Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Back on Earth

by anael - Compo Entry

Back on Earth is a small adventure game,
with "AnotherWorld/Flashback" retro mood.

Try it online !

Written in C, with software rendering, vectorial animation, real-time effects, crt shader...
(see Maratis-Tiny-C-library on github for more)

A game made in 48h by Anaël Seghezzi:
twitter: https://twitter.com/anaelseghezzi
github: https://github.com/anael-seghezzi

[EDIT] typos were corrected

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#6Graphics4.63
#103Mood3.69
#335Overall3.42
#454Humor2.42
#514Theme3.69
#656Audio2.06
#712Innovation2.73
#723Fun2.80

Comments

ezolotko says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:29am

Great animations

glowcoil says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:27am

This art is really beautiful!

paraxite says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:07am

Really nice animations and visuals!

There are some typos in the game text.

Foofanoo42 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:11am

Very nice artwork. Hope that something happens if you leave the game running for 1 and a half hours.

Transmit says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:13am

The animation and art is really beautiful

esayitch says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:16am

Game text can use some proof-reading, and some ambient sounds would a long way in making this more atmospheric.

That said, graphics are absolutely gorgeous, and the story was all right. I'm not sure if go to the end or not, but pressing r and e does nothing so I'm assuming I did?

"the future is in your hands" - is that the last sentence?

Really good entry :) Good luck!

anael says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:26am

paraxite and esayitch: I'm asking friends to have a look at the text (I'm French). And yes "the future is in your hands" is the last sentence. Thanks for playing !

cicanci says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:16am

The art is fantastic!

icereci says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:07pm

Cool art and animation. Very excited for story driven games. I died a lot by pressing R :)

terop says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:42pm

nice looking graåhics.

MintArcade says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:45pm

Absolutelly beatifull!

SvenFrankson says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:46pm

Pretty :)

BuffaloPhil says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:14pm

Top-notch art!!!

gene-z says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:14pm

Nice animations

Aaants says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:57pm

Love the art in this

nonetheless says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:03pm

the art is amazing! great job :)

wilsk says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:25pm

Very nice looking game... I wasn't really sure if I was at the end though until I read the comments. It feels a bit like a preview for a full game. I'm intrigued to see what you could make of it if you had more time.

Also, programmed in C and on the web? whaaaat? :)

Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:24am

I really liked the asthetics of this game but it got stuck while reading the diary ("the future is in your hands").
How did you ported C to html btw?

anael says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:52am

Thanks :) !!

"the future is in your hands" is the end.

I compiled C to asm.js using Emscripten (awesome tool).

Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:57am

the graphics are amazing, good mechanic and good job!

MrMordem says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:15pm

Nice use of both themes, the graphics and animations are superb, awesome job recreating a "another world" / "flashback" vibe :)

too bad it didn't have that much audio though, not sure if it's a bug or just that it doesn't go further for the moment but, the game kinda ended on a the discovery of the journal, anyway great work !

blackmagic says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:26pm

Very nice graphics, the end is a little abrupt, I didnt wanna stop so soon !

justinooncx says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:34pm

Pretty interesting experience, with VERY nice art. Can be expanded upon, I'm sure.

RhythmLynx says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:36pm

Absolutely gorgeous and well written too. Really enjoyed it.

RadStar says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:34pm

I really love the graphisms and the animation! But I'm really frustrated that the story stops at this "The future is in your hands" sentence. I want to know what happened and all!

peterthehe says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:49pm

Really nice art.

nunesbarbosa says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:10pm

Loved the graphics but for god sake.. make the frigging text faster! Text games are boring by default, waiting for the text makes the game very very boring.

agilejoshua says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:54pm

Really beautiful - impressed that you managed to do this within the compo timeframe! Congratulations.

Zeezgames says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:02pm

I liked this i agree if some audio was added it would of set the mood proper :)

really impressive work with the programming and the animation

Warboys says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:13am

Gorgeous looking game, the art and animations (mmmm the key!) are sexy! I also really like how the game ends. I was expecting it to continue but the final sentence just stuck there is quite powerful.

Boo capitalism ;)

Drtizzle says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:32pm

This is good looking! Also really well written, but it was really short (?)
It could have used some simple ambient sound.
Well done!

x92rwzb says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:34pm

Nice cutscenes.

Yword says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:01am

Great narrative and graphics! Well done!

ramoncb says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:29pm

Very impressive art! =O

And the history is interesting, I wanna know what happened next, after "the future is in your hands" !! ^^

Good job!

zguerrero says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 12:58pm

Great graphics, specially for a compo entry!

randomhuman says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 2:04pm

Beautiful game, I love the combination pixel/painterly art style, and the animations are gorgeously smooth. It ends a bit abruptly, but it left me wanting more so you definitely did something right!

Ittai Manero says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 2:30pm

I'm glad to see another adventure game in this LD :D Love your graphics and story! Pretty good use of the theme with managing all the options with just two buttons. Would love to see this one becoming a larger experience! Congratulations!

anael says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 2:45pm

Ittai Manero > I miss adventure games so much! I'll try yours when I'm on a windows machine (on mac now), it looks good.

Ludic says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 4:43pm

Like the visual and animations are greaty!!

Nega Drive says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:54pm

Nice idea to use the two-button concept for an adventure game. The graphics are great, amazing backgrounds and I love the use of retro-style polygons. You got that Another World/Flashback look down perfectly.

RevelBase says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 7:04pm

Really beautiful art! I love the way you did the resizing from the highres paintings.

LeReveur says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 12:27am

A little bit too short, but I suppose it's the price to pay for a very nice looking game ! Some ambiant sounds would have been better too, but I know how time eating it is. And it miss something to tell the player he win. Great job done here, and feel free to make a longest version... :P

PS : Je suis français aussi, et je compatis sincèrement pour les soucis d'expression, c'est assez handicapant pour le LD. -_-;

el_kloklo says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 3:03pm

Really good graphics and ambient, but I think you lacked of time to develop the story.

Smirnov48 says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 12:34am

The end is epic! A lot of fun and humor! Good job!

Krafty says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 12:51am

Pretty interesting game, very nice visuals! Great job! :)

EvanEGibbs says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 7:27am

What a fantastic game you made! This was really cool. A lot of people have mentioned that the art style is really good, but I have to echo that. The style and animation are just superb. They really give a feeling for the atmosphere. I really liked the story and the idea of 'aliens' learning from ancient human mistakes. I would like to see a longer game! Also I liked the ludum dare cameo in there. Awesome job! :D

crucknuk says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 4:55pm

Nice entry! Graphics are really cool, it reminds me of Another wordl! Good job ;)

Jan 2, 2016 @ 11:40pm

Man this looks beautiful! I love the look of this game so much! Great atmosphere, very nice indeed!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]