Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

O3000

by farwyler - Jam Entry

"O3000" for Ludum Dare JAM 34

O3000 is a game about eating others and being eaten. Be the last one still alive to prevail.

--- Controls:
* left mouse = swim
* right mouse = boost
* mouse wheel = zoom

Made with Unity in 72 hours for ludum dare jam 34 #LDJAM

by @farwyler, @shakemeluzifer, @bmuig

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#107Graphics(Jam)4.27
#218Theme(Jam)4.02
#336Audio(Jam)3.33
#337Overall(Jam)3.51
#378Mood(Jam)3.38

Comments

gv1351 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:32pm

Great graphics

Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:32pm

Great game! Only problem is that it seems to freeze on the web player when loading music.

Polith Games says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:32pm

Cool game, reminds me Agario

bodsey says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:33pm

It doesn't feel like it's a brand new concept, but it's gorgeous so congrats

exhidor says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:33pm

The idea is not so original (i.e. Agar io) but the concept work well and the fact that you have to economized action is a great idea. Graphics are greats ! I like your game !

kaotiklabs says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:34pm

great graphics and overall zen gameplay. Really liked it.

LadyS says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:37pm

Awesome Game.. Could be great on Android!
Its a little hard to see if you are bigger or smaller though..maybe vary the colors depending on if you can eat them or not

jofra says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:37pm

Cool graphics i liked the mood a lot :D

Gipzo says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:37pm

Great realization. And really beautiful graphix. Well done.

CogComp says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:40pm

Remings of Osmos. But a very nice execution of a good idea!

vortex says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:42pm

The Graphics are really nice.
One of the best looking games I've seen this far!

Reccy says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:43pm

Very fun little game.
It's like Agar.io but good! :)

kaa says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:43pm

Nicely done! Aspecially liked graphics and animations.
I've seen this idea already in Osmos and Agar.io. It fits "Growing" perfectly.

Chewie says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:15pm

Visuals are great & fun to play! Similar to Osmos & Agario

bradur says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:27pm

This game is looks very nice!
The controls are a little rough, and it wasn't always easy to know how much or why I lost mass. Otherwise, nice gameplay. I managed to finish all levels!

Nicolas Gass says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:20pm

Nice graphics, but repetitive gameplay style.

wdebowicz says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 7:23pm

55,86 on lvl 4. That was enjoying! Not sure why you do not want to be rated in "fun" category. It's about "Fun – How much you enjoyed playing a game. "

ooku says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 9:21am

Very nice entry. With better sound I would have given a perfect score.

OberynMartell says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 3:35pm

Nice graphics! Congrats.

Xanjos says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 2:48am

This was a really fun entry to play. The gameplay reminds me of agar.io a lot but with a lot more depth and strategy as you kind of need to plan ahead very quickly as to which blobs to eat first.

dx0ne says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 11:04am

Looks great and surprisingly there's a challenge.

Tselmek says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 6:52pm

Very very challenging difficulty, the game is magnificently polished, the visuals are very nice. I wish the controls were a little less floaty but overall, great entry.

Jan 2, 2016 @ 3:27pm

A very well polished game with great style.

KanedaXIII says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 3:31pm

Great game, not a new concept, but nicely done and even a bit challenging, with fitting graphics and audio. The sound effects of slurping and stuff are awesomely fun!! XD.
It's a good candidate for Android porting too ;)

StaNov says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 3:11pm

Loved it. Just loved it. Graphics, audio, mood - everything is perfect. Reminded me of Osmos :)

Nega Drive says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 8:16pm

Great presentation, very clean and pretty. A pretty good take on the Osmos/Agario formula, and fits the theme well. Nice work!

Jan 3, 2016 @ 11:56pm

Cool Game like the relation to the theme!

amras0000 says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 10:00am

It seems like you're taking a lot of cues from Osmos here, and there's just a few annoyances based on the elements of that game you didn't port over:
-Most significantly, there's no way to tell which things will kill you and which won't. Their borders are just vague enough that on multiple occasions I got destroyed by things that definitely looked smaller. The ideal solution here is to color them, say, green when they're smaller than you, and blue/red when they're bigger.
-As another minor annoyance, though this is much more excusable in a LD entry, there's no real feedback as to how much mass things take. In Osmos specifically movement would result in a little blob of mass being spewn out in the direction opposite of movement, though I'd imagine there's other solutions to better signify how much mass I lose per click/second/boost at a given size.
-the hitboxes are also very unclear and don't match the graphics
-Finally, it seems to me like you applied the same force/cost the same mass regardless of the player's size. Or at least the increase didn't scale properly with the mass of the player. By the end of the last levels the game was a bit hard to control. Would've been nice to just spew out more mass per second in exchange for the same speed I had at the start.

Definitely enjoyed the game, save for the annoyances. Nice work.

Haokarlos says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 10:42am

Great art and cool game similar to agar.io. Good job!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]