audio2.80
#596Humor2.10
#731Graphics2.60
#838Mood2.16
#920Innovation2.00
#953Fun1.89
#963Theme1.86
#965Overall2.09

Comments

Mixer says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:48am

Didn't really understand the goal of the game, I ran around shooting red a blue things, but they didn't seem to do anything. Maybe the voice at the start explained that, but I couldn't really understand it. Still, looked interesting.

jcmonkey says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:48am

interesting

batmanasb says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:49am

Fly around in editor mode: the game

Kortuga says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:50am

Your Web link doesn't quite work; I get a [useless] download of the .unity3d file rather than an actual web build. I got the Windows version going though - short of flying around and knocking some shapes around I wasn't totally sure what to do... Also, it seems that there are [way] more than two buttons used to control your game...

Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:50am

I really like the low poly world. The day/night cycle adds an interesting atmosphere. It is fun to fly around.

Thepattybeast says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:38am

What is this and what inspired you to create it?

eerongal says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:47am

Fun little game to fly around in, but I wasn't entirely sure of there was a point here or not... :)

liquidmedia says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:24pm

Hello eerongal Thepattybeast and internetpaulicy and all others Thanks for playing my game

The game goal is to get the 2 button control pressed at the same time. Find the Green and Red keys to do that. They are not on the surface. Go under ground.

The idea that I had was to make something with global illumination and real time lighting, also to try some video the opening scene.

The green shots add force to small physics objects, and the red shots are lights ( might be hard to see in the day but at night or underground they light up the area for a few seconds )

I used the low poly trying to keep the game small and running smooth the just map including the underground part is still about 6000 triangles for a single blender fbx model.

mlepage says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:06am

I had the same issues, I could fly around in editor mode, but I couldn't seem to get a tractor beam working. I could shoot, but I didn't know what to shoot. Maybe the wrong build was uploaded? It shows promise.

liquidmedia says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:36pm

Hello. “in editor mode,” do you mean you loaded the game in the Unity 5.2 game development engine?

I have now had a couple of people say “in editor mode” There is no editor mode in the game.

I have updated the link for the Web based player to the WebGL version on Monday morning.

The Tractor beam only works on the red and green keys some times it can be a bit picky about needing direct ray cast hit to lock on.

blackwires says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:48pm

Crazy !! But what's the goal ?

oparisy says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:57pm

I flied in various directions with great pleasure, admiring your various shaders and low-resolution shadow maps. Didn't really understand what was expected of me, and the visual design didn't help (I was not sure what I was looking at most of the time).

But, heeey, shiny.

Oh and I got in a secret-passage-bowel-like thing. Then got out of it due to a collision bug I suppose. That was rather nice, got to see the whole map from the outside and all that. Felt like doom II!

liquidmedia says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:05am

RE: oparisy you can also fly around the side of the map no rules about how you get to the glowing keys in the underground part. all 3 pyramid like objects have tunnels going down.

The "E" key will increase your speed hit it about 15 times and you can fly through almost anything. it's not a bug it a feature.

Use the "T" key to pick up the glowing red and green objects (keys) and bring them back to the start to open the doors.

The 2 button controller is where you start the Red and Green buttons on the big white box :)

I was mostly going for some 3d real time lighting / reflections, and object interactions like the red flares

(WebGL will turn down most lighting settings)

kabel says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:17am

This was more like tests for a game than a game, I am now reading instructions in the comment section, but you should've explained this during the game or before it.

tanjent says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:15am

Needs some dub shake on the logo box in the intro :) Also, agree with many comments above, I flew around, spewing bullets, but the bullets didn't seem to interact with that much so I guessed you had run out of time and released what you had.

liquidmedia says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:12pm

The green bullets only inter act with the star field objects the small black and white near the start and in the underground area.

The red flares don't work correctly in the WebGL version They will light up the area around them in the other versions I will have a YouTube Video up soon

Ybalrid says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:26pm

I did not understand what I just played. But shooting green and red stuff is still kind of fun.
The music alternate eraticly between two tracks. It's a bit annoying

Anachron says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:10am

sweet low-poly graphics

Codexus says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 1:35pm

Nice star something references.

lolfrad says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:25pm

Nice graphics, I like the reflection of lasers. But the game made no sense...

Sim00n says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 4:52am

My mouse was bugged and I couldn't move it around because it would "leak" outside of the game to one of my other 2 monitors either to the left or right. Because of that I couldn't really move around. I like the music but I think you could give us an option to see the help screen for longer and have a little tutorial level. Good effort.

liquidmedia says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 7:55pm

RE: Sim00n I have heard about a bug on the windows mouse lock, but I don't know how to replaced the bug so I have not been able to fix it.

teamvr says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 6:27am

Felt like a great arena game was about to break out at any moment.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]